We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Kathmandu Guest House

#26 of 170 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kathmandu Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

956 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 854: English reviews
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed there for 4 nights, though booked room by online, had to upgrade by paying more to move out of standard room which was in bad shape and was charged little high for its standard! Food doesn't come anyway closer to the property. simple food like aloo paratha and chilly chicken was made carelessly which highly disappointed our stay and... More 

Helpful?
Thank PassionEye
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We are taken aback at your malicious comment on TripAdvisor. Our food has never been the subject of complaint and we are confident that our restaurant serves the best cuisines as our menu is limited and food is prepared with utmost care. As far as breakfast is concerned we serve... More 

Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must say that I was really impressed with the place. The location is fantastic - in the heart of Thamel. The hotel is quite comfortable for its price range but it truly stands out for the inside garden, allowing you a refreshing area inside the busy Thamel.

Helpful?
2 Thank MauroFederici
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience at KGH recently and rating us full 5 star on TripAdvispr. We are extremely delighted that you had a whale of a time staying with us and enjoyed everything to the core. Our garden has always been an epitome... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Kathmandu for work, and was lucky enough to stay at KGH for the duration of my stay. Overall it was a wonderful experience. A little pricey compared to the other guest houses, but the facilities and staff were top notch. It's right in the tourist area, but far enough removed from the hustle and bustle that you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja M
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience at KGH recently and rating us full 5 star on TripAdvisor. We are extremely delighted that you had a whale of a time staying with and enjoyed everything to the core and we exceeded your expectations in terms of... More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although relatively expensive for Nepal and Kathmandu, it is worth every penny. Situated deep in Thamel (the downtown/tourist area), the Kathmandu Guest House offers a little piece of serenity surrounded by the busy streets right outside its gates. A beautiful hotel, along with beautiful gardens, the Guest House's main perk are the people who work there. Some of the kindest,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank samgoldfarb18
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience at KGH recently and rating us full 5 star on TripAdvisor.We are extremely delighted that you had a whale of a time staying with us and we exceeded your expectations in terms of service delivery. Your voluminous words of... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family (wife and 2 girls, 8 and 11) loved this hotel. We had been traveling for a few weeks through India and Nepal and found this somewhat hidden gem. It is in the middle of a busy city and tourist area and yet the grounds and garden were spacious, beautiful and a welcome reprieve from the sensory overload that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ken g
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience at KGH recently and rating us full 5 star on TripAdvisor. We are extremely delighted that you had a whale of a time staying with us and enjoyed everything to the core. Your voluminous words of praise and appreciation... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was average and the wifi services was even worse. The food was the worst part and needs great improvement. Other than that the hotel employees was polite and nice. Overall it was a good stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vinod N
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We are taken aback at your comment about our food and the wifi that you found worst which we cannot agree to at any point.Wi Fi at times may get slow as it is a technical in nature but food wise our restaurant serves one of the best cuisines as... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there post earthquake 2015, so black-out occured almost every morning. Nothing that we could do and I was sure that the management tried to back the electricity up as soon as possible. Nice environment, friendly security guard, close to restaurant and market!

Helpful?
1 Thank Trista B
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at KGH. Well electricity is a national problem in the country and to remain on generators that run on diesel was not viable all the time also not beneficial to the environment, however we tried our best to power the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband booked our accommodations in Kathmandu and I assumed by the name that it was a small place, possibly attached to a home. The Kathmandu Guest House (KGH) is a smaller beautiful hotel that is quaint and peaceful within the hustle and bustle of a prime shopping/traveling area. We were there with our children and felt very safe and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience at KGH recently and rating us full 5 star on TripAdvisor. We are extremely delighted that you had a whale of a time staying with us and enjoyed everything to the core. We were bit disappointed that your daughter... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been to Kathmandu several times in the last year and have always stayed at the KGH. Was actually at the KGH during the quake in 2015 and was most impressed with how the management and staff cared for all the guests during this most difficult time. I have returned several times since April 2015 and have always chosen to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jaybentham
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience at KGH recently and rating us full 5 star on TripAdvisor. We are extremely delighted that you had a whale of a time staying with us and you have been choosing to stay at KGH every time you visit... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

That that this is located in the middle of a crowded, busy, dusty, chaotic city. Beautiful garden, clean rooms, plenty of hot water. Friendly staff will accommodate your needs. Also a good buffet breakfast. Stayed here twice at the beginning and end of our trip. We also stored extra gear there for no extra charge. Located close to great shopping... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank J B
shagunis, Owner at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience at KGH recently and rating us full 5 star on TripAdvisor. We are extremely delighted that we matched your expectations in terms of service and the hospitality. We as KGH stand for quality and the service that is a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (244)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 170 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#19 of 170 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#30 of 170 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 170 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 170 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#24 of 170 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $40 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay