We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Situated a 400 rupee ride from Thamel and a 500 rupee ride from the airport, this hotel is a revelation in downtown Kathmandu. Its grounds and outdoor pool were wonderful and expansive in an otherwise crowded and dirty city. The service and attention is constant and attentive. The rooms are nice and standard size and ours gave on to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 432JamesD
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu! It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights before heading to Pranayama Yoga retreat (which was amazing). I took a taxi from the airport. The prepaid taxi would have been 800 NPR, but got one out front for 600 NPR (there is an ATM at the airport). Checkin was smooth with them offering juice at check in. As a Priority Club member (with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bhatnasx
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu ! Thank you very much for sharing and making us aware of your recent experiences at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our product and services. We appreciate your continued loyalty towards IHG brand and let me assure you that it is our...

london
Reviewed November 21, 2012

As I work for an Airline, I get to visit different county‘s and hotel’s, I recently stayed in Soaltee hotel (crown plaza) in Kathmandu on family holiday with wife and two kids. Our four days stay was truly wonderful in the busy city, after shopping and sight-seeing all day, it was pleasure to come back to hotel and relax. Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krizy
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu! It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu. The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback has been shared with Reena who view it as a source of...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Kathmandu is a rugged City to say the least, but my god what an interesting place. So it was a pleasant surprise, after taking on the traffic and bouncing down the ragged sidestreets in our tiny little taxi, to eventually reach the tranquility and splendour of the Hotel. A very welcoming and comfortable hotel with extremely friendly staff. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkForrester
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu! We are pleased to receive your review of our hotel, and your satisfaction with our infrastructure and our team of associates . As you have noticed, our hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. We have tried very hard to ensure that the property...

Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel, I found, was little away from the city and the commuting time may vary from depending upon the traffic. Unfortunately when I stayed, the traffic was at its worse. The hotel itself has nice ambience. The food was ok. The AC in the room needed overhauling. We had issues with the bar as it was closed for some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank premranjan
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu! Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We have noted your feedback on the location of the hotel and agree that it is a little away from the city. On the contrary there is easy access to Swoyambhunath and the main city via taxis and...

Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed November 5, 2012

iam not able to describe this hotel by just typing words here. i always feel the hotel by staying here by letting my heart and mind feel it. just amazing everything is so WoW and only word that will describe this gem is wow or amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhuwannp
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu! First and foremost, thank you! We are thrilled to see that our hotel exceeded your expectations. It is definitely a goal of ours to “wow” all of our guests .Providing a consistent and high level of service is one of our top priorities and receiving comments such as yours on our product...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is undergoing renovation and I believe it will be very nice when it is completed. The furniture is a bit dated and I had a been encounter with a broken dresser. Without all the details, the hotel staff exceeded my expectations when I was hurt in the hotel. They care for me, took me to the hospital and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu! Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. It brings us immense pleasure & delight that you have extended your gracious compliments to our team of associates, who have been recognized for their hospitality, resourcefulness & warmth. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature....

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rated 5 star--a little old and tired, rooms need updating. Location is far from downtown but there are stores close by. Bathroom small, iron and safe in room (couldn't get it to work.) Massage pretty mediocre .Wi-fi very expensive $24.00 for 24 hours. Large grounds and nice pool area which we relaxed at in the afternoon. The Garden terrace restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stonewashed
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu! We are thankful to you for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our offerings. We have taken note of your comments that you found the room assigned to you was not satisfactory as you found it little...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a nice hotel, given the other options in the city. It is a little out of town, so you will need to take a taxi. Taxis are very inexpensive. The rooms are a little dated, but are very comfortable. Our air conditioning had some issues and we are not sure why. Did not expect to sweat sleeping in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitzimorris
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings From Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu! Thank you so much for the great and detail review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as your comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We have noted down your concerns and are...

London
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is probbaly one of the best hotels in Kathmandu, slightly away from the main attractions but still a good option. Plus points: Friendly staff Clean and reasonably spacious rooms Good service Good food in buffet restaurant and the Italian (Al Fresco) Overall a great stay, although there were a few negatives: Some rooms are noisy every morning I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RHtravellerLondon
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza! Thank you so much for the great and concise review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We are very happy to learn that overall we were being able to exceed your expectation during your stay with us. At the mean time, we have noted down...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

573 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (520)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (175)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 190 in Kathmandu
1,423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#58 of 190 in Kathmandu
987 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#40 of 190 in Kathmandu
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 190 in Kathmandu
429 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#9 of 190 in Kathmandu
1,029 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#53 of 190 in Kathmandu
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $133 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Clemson, South Carolina
Bangkok, Thailand
3 months ago
Perth, Australia
6 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't stay in this hotel if you want your trip pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles TheKimHim, 1 week ago | Read review
“everyy rooms are so beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles inquiry544, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Best rooms are in the new part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ester219, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Please ask to be in the newer section as some rooms have been updated”
 of 5 bubbles karentnj, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“The higher you go the better the view”
  • View from the Monkey Temple-Swayambhunath
 of 5 bubbles zubiazubair, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question