We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Nirvana Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nirvana Garden Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

I've been taking my school students here for 7 years. Whilst some would consider it a 3 star place as electricity doesn't always work, wi fi is intermittent, it's a bit dated bathrooms etc, one needs to remember you are in Nepal with restricted electricity hours, and the country has experienced an earthquake, so this is very normal! It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank aroundtheclockfoodie
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your just and positive review. We are in the constant process of addressing the needs of our guests and therefore updating and upgrading as much as it is viable. Your unbiased and just comments give us further impetus to do better. Best regards, The Management More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

The location of this hotel is good, just a short walk to the centre of busy Thamel. The staff were very kind and friendly but I was a bit disappointed with the room, especially the bathroom. The bath itself had been painted and this paint was peeling away which made it rather uninviting. That coupled with the fact that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess P
Ruthin, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

Travelling alone I found this a great place to meet interesting people! Rooms are large comfortable and clean many with balconies. Hot water is 24/7 but can take a little while to come through if on a lower floor. The garden is a delightful place to chill and service is excellent. Reception staff are extremely helpful with English spoken well... More 

Helpful?
Thank KateB1962
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

Location: Very good in Thamel, just a few minutes walk from the main street with bars, restaurants and cafes, yet tucked away in an alley. Just 20-30 mins drive from the airport. Staff: Staff were polite and helpful Wifi/Internet: Only available in the lobby and we also managed to connect when staying in a room above reception. It's patchy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Richard, Thank you for your feedback with the details of our pro and cons. While your complaints may be genuine, it may not be practical if one does not realize the part of the world they are in and the category and the price of the hotel that they are staying in. One cannot expect developed western world... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Hotel Nirvana Garden is conveniently located at the Thamel City Center, which is about 15 mins drive from the airport and is surrounded by numerous shopping streets, restaurants, pubs/ clubs.. ample options to suit every person's pick. The rooms are large and spacious.. with hot water supply.. the front garden is well-maintained and beautiful, well-lit during the evenings.. the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank asawari_86
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

As an avid traveller, I get used to the various standards of hotels across the globe, but there are some that just confuse me and this hotel is one of them. Plus points. Location, location, location as the saying goes! Fantastic little oasis in thruster of Thamel with all the shops you could want on your doorstep and just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piratebiker
basingstoke
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

Purported to be 3 star I doubt this hotel would reach a 2 star rating. Once upon a time a long time ago I am sure this hotel was a good place to stay. With its marble staircases and good sized rooms, many with balconies. But that time is long gone. It has grown very tired over the years and... More 

Helpful?
Thank simon s
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

We were based in this hotel for three 1 or 2 night stays during our trip to Nepal, Bhutan and Tibet. It's well located for Thamel, tucked away from the noisy street with a nice garden courtyard. The rooms vary a great deal in size and comfort, but all were clean and well serviced. You need a room with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roguejumbo
Asia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

Very disappointed with this hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are old and filthy with dirty and stained carpets. The hot water supply is inadequate and there was no heater at all. Breakfast is very poor and not a big selection. The hotel is very dark and not inviting at all. The only plus points are the nice garden and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frequent T
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, There is electricity cut up to 13 hours a day in Nepal now due to insufficient supply. Though we have a backup generator there is acute shortage of fuel due to fuel & LP gas blockade by India which has resulted in our lighting & heating in the room & the limited menu service in the restaurant.This is... More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

The reception and bedrooms are large and pleasant. The hotel gardens are quite pleasant if a little gloomy. The bathrooms are archaic with miserly showers, inadequate hot water (my partner was all soaped up when the hot water went off - not fun), leaking cisterns and peeling, stained baths (we friends shared 2 rooms and looked at another - all... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your constructive comments. Though some of the things that you have pointed out, such as the bathroom fixtures, have already been identified by us and are in the process of up-gradation shortly, others such as the electrical supply disruption in the country is beyond our control and is the cause of shortage of hot water,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Utse
Hotel Utse
#63 of 174 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#44 of 174 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#7 of 174 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#20 of 174 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Hotel Holy Himalaya
#36 of 174 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#75 of 174 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $30 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay