We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Save
Traveler (58)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (4)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers talk about
“monkey temple”(77 reviews)
“bed dorm”(4 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
Rooftop Terrace
Private Balcony
3 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
15 Swoyambhu | Buddha Park, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
4.9 miles to Tribhuvan Airport
11 restaurants are within a 1 mile radius
1.5 miles from Kathmandu Durbar Square
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
162
34
14
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
162
34
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkey templea great place to meetbed dormring roadcommon areassolo travellerhome away from homegreat rooftopstaff members areroof terracehot showerenjoyed my stayairport pickrooms are comfortablenice stayganeshswayambhu
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Things which might be Pros: 1. Located walking distance from Monkey temple, bus stand, microbus stand and a decent market nearby 2. Hostel cafe has some tasty food 3. Great view from the rooms, roof... chill place with a hammock and all. They were screening...More

Thank Annagarg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I spent here two whole month caused by a job nearby and I felt always comfortable, relaxed, well-prized, great food and a great staff. Thanks for the time I could spent here. That's my home in Kathmandu.

Thank Jonas Z
Response from The Sparkling T, Manager at The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jonas, Thank you for such a best review. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are looking forward to welcome your home in Kathmandu in future. Regards, Pawan Thapa

Reviewed June 14, 2018

The managers at Sparkling Turtle were very helpful before I even arrived, and saved me a lot of time and trouble when I did arrive by providing excellent directions and suggestions. I had a private room with en suite bathroom which was cheaper than dormitory...More

Thank 312741Juan3939
Response from The Sparkling T, Manager at The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

Namaste Juan, Warm greetings from The Sparkling Turtle. Thank you for choosing our hostel while your recent visit to Nepal. And Thank you very much for your beautiful review and we are delighted to hear that you had a good experience staying with us. Your...More

Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

Minutes away from the Monkey Temple. Half an hour walk from Thamel. Amazing bed and breakfast. Upon arriving at The Sparkling Turtle we were greeted by Rossan who was fantastic throughout our stay. He answered all the questions we had with great detail, supplied the...More

Thank Matthew H
Response from The Sparkling T, Manager at The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

Namaste, Matthew. Warm greetings for The Sparkling Turtle. Thank you for such a amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience staying with us. Your positives feed backs are greatly admired as they empower us to continue quality services. We...More

Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

I have visited the hostel 3 times during my stay in kathmandu, because its the best place to go... Nice beds and bathrooms. The hostel is clean and the price is very good. Location is awesome aswell if you like it more quite.. Roshen and...More

Thank Slava K
Response from The Sparkling T, Manager at The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers HostelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Slava, Namaste and Warm greetings from The Sparkling Turtle. Thank you for choosing our hostel while your recent visit to Nepal. And Thank you very much for your Nice review and we are delighted to hear that you had a good experience staying with...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (58)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pritish R
August 21, 2016|
Answer
Response from Michelle D | Reviewed this property |
I stayed in a 4 person mixed dorm room-comfortable bed and reasonably quite. About $4USD a night and that included a simple breakfast.
1
Vote
stressed652013
July 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from The Sparkling T | Property representative |
Namaste, we are nearly 12 kms far from airport, which is around 30/40 minutes drive. if your son need airport pick up we will come to airport to pick him. Don't worry, We do speak english and can assisit or guide while your... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Top floor rooms are quieter and the view in the morning is divine!"
Read review
"Avoid B-4 private room unless they read this and put a new mattress. ; P"
Read review
"Dorms definitely to meet people or the rooms for privacy of course. They're all cleaned daily"
Read review
"the Suite is gorgeous."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing