We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Metropole Hotel Kampala

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel Kampala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in May for business. Clean, comfortable and beautiful accommodation. Lovely staff who were very helpful and friendly. I could not wish for a better stay. Breakfast was tasty, as were the two meals I chose for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Marion M
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Marion, Thank you for choosing Metropole Hotel Kampala For your stay. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay in Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Please feel free to contact us whenever you think we... More 

nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Generally been quite happy with this hotel stayed here a few times, but I had a nasty experience today which will most likely stop me going back. This morning 10th August 2016, someone tried to sneak into my room (202)at roughly 9am I was half asleep in bed and the door started to open very slowly.. I shouted YES and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ravi V
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Ravi, Thank you for choosing always Metropole Hotel Kampala for your stay. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay in Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review. We followed up the matter and fully investigated this incident upon receiving information and CCTV footage was reviewed and found that it was one of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my second time to visit this hotel The breakfast was fine, and the staff pleasant. The WiFi was Good, they have a professional IT guy called Jeff he Knows what he does ....he helped me solve almost all my IT problems.. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of having a Business Trip

Helpful?
Thank Nick J
Metropole K K, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Nick, Thank you so much for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala! We appreciated your feed back and we very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Hope to see you soon. If you need any further assistance required please do not hesitate to contact us. Kindest Regards. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been staying here for last 2 years during my business visits , it's a functional property for business travellers . Location is pretty ideal as CBD can be accessed on boda-boda or 15 minutes walk , 2 malls with ample eating places are nearby though hotel does offer room service and has a open terrace restaurant ( my... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you so much for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala! We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay with Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contributes making a stay at Metropole such a special experience. Please feel free... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfectly located in a quite neighborhood with nice restaurants and bars in close walking distance. the breakfast is good and plentiful. The rooms are clean and have all the needed amenities. The hotel's restaurant is always an option for nice dinners when you return late and don't feel like going out but beware of the very slow service.

Helpful?
Thank Tamar D
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Tamar, Thank you for choosing Metropole Hotel Kampala For your stay. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay in Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contributes making a stay at Metropole such a special experience. We will definitely look into... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

I stayed for one week during May 2016 in this hotel. it was business trip. it is so poor hotel although not cheap. The bathroom is awful & everything is broken. No towels until i asked for it. The air condition has a sound like a pneumatic drill working in the room. Breakfast with no varieties. Plus i was reserving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rafik A
Metropole K K, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Rafik, Greetings from Metropole Hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. We usually urge our guests to inform us in case there is an irregularity in maintenance or housekeeping concerns. We operate 24/7 who can attend to them so that we do not destabilize the guest’s stay. Regarding the early check in and late... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Last week i stayed at the Metropole hotel for 2 nights after about 7 months. It felt good to be back to this hotel after such a short time. I take note that thought this hotel has been one of the good places i have been, i was however a little disappointed by the deteriorating state of the hotel. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moses_Waweru
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Moses, Greetings from Metropole Hotel. Thank you for reviewing our hotel, your feedback is very important to us. We shall take a serious concern regarding the matter with very keen attention. We kindly apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us was highly appreciated. We very much look... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Strong points: Friendly and welcoming staff. Located a short walking distance from some great restaurants and the golf course. Quiet and spacious rooms. First floor restaurant had good food. Room service was quick. Appreciated laundry service and personal explanations. Breakfast had good selection to choose from. Management to look into: Pay attention to maintenance - my bathroom had issues. Unacceptable... More 

Helpful?
Thank gpariyo
Metropole K K, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala. Hope you are keeping well. We appreciated your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We shall take a serious concern regarding all issues you have mentioned with a very keen attention. Your feedback will be discussed across departments. We very much... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

We had left our wallets etc in the room when we went to eat at the hotel restaurant. A couple of hours after we got back, my father couldn't find his wallet. We searched up and down to no avail. I went to check the restaurant to see if he may have left it there, but no luck. Lastly, I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WameqR
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Our Esteemed Guest, Thank you for choosing Metropole Hotel for your stay. It is extremely unfortunate to hear about this incident and we can understand your frustration and we really apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at the Hotel. As per our earlier communication the floor corridor and the entrance to the room fully investigated this incident... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Metropolitan for a few nights only and found it a peaceful and well managed hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms where simple but fine and well maintained. The kitchen is fine but perhaps not special but certainly OK. Perhaps it is a bit isolated but that's not much if a problem as taxis are readily... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala. Hope you are keeping well. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay with Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contributes making a stay at Metropole such a special experience. Please feel free... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#10 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#4 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#54 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.8 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $121 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Metropole Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay