We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Metropole Hotel Kampala

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel Kampala
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Metropole Hotel Kampala
 Click to rate
Nairobi
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms very clean and high standard. The internet works very well. There atmosphere is work friendly. It is near their shopping mall and also Cafe Javas so eating out is also another option. Security is good since it is located near a couple of embassies which are guarded making it also in safe zone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Machelitoh
Reviewed November 28, 2016

Stayed 3 days at the metropole hotel last week on a business trip. Rooms are spacey and the food served is good. Hotel was not so crowded when I stayed. almost all the area in the city accessible within 15-30 minutes. Look out for the traffic as it can get really worse in the area. The Lift in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mafaz A
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Close to all amenities, good clean hotel , very friendly staff, good service in the lounge and restaurants, food was priced just right good buffets , no complaints, enjoyed the stay very well, small work out area but can achieve what your looking for

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam U
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Very average business hotel. A little bit grubby here and there but the beds were clean and the restaurant food was OK. I didn't feel that it was very good value for money, but then hotels are expensive inKampala.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_DM
Goma, DRC
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in August for about one week during a business trip. The rooms are good size with a shower bathroom, personal safe in the room and a tv with sufficient channels I guess (I am not much of a tv fan and wouldn't watch tv most of the time in the hotels except for some news...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banu_Altunbas
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Banu, We would like to thank you for taking your time to provide a valuable feedback about your experience at Metropole Hotel. However regarding the issue of the room, we had fumigated with strong chemicals in our rooms due to seasonal changes in weather that is why we had that strong smell in the room. Your willingness to share...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Good, quiet, clean hotel overlooking the golf course on one side. Major attractions are proximity to town and relatively affordable. The lunch buffet was ok but limited options. Same for breakfast. The conference facilities are passable but the wifi connection is very slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wasolosnipes
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed October 2, 2016

The rooms are quite clean and comfortable. Quiet if they give you the ones on the quiet side. When i first checked in they gave me a room facing the road and it was horrible-so noisy and the towels were old. They later gave me a quieter,nicer room with good towels on the third floor. The location is also great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Globalised
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Our Esteemed Guest, Thank you for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala. Hope you are keeping well. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay with Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contributes making a stay at our Hotel such a...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Stayed here in May for business. Clean, comfortable and beautiful accommodation. Lovely staff who were very helpful and friendly. I could not wish for a better stay. Breakfast was tasty, as were the two meals I chose for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Marion, Thank you for choosing Metropole Hotel Kampala For your stay. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay in Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Please feel free to contact us whenever you think we...

nairobi
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

Generally been quite happy with this hotel stayed here a few times, but I had a nasty experience today which will most likely stop me going back. This morning 10th August 2016, someone tried to sneak into my room (202)at roughly 9am I was half asleep in bed and the door started to open very slowly.. I shouted YES and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ravi V
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Ravi, Thank you for choosing always Metropole Hotel Kampala for your stay. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay in Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review. We followed up the matter and fully investigated this incident upon receiving information and CCTV footage was reviewed and found that it was one of...

Bronx, New York, United States
Reviewed August 4, 2016

It was my second time to visit this hotel The breakfast was fine, and the staff pleasant. The WiFi was Good, they have a professional IT guy called Jeff he Knows what he does ....he helped me solve almost all my IT problems.. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of having a Business Trip

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
Metropole K K, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Nick, Thank you so much for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala! We appreciated your feed back and we very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Hope to see you soon. If you need any further assistance required please do not hesitate to contact us. Kindest Regards.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 95 in Kampala
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 95 in Kampala
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 95 in Kampala
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.0 mi away
Arcadia Suites
Arcadia Suites
#10 of 95 in Kampala
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $129 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Kampala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Metropole Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Metropole Hotel Kampala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Difficult to say. There are noisy nightclubs nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles Rob_DM, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Golf Facing Rooms are Qieter”
 of 5 bubbles NickJ352, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from Acacia Avenue.”
 of 5 bubbles gpariyo, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the ground floor, they're noisy and have awful lighting”
 of 5 bubbles Wendy121212, Feb 22, 2016 | Read review
“executive rooms on top floor are smaller and have little extra value to justify the extra charges”
 of 5 bubbles HansCB, Dec 9, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question