We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shivapuri Heights Cottage

Traveler (327)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (32)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Shivapuri Heights consist of three Cottages perched on the hillside above Budhanilkantha, with stunning views over the valley. They are a million miles from Kathmandu, but luckily only 30 minutes by taxi and a short uphill walk. As a secret getaway for families, romantic couples, or a relaxing break from Kathmandu, they're hard to beat.
Read more
Property amenities
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
380Reviews
352Photos
6Q+A
64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 345
  • 30
  • 2
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I recently organized a big group of 18 people to "take over" the resort. Even though it was first time visiting, I found all the information I needed on the website. The description of the access, of each room, and of all the available amenities was very precise and genuine. It
Read more
We booked via booking. Nothing mentioned in the description about the fact that there is no road. So we booked it. Even though I have a broken foot. But then after the booking is confirmed, I get an email that there is no road. And that we have to walk up fifteen minutes. So I
Read more
Response from Steveinnepal, Owner at Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Desumma. Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you have felt it necessary to write a negative review about our property even though you didn't actually stay with us. If you had done some prior research you would have realised that a 5-10 minute walk is required to reach our property. This information was also given to you after you had booked via booking.com. If you had called us prior to arrival we could have also sent our staff to assist you walking up. You booked a non-refundable LOW rate on Booking.com. At no time was your credit card charged and after communication with Booking.com we agreed to waive the cancellation charge. We are proud of the fact that 99.99% of our guests love our place. The fact that you have to walk a short distance makes us unique and provides an escape from the chaos of Kathmandu without the noise of the traffic. If walking is not your thing, due to injury or other reasons, then we are not for you but if you want to enjoy incredible views of the valley, fresh air, peace & tranquility then we are a great choice.
Read more
Bad place. Owner is a liar and a fraud. Tells you, you can cancel free of charge, because of several issues with the place on arrival, then later still charges the money and pretend it was our own fault to come there. I pressed charges with the police because of theft. Also
Read more
Response from Steveinnepal, Owner at Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JeroenvanLooijengoed. Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you have felt it necessary to write a negative review about our property even though you didn't actually stay with us. You booked a NON-REFUNDABLE LOW rate on Booking.com. At no time was your credit card charged and after communication with Booking.com we agreed to waive the cancellation charge as a special case. Your main issue with our place was the fact that you had to walk to reach us and your companion had an injured foot. If you had done some prior research you would have realised that a 5-10 minute walk is required to reach our property. This information was also given to you after you had booked via booking.com. If you had called us prior to arrival we could have also sent our staff to assist you walking up. We are proud of the fact that 99.99% of our guests love our place. The fact that you have to walk a short distance makes us unique and provides an escape from the chaos of Kathmandu without the noise of the traffic. If walking is not your thing, due to injury or other reasons, then we are not for you but if you want to enjoy incredible views of the valley, fresh air, peace & tranquility then we are a great choice. We wish you pleasant travels.
Read more
Starting with a magnificent view from the cosy terrace or even from your own room you will have a great experience... the staff and the owners themselves won’t hesitate to assist and arrange anything you need ... super people .
Read more
Well, the food was incredible, the staff was gracious and friendly, the room was clean and spacious, and the spa experience was lovely. My friend Meg and I both loved the experience! The nearby monastery was beautiful. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Common living room at upper cottage
Photo provided by managementShivapuri Heights Cottage
Jasmine House
Photo provided by managementShivapuri Heights Cottage
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Photos from Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Photos from Shivapuri Heights Cottage
PreviousNext
12345612
one room is 10K :) worth it.
0 votes
Show all answers
I can see that there is a plunge pool - is that a hot tub? Thanks so much for any answers :)
The pool is not heated. It's great when the weather is warm but otherwise cool.
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes we can arrange a hike into the Shivapuri National Park. Its best if you stay with us for a night or two and then we can arrange a 2-6 hour hike with a local guide. Its best to contact us by e-mail.
0 votes
Show all answers
Can we bring our pet..??
Yes you can bring a pet with prior arrangement. contact hotel directly
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Read the detailed description of the rooms on the website to request the one that best fits your needs because they are all different."
"All rooms are unique- no cottage is better than the other!"
"For extra privacy, own garden space and to 'escape from it all' book your own private cottage."
"All the rooms are good"
"We had a room in the main house which was perfect"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shivapuri heights cottages hotel kathmandu
LOCATION
NepalCentral RegionBagmati ZoneKathmandu ValleyKathmandu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing