We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rajnikunj, Thali - 5 Kageswari Manahara,, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$181
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
FindHotel
$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Expedia.com$144
Hotels.com$144
Travelocity$144
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (729)
Room & Suite (149)
Dining (46)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gokarna Forest Resort
Updated 08/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#67 of 584 in Kathmandu
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
1238Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 752
  • 374
  • 58
  • 22
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marianne L wrote a review Jun 22
Farmington Hills, Michigan55 contributions58 helpful votes
After driving thru Kathmandu, wishing we could unsee what we were seeing, arriving at this hotel was an unexpected and wonderful surprise!! The staff was welcoming, accommodating and very pleasant. The rooms are large, super clean and well furnished, beds/bedding ever so comfortable. There is not one negative thing I can say about this hotel, except that it was a real find!! Reading the other reviews I find shocking, as this was not our experience. We were in the main building, third floor. (no elevators). We also stayed at the best American chain hotel in the city, but it had no local charm - cold, modern, clean. The fact that it is away from the center of town we felt a real bonus!! I would return to the hotel in a nanosecond, if I didn't have to see Kathmandu again to get there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Hayley T wrote a review May 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom49 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here on business. Staff were very helpful, arranged collection from the airport, a meeting room for the afternoon as well as having our rooms ready early. Rooms were large with comfortable beds and were clean and tidy on arrival. The electric points are a bit sketchy and struggled with an adapter plug and plug attached. The bathroom was large and shower worked well, nice and warm good pressure. We had lunch on the bar terrace which was very nice and reasonably priced. Staff were attending to a large wedding at the time but still the food did not take too long to arrive. We arranged a forest walk with a guide for the following morning. Deepak arrived in good time and took us on a lovely walk where we saw monkeys, eagles and deer, Deepak ensured our footwear was protected from the leeches in the forest and regularly checked on us through the walk. It was a really enjoyable experience and set us up for a day of meetings in Kathmandu. The location is on the outskirts of the city which made it nice and quiet away from the traffic. Breakfast was very nice with freshly made omelette and a coninteal style help yourself fayre. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others. Thanks to all the staff at Gokarna.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Brian K wrote a review May 2022
46 contributions48 helpful votes
The Positives: Staff were amazing so friendly and supportive. The Cons Location is pretty central to Kathmandu no where near activities Facilities are in significant disrepair Mild in the pool Stagnant water Limited menu Old rooms Run down hotel, This is not a 5 star hotel, 2 at best being generous. On the positive side we only stayed one night and hotel were brilliant in allowing us to cancel the stay without additional charges. Overall huge work needed but staff are amazing
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Dr. Gaurav Raj Dhakal wrote a review Apr 2022
Kathmandu, Nepal32 contributions34 helpful votes
Poor hygiene...showing its age...maintenance is shoddy....was provided a room in the clubhouse...toilets dirty n filthy....no water in the shower....had to change rooms at 11pm night....these things should have been checked n done with before the new check in... This hotel doesn't come cheap...definitely an expensive hotel...wouldn't want to come back here again and wouldn't recommend to anyone else...with the shoddy service...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Check your rooms first thing when you check in...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Gagan wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
We were delighted that the hospitality was extraordinary. The warm greetings we received when we checked in was maintained until the end of our stay. Throughout everything, service undoubtedly is top notch. We also had a great dinner at Restaurant. The scenery was amazing and all of our meals tasted so good. Temperature controlled indoor swimming pool was fantastic & we enjoyed like anything. Jungle track, golf course trails & lush green surrounding is very calm & peaceful gives you ultimate relax. Mr.Rojin Sapkota director Room division have us feel the outstanding hospitality gesture.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rojin Sapkota, General Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Dear Gagan Jee, Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort! We thank you for your optimistic feedback on your stay at our property. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding the Resort. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed the stay and overall ambience of the Resort and our Golf masterpiece. In the interim, please do stay connected via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates and specials in the coming days. Thank you for your “5 star” rating and for recommending our Resort to the fellow trip advisor guests. We hope you return soon for another memorable stay. With best regards Gokarna Forest Team
Read more
Anowarul Azim wrote a review Dec 2021
Dhaka City, Bangladesh40 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
This is a amazing place to stay, Very large area of green, Golf course, Forest walking, and staying at classic designed building & architecture. staff are very friendly. I was enjoying my coffee at club house is a romantic location to get top view of the golf area and forest trees.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rojin Sapkota, General Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort
Responded Dec 28, 2021
Dear Mr. Azim, Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort! We thank you for your optimistic feedback on your stay at our property. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding the Resort. The Resort spreads over 470 acres of landscaped forest is built to depict Nepalese architecture and culture with the traditional music in the lobby in the evenings to give our guest a sense of isolation from the hustle and bustle that Kathmandu is now known to be. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed the overall ambience of the Resort and our Golf masterpiece. In the interim, please do stay connected via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates and specials in the coming days. Thank you for your “4 star” rating and for recommending our Resort to the fellow trip advisor guests. We hope you return soon for another memorable stay. With best regards Gokarna Forest Team
Read more
SAND9DEEP wrote a review Dec 2021
11 contributions
+1
Simply incredible place and people !! Me and my wife stayed at Gokarna Golf resort for over a week and we would rate the hospitality of the place at 10/10 if not more. I have been to many places around the world, but hospitality of the place is simply the best. The golf resort area is amazing !! Loved the forest walk and food is good. The place may be a bit expensive but worth it in terms of the quality of the stay and greenery. If you are in Nepal, I highly recommend that you at least book a weekend stay at Gokarna and if you are into Golf, you just found a home !! Just to top it off, even during our checkout on a cold morning, they made it a point to get us hot masala tea. Come on who does that, The team is so wonderful and caring right from the front desk staff to the senior manager Rojin who takes care of the facility. Keep it up team !! God bless the good people of Nepal and Gokarna. God speed and wish you all the success Lots of love from India by Sandeep & Shweta <3
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose a room with the forest view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rojin Sapkota, General Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort
Responded Dec 28, 2021
Dear Sandeep & Shweta, Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort! We thank you for your optimistic feedback on your stay at our property. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding the Resort. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed the stay and overall ambience of the Resort and our Golf masterpiece. In the interim, please do stay connected via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates and specials in the coming days. Thank you for your “5 star” rating and for recommending our Resort to the fellow trip advisor guests. We hope you return soon for another memorable stay. With best regards Gokarna Forest Team
Read more
Nurag Gurung wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Me and my wife have been to quite a few resorts in Nepal but so far this is the best one. Despite going in the worst season the experience has still been immaculate. The nature and the forest walk was very refreshing it felt like we weren’t even in the busy city of kathmandu. The service was just fantastic and exceeded our exceptions. This was the first time I noticed the Hotel manager was attentive not just to the VIP’s but the regular visitors as well which made me feel appreciated. Finally for once in a resort the overpriced food felt well priced it was simply delicious and worth every rupees or pennies in my terms. I would recommend this resort for anyone wanting a get away from a busy city area and anyone who wants to experience the heritage style resort of nepal and of course the beautiful nature.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rojin Sapkota, General Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort
Responded Dec 28, 2021
Dear Guest, Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort! We thank you for your optimistic feedback on your stay at our property. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding the Resort. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed the stay, food, service and the overall ambience of the Resort. In the interim, please do stay connected via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates and specials in the coming days. Thank you for your “5 star” rating and for recommending our Resort to the fellow trip advisor guests. We hope you return soon for another memorable stay. With best regards Gokarna Forest Team
Read more
shristi M wrote a review Aug 2021
Bentley, Australia9 contributions4 helpful votes
Situated in a very nice location- close to nature. Apart from the location, there was nothing special. The food was terrible. The service was awful. Asked for hukka- they served us what looked like a used and unhygienic hukka pot. However, the spa was really good. Thanks to the amazing staff at the spa the whole experience wasn’t so bad otherwise would not recommend. .5/10.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Don’t forget to visit the spa.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rojin Sapkota, General Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking your precious time and stating your valuable opinion post your recent visit. We are genuinely sad for the inconvenience caused that we did not live up to the usual excellent standards that the majority of the Trip Advisors talk about our Resort. It is only through evaluation such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed , where necessary, improve upon the service that we cater to our valued guests. We were very upset to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst sorry will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend with all our sincerity. We have also added a note in your guest profile to ensure that next time you will not have to encounter the same problem again . Once again thank you very much for the time you have taken to express your views and we have sincerely accepted the comments in the light you have given them. We do hope that this incident will not dissuade you from visiting Gokarna Resort in the future and you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Gokarna is renowned for. With best regards Gokarna Forest Team
Read more
Curious785317 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
1. Booked the rooms as quoted and paid 50% advance even when the sales said we can pay at departure. Was implied by the reception people that the full payment was to be done in a condescending tone. 2. No toiletries except shampoo and soaps. 3. Major issue was the ridiculously priced food which lacked seasonings in all items. Tasted like some amateur cook made them. But the price??? 4. 600 rs ++ per 30 ml Jameson (the cheapest drink there) served in chipped glass. 5. Swimming pool not heated due to Covid-19. Why to even open the pool? 6. Security guard at the clubhouse: looked and acted scary. Someone went a little farther in the grass and he shouted " oh baini, oh baini". Are they oriented that they are not the police officers? 7. COVID-19 precautions: even the shoes were sanitized when checking in, but the breakfast buffet was served in the closed hall of Durbar restaurant. 8. Most of the staff treated us in a patronizing manner. Because we are soft spoken, easy going and Nepali maybe? First time ever experiencing this "Nepali bhayera hepeko" feeling by fellow Nepalese. Seen this place in its highs too and the everything was way much better. The bar and restaurant staff were very nice. The deer were nice. Monkeys were funny. Highly recommended to go only in tourist season when there are a LOT of foreigners.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rojin Sapkota, General Manager at Gokarna Forest Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear Guest, Namaste & Warm Greetings from Gokarna Forest Resort!!! We thank you very much for having taken a moment of your time to express your opinion post your departure. We appreciate your valuable thoughts and comments about the resort and the services offered. The concerns you have emphasized in your review will not go unnoticed and we will certainly review the situation with respective teams as we always strive for better services. It is only through review such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed , where necessary, improve upon the service that we cater to our valued guests. Once again we would like to thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gokarna Forest Resort. With best regards Gokarna Forest Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gokarna forest hotel kathmandu, kathmandu le meridien, le meridien kathmandu
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Le Meridien
LOCATION
NepalCentral RegionBagmati ZoneKathmandu ValleyKathmandu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gokarna Forest Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gokarna Forest Resort?
Nearby attractions include Backstreet Academy (3.8 miles), Boudhanath Stupa (2.2 miles), and Nyatapola Temple (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gokarna Forest Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gokarna Forest Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gokarna Forest Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gokarna Forest Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gokarna Forest Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Utpala Cafe, The Chimney Restaurant, and Toran Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gokarna Forest Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Gokarna Forest Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Gokarna Forest Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gokarna Forest Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gokarna Forest Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gokarna Forest Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.