We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chaksibari Marg Thamel-29, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (16)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (4)

About

#188 of 634 in Kathmandu
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
4.0
Value
4.1
Hotel Nana Thamel is one of the leading budget chain hotels in Thamel, Kathmandu which is the major tourist hub of the capital city. We provide clean and comfortable accommodation with 24 hours free Wi-Fi, high pressure hot and cold water in a safe and friendly environment.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Indoor play area for children
Airport transportation
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Separate dining area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Nepali
82Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 36
  • 11
  • 4
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Surendra wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions
The location is perfect. You can take a quick rest stop at the hotel from your day trip and then head out again. So many cafes, restaurants and pubs close by. Good for people looking for night life as they let you check in till late night. But you have to inform them. Good for budget friendly people.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The first room I checked in had music from the bars from outside. So I asked them for another...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Marina S wrote a review Oct 2019
12 contributions1 helpful vote
Super noisy! The music of all bars and diacotecs seems that i have it in the room. No wather. Not very clean. I wont repeat this hotel never. And the pictures are not real because they have other hotels in Nepal, so they put the pictures of the other plces
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
urivalle wrote a review Nov 2018
Alp, Spain31 contributions10 helpful votes
Sheet stripped and stained. Completely dirty. Loud music until 2.am. Room 402.seemed having the music on the room. Very noisy. Not recomended at all. Very expensive for What you get(17 dol.) pictures on this website are not from the rooms they have.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Manager at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Dec 17, 2018
Dear Guest, Apologies for the inconvenience. Everyday we do have a round of house keeping and room service. It's unlikely that the issue slipped through. I would have taken the privilege of solving your case or moving you to the better room if you had notified us. For the other guest in the room 402 playing music. Had you brought it to our notice we could have requested the guest to reduce the volume or close the door. Peacefulness is sometime a coexistence issue, each of us has some responsibilities to solve. We'd like to suggest you to check the 'management photos' section for the authentic photos since rest of the photos that our guests post we do not have a control over them. It was pleasure serving you. Look forward to welcoming you again. We are sure it'd be better. Thanks, Nana Hotels
Read more
Sharmilanani l wrote a review Sep 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The music went on till 3.00 am .the room I was in was dirty .when asked to clean nothing was done I could not recommend the hotel..staff were not very helpful when asked to change room they had every excuse not to change room ..not value for money
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Owner at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Dec 29, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for finding time to write about the hotel. We want to provide the best location to our guests that is close to all the facilities that Thamel can provide. Unfortunate thing is that it brings us close to night clubs and discos too. Thamel is all about live music and night life. We have investigated about room cleaning issue. First part is that we always clean our room in the daily housekeeping tasks. If any guest reports we act in no time. Changing a room is always entertained but it's subject to availability. It was a pleasure hosting you. Look forward to welcoming you. Thanks, Hotel Nana
Read more
SamTom25 wrote a review Aug 2018
Bangalore District, India6 contributions
Had lot of issues staying here. Wifi connectivity had problem in room. Hot water not available. No power socket to charge phones also. Restaurant not open when required. No ceiling fan. Rooms are very conjusted for a group of people of three. Would not suggest this place for group of three.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Owner at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Dec 29, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us opportunity to serve you and letting us know about the issues. We have re-adjusted the WiFi Hotspots in the hotel to maximize the signal strength in every room, but it's also dependent on device to device and is purely a technical issue. We do have a multiple power socket in the hotel in case that is not sufficient, we do provide extension cords from the reception on demand. Hot water is available 24/7, we run a check list frequently for any plumbing issues. Guests can always let us know if there are any issues and we act on no time. Our restaurants open from 7:30 AM to 10:00 PM everyday. Unfortunately we cannot open it 24/7 due to low demand in other time. Our rooms are designed to accommodate maximum of of two persons and a child. Other cases are adjustable on the mutual understanding basis. We are thankful for the opportunity to serve you, look forward to serving you again. Thanks, Hotel Nana
Read more
Suraj K wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution
The hotel is perfectly located in the city center. A very busy and beautiful place. I enjoyed my night life in Thamel and stayed at this hotel. The employees were friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine, if not better for the price you pay. Value for money is guaranteed. They even helped and arranged my travel tickets and documents.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms at the back side is quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Manager at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Dec 17, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your recommendation. It was pleasure hosting you. We always look forward to give every guest a friendly and welcoming space. It makes us feel that we are on track with our ambitions. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks, Nana Hotels
Read more
Nana H wrote a review Jul 2018
1 contribution
Hotel Nana Thamel is located in a good place. The rooms are comfy and cozy. The staffs are nice and friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel to others. A good place for a nice getaway or gathering with friends.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms at the backside of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Manager at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Dec 17, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your recommendation. We always look forward to give every guest a friendly and welcoming space. It makes us feel that we are on track with our ambitions. We always look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks, Nana Hotels
Read more
Vivek wrote a review Jul 2018
Mumbai, India159 contributions74 helpful votes
There are lots of innumerable options other than this hotel. This hotel was recommended to me by an acquantaince and hence stayed here. But the Single room was terrible and overpriced. The bed was small and compact. Room was stinking a bit. The bathroom was very poor with broken taps, broken showers, leaking WC, no buckets and very poorly maintained. The whole night loud noise keeps coming and you can definitely not sleep. There are innumerable options in Thamel to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Owner at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Dec 29, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and thank you for taking time to write. Hotel Nana Thamel is a part of Nana Properties Hotel Chain which provides accommodation and hospitality services all over Nepal. We do provide affordable and best valued services to our guests. Thus out of so many options in Thamel and other destinations we stand distinguished. Single room is designed to accommodate single person with optimum space as per hospitality industry standard. We run regular plumbing and facility checks to make sure things are working as expected. Guests are always welcome to bring their complains to the service desk, we act on no time. Hotel is located at the core of Thamel, unfortunately it comes with a little noise from a disco, pub and dance bars which are very close to the room. Thamel is all about live music, lively marketplace and night life. It was pleasure hosting you. Look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks, Hotel Nana
Read more
StephyOlive wrote a review Jul 2018
Dubai40 contributions27 helpful votes
We booked this place last minute and wish we had spent more time looking for another hotel. Some of the photos on this website are not of the rooms in their Kathmandu branch. Out of the 3 rooms we booked, 1 room had large cockroaches running around and the 2nd room didn't have a working fan and no running water in the evening, water was running though the next morning. Felt everything was very dirty, the bathroom and the room. I would never stay here again and wouldn't recommend it at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Owner at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Jan 15, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write your feed back. We'd like to apologize for the inconvenience. We'd like to let our guests know that. We do have a house keeping tasks everyday. We perform our regular checklist activities, beside that we do have pest control equipments placed at the different part of the property. We do perform pest preventive measures like fuming. We also provide each room with mosquito repellent liquid and it's machine. We'd have loved to solve your issues on premise had you let us know. We could have moved you to the next room. We do also have plumber on call. Thank you ! Nana Hotels
Read more
Jordinva wrote a review May 2018
Munich, Germany43 contributions10 helpful votes
Couldn't be more central - right around the nightclubs, which you can unfortunately hear in your room. On the plus side: Super affordable, simple and clean accommodation with balcony. What I enjoyed most is the feeling of having family around though. The staff were super kind and fun, especially Laxman, who always went the extra mile to make sure that his guests are happy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from NanaHotels, Manager at Hotel Nana Thamel
Responded Dec 17, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your recommendation. We always look forward to give every guest a friendly and welcoming space. It makes us feel that we are on track with our ambitions. We always look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks, Nana Hotels
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NepalCentral RegionBagmati ZoneKathmandu ValleyKathmandu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Nana Thamel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Nana Thamel?
Nearby attractions include S.K. Handicrafts Export (0.2 miles), Socialtours (0.2 miles), and Museum of Nepali Art (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Nana Thamel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Nana Thamel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Nana Thamel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Nana Thamel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laughing Bird Cafe and Restaurant, Carpe Diem Lounge & Bakery, and MarcoPolo Restaurant.
Does Hotel Nana Thamel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Nana Thamel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Nana Thamel have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Nana Thamel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Nana Thamel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Kathmandu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Nana Thamel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Nana Thamel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Nana Thamel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kathmandu Durbar Square (0.8 miles), Krisnhna Mandir Temple (Chayasim Deval) (3.0 miles), and Patan Royal Palace (3.1 miles).