We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

New Road Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
New Road Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Good location as right off the highway from the airport...only trouble is its tricky to spot. Taxi drivers don't usually know where it is either. It's a little further on from where they want to drop you off (with the address you show them) so stay strong. Other than that it's a good place. Clean with a nice vibe in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack K
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jack, thanks so much for reviewing our place, and especially to give a few of hints on how to find our location. Bangkok's traffic drivers go by Sois (side streets), and we are between Charoen Krung Soi 34 and 36. Should the taxi driver take you to Soi 34, it's a 50-metre walk back down the street, to a... More 

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This guest house is nice enough. Seems to be going through refurbishment on the downstairs which is lovely. The rooms however are still quite small and dated. I had a private room. It was small simple basic and clean. All you really need! Wouldn't stay longer than 2 nights here. Overall good!

Helpful?
Thank Courtsharp11
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, It was a pleasure to have you here, and we are thankful that you took your time to provide a review. You are right on the refurbishment, and we are happy to say that it is now done for all travellers to enjoy. Fresh and beautiful pictures are slowly coming online, too. For your overall stay, we are... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one day in a single room. Very friendly and helpful staff and German speaking guy at the reception. Room was very small, bathroom also. It's ok for the price to stay for a night but wouldn't stay much longer especially because the room didn't have aircon.

Helpful?
Thank Markus L
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Markus, We were happy to read your words that your found our staff friendly and helpful - including Martin who speaks German. We have rooms for all needs and budgets, and we are happy that you found them okay for the price. We have cheap rooms with fan only, which was the one you stayed in. They can be... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been there with a friend, we stayed there three nights but in different time. The first night we stayed in the private bedroom and it was a real nightmare because it was really small, without windows and just with a fan..we couldn't sleep because of the hot!! But the other nights we stayed in the dorm and it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prepolla
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Prepolla, Thank you for staying with us, and for taking your time to review our little guesthouse - we very much appreciate it. Not least, we are thrilled that you found our staff kind and helpful,our dorm fine, and our location good; close to the Main Train Station, the river boat piers, and the MRT subway (as well as... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent almost a month in Thailand and almost every weekend we came back to Bangkok and stayed at New Road. It was fantastic. Super friendly staff, great food, clean facilities, cute rooftop hangout. The lobby and restaurant looked absolutely incredible after the renovations (complete with AC, a necessity in that heat). I would highly recommend to everyone visiting Bangkok... More 

Helpful?
Thank MakaylaLynn
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear MakaylaLynn, Your kind words have made us beyond happy! They have already been shared with all of our staff, who are the ones that make a difference every day. We particularly love that you found our staff super friendly and our lobby, restaurant and hangout areas absolutely incredible after hour refurbishment. Thank you! We hope you have had a... More 

Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

Nice and cheap hostel in the center of the city. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful in giving free advice. The breakfast was good but too expensive. Laundry is also offered, but very expensive too.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher2105
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for the nice words, and for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate it! We are thrilled that you found our hostel nice, cheap and clean, and our staff very helpful. We put great emphasis on exactly the points you mention, and have already shared the feedback with our staff. A stay with us comes... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Don't trust the pictures of the rooms displayed on the website, they in no way resemble the shabby and unclean looking room we were given. A smell of sewage also began to come into out room on the second night, probably try avoid here? A lack of plugs that worked in the room was also irritating

Helpful?
Thank Cormac B
Berit B, Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for taking your time to review our little guesthouse. We always welcome constructive feedback as it helps us improve, and to stay on our toes. This said we are though very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations and that you feel the pictures you have seen, did... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend. We had a double bed in an air con room. After a long travel from Norway, it was just perfect. We needed a place to sleep before we started traveling around the country. The restaurant at the guesthouse served an ok lunch. It took a while for the shower to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid E
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

I wanted my teens to experience a hostel while travelling in Thailand. We booked a family suite with 4 of us in the same room and our own bathroom. The room was a little dated, but very clean with good a/c and a nice shower. The room was very spacious. The elevator did not go all the way to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
Taishan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Booked 5 nights in July. All was ok. Rooms, restaurant, possibility to have good advices regarding things to visit in Thailand. Many Service are proposed, and people are nice. 10 min to walk to the subway. I recommend.

Helpful?
Thank R A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#292 of 834 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Bluefin Guesthouse
#100 of 560 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Kama Bangkok
#3 of 560 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#34 of 560 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#137 of 560 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Silom
Chilli Bangkok Hotel
Chilli Bangkok Hotel
#383 of 560 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Silom

Neighborhood Profile
Silom
Despite the lack of any major tourist attractions, this lively neighborhood is a favorite of many. Whether it's the (somewhat naughty) nightlife of Soi Patpong, the various handicraft night markets or the plethora of dining options that tickle your fancy, a night out in Silom is a must on every itinerary. It's worth a stop during daytime, too: join office workers on a quest to tasty street food during lunch and shop at Silom Complex for a great mix of Thai and international stores. After a day of strolling around the congested sidewalks, a visit to Silom's Lumphini Park, Bangkok's answer to NYC's Central Park, is a welcome change of scenery.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Road Guest House is a place with great atmosphere and homey surroundings. In the middle of hectic Bangkok you will find this nice hotel which is very popular among travelers all over the world. Next to the lobby you will find a Service Center that can provide you free travel advice from experienced European and local staff.The lobby, café area and most rooms just went through a comprehensive renovation leaving the guesthouse new and fresh. Despite the new interior the guesthouse have kept their budget rates with prices and rooms for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Road Guest House

Address: 1216 1 Charoen Krung | (between soi 34 and 36), Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Price Range: $12 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Road Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotwire so you can book your New Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Road Guest House Hotel Bangkok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay