We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Save
Traveler (250)
Room & Suite (347)
Dining (66)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good12%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“thai breakfast”(36 reviews)
“living nature”(13 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Free Parking
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Offers & Announcements: 15% off room rate
Offers from Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Offers & Announcements: 15% off room rate
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveler rating
342
47
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
342
47
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai breakfastfree tuk tuk rideliving naturethai optionevery morningwonderful hoststhe riverthai neighborhoodreal bangkoklemongrass teaper daya wonderful place to staypacked breakfastlike coming homebts stationhome away from homebeautiful room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
191 - 195 of 393 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

It is one thing to say that the rooms at Focal Local were imaginatively decorated, the breakfast choices ample and delicious and the expert travel assistance readily available (all true!) but our stay was so much more. Focal Local was like being home. Karan, his...More

Thank hovancsek
Response from Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and BreakfastResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you've arrived home well after unpleasant weather in the States. It's our pleasure having you all here. You made this little B&B lively. We'll look forward to seeing you again some day. All the best :)

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well, where do I start..  Karan, we are very thankful to you & your staff for making our stay in Bangkok a wonderful experience. Apologies for a late review though. As usual, I booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews/rating & it was worth the...More

4  Thank shree81
Response from Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and BreakfastResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It's never too late, all reviews are important for us. Your enjoyable stay will keep us going. We're gald to be a part of your memorable trip in Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again...More

Reviewed January 7, 2014

After an overnight train ride which broke down and arrived several hours late to Bangkok it was a delight to arrive at Focal Local. I loved the location and spent my first evening just wandering around the side alleys and checking out a local veggie...More

1  Thank CliodhnaZtoical
Response from Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and BreakfastResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. It's our pleasure having you here. We're glad you were not disappointed and enjoyed staying with us. We'll look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would recommend this place to people who want to stay in a more local Bangkok style. The surrounding neighbourhood does not have many tourist attractions but you see how Bangkok-ers live, eat and play. You won't get hassled for tuk-tuks or ping-pongs shows. I...More

1  Thank Matthew T
Response from Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and BreakfastResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you had a good time here and got the core concept of Focal Local, which is being away from busy city life. However, you still can reach many attractions by river boats and Skytrain. Hope we'll...More

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Focal Local for 4 nights to discover Bangkok. Yes, the place is not very close to the tourist attractions, but these spots are easily reached by boat or skytrain (and we don't understand the complaints about this, because you know where the...More

Thank Mariekehn
Response from Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and BreakfastResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you very much for staying at Focal Local. We really appreciate knowing that you enjoyed every aspects from location, rooms, breakfasts and service. Your satisfaction is a great fuel for us to run this little B&B. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bangkok
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Travelers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
$56 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$56 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (250)
Room & Suite (347)
Dining (66)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (14)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michael P
September 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ron M | Reviewed this property |
There is no on site parking and we did not have a car. I would suggest sending an email to see if they can make arrangements. I agree with the other person who replied, that the owner is extremely accommodating.
0
Votes
John I
April 27, 2015|
Answer
Response from Focal-Local | Property representative |
Hi John Thank you for contacting us. We're about 30-minute driver from the airport. We can arrange the pick up service for 900 Baht (we hire a company to do). Honestly, metered taxi would be cheaper, you just need to make... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Buy take away food and take it home to eat on the balcony - great experience"
Read review
"I think the top floor has less traffic sounds..."
Read review
"I had room away from the street (however the street isn't a very busy road)"
Read review
"We loved our quiet Living Nature room, on the end of the row of ground-floor rooms."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing