We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 319: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very disappointing experience at the hotel restaurant: A/C spewing toxic fumes, so we ate outside. Confused waiter took order for dish that didn;t exist, then insisted he knew what we wanted. All food was not bad, but was cheaply made and boring. No spoons at the table settings. No saunf. Dinner was way over priced. Toilet area small and smelly.

Helpful?
Thank John S
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. John, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for visiting Shangri~La Hotel for dinner on your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest in our restaurant and we appreciate your feedback. First of all, our sincere apology for the disappointment you had during dinner at our Coffee Shop. As regards... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Shangrila (Kathmandu, NEPAL) for 3 nights with my family in August 2016. We were expecting the property to be outstanding as experienced at other places, but we were very disappointed.It started when we landed at the airport the person came to receive us was helpful and supportive and he guided us to the vehicle which took... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shobhit G
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Shobhit, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback. On the very onset, we would firstly like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointment you had and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

It's a nice hotel with all modern amenities, it has nice garden at the back with swimming pool which is open from early morning to 7pm in the evening. The whole hotel smells of cinnamon spice, which I love it. The room was quite big, but bathroom was small and toilet closet didn't have health faucet(water shower) and only have... More 

Helpful?
Thank SridharanDhanasekar
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Sridharan, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. This certainly encourages our team to further strive... More 

Rajshahi City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent service & food. Pleasant time with great Casino. Nice stuff and caring support till evening to dawn. With the entry coupon of casino you may enjoy dinner and drinks as per your choice. Also there drop service is instant confirmation. Good going@

Helpful?
Thank Shushom
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! Thank you for your wonderful comments and appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence We... More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Shangri-la in Katmandu for 3 nights with friends during our vacation in Aug'16. After the experience of class at Blore...our expectations were very high. The check in process was smooth without any issues. The rooms were good. The staff is where the problem is. They are outright rude. At the restaurant the standard of service was terrible.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jshanksBang
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your constructive feedback. As regards your comments, we would firstly like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointment you had... More 

Indore, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay at Shangri-La was excellent, good food, excellent service, courteous staff and pleasant environment. Wi-fi service should be provided in rooms as well. Business centre was also charged whereas at least it is complimentary for first day in many hotels. Casino was so-so. Market was nearby. I will recommend for stay in this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank shankargarg
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Garg, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. Your comments will be shared with our entire team which will encourage them to further strive towards achieving... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel is not too far from Thamel, So We could take a Taxi to Thamel from 100 rupee to 200 rupee. Breakfast was Ok, Same sausage and bacon everyday but different kind of veggie and local breakfast. The Manager was so nice, He recommend us the local food with the local dance show for just 1200rupee/person. The staff was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray P
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ray, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our entire team... More 

Bhagalpur, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was here with my wife and friend. Had really liked the surroundings. Ambience was too good. The staff were courtsious. The only thing that i did not liked much was the fooding. We did not enjoyed the fooding at all. My suggestion would be that kindly improve the fooding quality as well as they should give internet access for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rohan S
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rohan, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your stay. As regards your comment on free WiFi in the rooms, we provide 1 hour free WiFi for... More 

Lucknow, India
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Uneducated staff. Disgusted to stay here. They always try to rob you with each and every small stuffs. They are robbers. It's not 5 star. Not even 1 star. Never come here. They don't know how to speak to a customer. No wifi No food No service Biggest mistake to take my family here.

Helpful?
Thank divyanshagr
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Divyansh Agrawal, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal. As regards your comments, please note that our property is a 5 Star Boutique hotel and is one of the highly reputed hotel in Nepal with its own identity in Nepalese Tourism. For your... More 

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

Service is good Peoples are nice and kind Hotel looks fine Garden is beautiful Pool is nice Food is OK I hope that they can keep this kinds of nice hotel forever. Crews are very kind. Everything looks fine. Except one thing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SeogL
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri~La Hotel during your visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your stay. It is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us. Your comments will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#20 of 172 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#41 of 172 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#47 of 172 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#33 of 172 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#31 of 172 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#14 of 172 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $94 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay