We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
Start your review of Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I have gone to casino attached with the hotel its superior casino as compared to other casinos in kathmandu, best girls, dealers, new infra, american type game tables, complimentary entry, food and drinks are unlimited, dance show every night from 8 pm. So amazing dancing girls. Must visit when ever in kathmandu.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gauravsaini00
Cordoba, Argentina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a garden view room which is considered the better option than the rooms facing the road. Rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds and a dark timber finish. Staff were always very helpful and co-operative, specially mister Buda (is his name and Mister Rakesh Malakar) You would always get saluted as you entered or exited the hotel. Thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mario880
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you! for your kind feedback. I am glad to know that, you have enjoyed our landscaping and services. look forward to see you again. Best Regards Samir Banerjee

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed January 11, 2017

Had the pleasure of staying There were always some functions happening at this hotel on 2 occasions as part of an organized tours. Both times we had a garden view room which is considered the better option than the rooms facing the road. There were functions being held in the garden area some days-never noisy and would finish no later...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TripMember07162015
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you! for your kind feedback. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed our award winning landscaping and the ambiance. Myself and the team will be happy to receive you again at our Hotel. Please do let us know your next plan for visiting Kathmandu. Best Regards Samir Banerjee

Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

Well organised hotel, don't expect many cuisines in breakfast list, rooms are fine, easy access to roads and nearby visiting sites security is much perfect yes the piano player is bit attitude guy be careful with him if ever your mobile rings when he is playing the piano he will react In a way that he owns the hotel rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarfaraz S
Kishor T, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you! for your kind feedback. We at The Shangri-la Hotel, delighted to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality. However, we have noted your comment and surely work on that. Myself and team will be happy to see you back. Best Regards Samir Banerjee

Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

Rooms are cosy and specious, welcome fruit basket and cookies are good, view from the room is poor, a/c just fine or not at all working at times, breakfast in my 3rd day is still the very same except for noodle is replaced with fried rice. If you reach a restaurant after 9.45 the breakfast will be cold and juice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holiday K
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback at Tripadvisor. We at The Shangri-La Hotel are known for our International spread of buffet breakfast. However your feedback has been taken very positively and surely team will work on this. On your next visit you will find more innovation. Please do let us know your plan of visit to Kathmandu. We...

Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

I originally thought this Shangri-la belongs to the worldwide Shangri-la chain. Although found out at the end it wasnt, the stay was in fact not bad. Front desk staff were attentive and fast. Breakfast at Lost Horizon was average but had all the basic items. The room I had on 3rd floor was abit tired but was clean and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at shangri la and wasn't a pleasant stay. For that amount you can get amazing facilities and food in Kathmandu. Room service just entered the room when I was in bed. It's a show and just poor management. They are hospitable but surely do not qualify and even close to a five star standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shivendra G
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is lovely and the staff are very polite & friendly.We loved the beautiful garden/lawn.The location is also convenient- away from the chaos of the busy streets but located so conveniently that we could reach Thamel ( for shopping ) in 8-10 mins(without traffic).We ordered Nepalese food & burgers via room service on our last night of stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nammi S
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is basically a 3 star hotel with shangri la brand..rooms are old fashioned..bathrooms leak..room service is horribly slow..have to call twice or thrice to get even a dental kit..food is ok..prices are high..proper 3 stars at less price and better service are available...casino is pretty small..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RajatK19
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Shangri-La. My second visit, Di's third. Perfect to relax and recuperate for a few days after trekking, before heading home. Staff great. Rooms very comfortable. Food excellent!! Cocktails..... Coffee...... Just do it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

230 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (219)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 194 in Kathmandu
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#56 of 194 in Kathmandu
960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#52 of 194 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#40 of 194 in Kathmandu
999 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#20 of 194 in Kathmandu
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $96 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“garden view is the best”
 of 5 bubbles Mario880, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a garden view room on 2nd/3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles TripMember07162015, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“Garden view rooms are the better selection.”
 of 5 bubbles noelh461, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms above ground floor, which are garden facing. Tell them at reservation time itself that you need a King size bed.”
  • Ground floor room door
  • Ground Floor Room Entrance
 of 5 bubbles anny3737, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
“I would say choose a room overlooking the garden area. Such a beauty”
 of 5 bubbles 77mzm, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question