We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ruch

Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Ruch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

Ihave stayed at this hotel acouple of days. And i discovered its a nice place and quiet place to stay.The receptionist is very gentile and helpful.Breakfast is good and food at the restuarant is very good. Staff in general are very good. Internet connection signal is fair if your room is far from reception area. Rooms are very clean and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mangalataty
Chioggia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

I spent seven days at this hotel which is located in a very quiet area of town and near the center .The rooms are clear and tidy comfortable .The internet connection is good .The staf is very kind , friendly and always a smile and always ready to help .The hotel restaurant offers good food .The breakfast is good and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo L
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Rooms good hospitality perfect and I have to personally recognizance the hotel staffs like the Manager himself, Receptionist( lady), Jacky, Robert kitchen staffs cleaning staffs, security guys Irimaso Josphert and Janet all were good friends while in the hotel. My opinion and what the hotel is missing most is a small gym or swimming pool one of these will make... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chrisodhiambo18
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times. The staff are very friendly and most accommodating. The restaurant next door has excellent Indian dishes. Hotel is well located, within walking distance to many popular areas. My rooms have always been clean and the beds very comfortable. It's quiet at night and I always get a good sleep. Breakfast is usually... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

This is one of the worst hotel i have ever experienced. No service, no facilities against the tariff they are charging. Free breakfast is not at all up to the mark. Rooms are not so good. Lights in and out the rooms are very very poor. Room services is zero. Over all environment of the hotel is worst. The only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CAPranav

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

To start with room wasn't cleaned. Used condom wrappers in bedside drawers. Blanket smaller than bed. Only 1 bedsheet no fitted sheet.1 pillow. Fan was same PowerPoint as tv, so you had to choose which one. We could have lived with all these issues as room was cleaned and adapter supplied after complaining. Butfor the Indian owner who played loud... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rugbfn01
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Hotel staff is pleasant and it is going an extra mile to fulfill your wishes. However, the building and its state is not up to high standards. Definitely needs some improvements, and especially making the "cold" environment more "warm" and attractive. Breakfast is self service without much of variety. So, just basic to keep you going through few hours. Unfortunately,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dragan D
perth
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

The room was very nice and clean but I think a little over priced as it had no toiletries not even a small soap which was a little disappointing considering the price the room we had was 221.The breakfast was sparse and the service not very good or friendly.

Helpful?
Thank PerthJill
staines
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

The rooms look nice on the website but when you get there, the towels are dirty the bathroom in 207 wasn't very clean, very few sockets, terrible service. The rooms are spacious as shown on the website. It's too expensive for such sub standard services. We pay extra 10$ for breakfast that is stale

Helpful?
Thank julietStaines
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

Budget hotel that reflects service, comfort and cleanliness in price. No desk in room, bathroom needs a good scrub, looks like an old run down hotel. Not the cleanest place. My last stay here for sure. Breakfast poor.

Helpful?
Thank JOers0n
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You chose the most basic and cheapest room (with minimum amenities) at our Hotel and were shown this room before occupation. In fact, you insisted on the cheapest $50 room the moment you stepped into the Hotel. You demanded for a desk on the next day and were politely offered the option to upgrade to a room with a desk... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
0.6 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#30 of 87 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#44 of 87 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#9 of 87 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afrique Suites Hotel
Afrique Suites Hotel
#57 of 87 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Metropole Hotel Kampala
#36 of 87 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ruch is a hotel in central Kampala where a warm welcome and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed. Being a no-frills Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing hotel accommodation in central Kampala, Uganda at competitive rates starting from only $70 per night. We are only 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Kampala with easy access to public transport. Hotel Ruch is in between two 5* Hotels in Kampala, the Sheraton & Serena Hotels ; The city centre, super-markets and shopping centres are less than a 5 min's drive away. Unwind and relax in serene wild-life themed Uzuri Gardens. An experience unmatched by any hotel in central Kampala ; no noise, no distractions, Just you, your thoughts and nature. Excite your taste buds with delicious curries & naans baked in a clay Tandoor, YUM! With a 6-page menu & quality beyond any of the hotels in Kampala, you will be spoilt for choice! We are located in a safe, secure & central area of the Kampala CBD and has ample secure parking for over 30 cars. Relax, have a coffee or read a book all under a traditional hand-thatched roof. We are one of the few Hotels in Kampala giving back to the community by employing local crafts-men. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $74 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing