We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metropole Hotel Kampala

Save
Share
Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239 Uganda
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$95
View deal
Hotels.com
$96
View deal
FindHotel
$67
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/15/22
Travelocity$96
ZenHotels.com$164
Orbitz.com$96
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (45)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (10)

About

#44 of 274 hotels in Kampala
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.5
Value
3.5
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Swahili, Urdu
152Reviews0Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 56
  • 56
  • 13
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Echologist wrote a review Jan 2020
Hamburg, Germany231 contributions131 helpful votes
Good business hotel with a very friendly staff and central location. I advise to ask for a hotel room facing the golf court rather than the Main Street at the back of the Hotel. The restaurant offers a great choice of local and international food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropole Hotel Kampala! We would like to thank you very much for taking your time to provide valuable feedback about your experience at Metropole Hotel. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us was highly appreciated. We were more than happy to be your residence away from home. Kind regards, M Kika metropole@metropolekampala.com
Read more
Santosh J wrote a review Jan 2020
Nairobi, Kenya68 contributions28 helpful votes
The location of hotel is good and near to all major businesses. The rooms are big and clean. Staffs are friendly. People can go by walk in the night to near by Clubs & Restaurants. Breakfast is limited to local foods. But no much complaints.Overall I enjoyed staying.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear Santosh, Thank you for taking the time to write to us such a good review of Metropole Hotel following your recent visit to Kampala. I am delighted that you had such a pleasurable stay finding the hotel ideally located with wonderful value for money, friendly & helpful staff and also such clean comfortable rooms. We would be delighted to welcome you back once again in the future and please feel free to contact the hotel directly to arrange for your booking. Best Regards, Mufaddal Kika Manager
Read more
Miller M wrote a review Nov 2019
9 contributions
Lovely with Malls, hangouts close by , golfers have a free round on the house at Uganda Golf club & a golf view room if reserved. Love the meals very affordable especially their Breakfast and Evening grill everyday from 6pm
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Nov 10, 2019
Dear Miller, Greetings from Metropole Hotel Kampala! Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay and we really appreciate for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Best Regards, Mufaddal Kika Manager
Read more
Ree Bm wrote a review Oct 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates42 contributions3 helpful votes
I am a frequent traveller to Uganda but it is my first time to stay in this hotel. This place needs a serious attention to cleanliness. The rooms are not well maintained. Bathroom stinks! Beddings looks dirty. The loud sound of the AC in my room didnt let me sleep the whole night! I arrived late night and had to go for early morning meetings and i didnt have good rest at all. Terrible experience. One more thing is that the hotel should be a little considerate. I was told I can check out at 2:30pm but since my flight is in the evening, i asked for a later check out around 4:30pm. They didnt agree and said i will be charged extra. I spoke to the Duty Manager and he said the maximum he can allow is 4PM. I didnt feel good arguing for just 30mins so i checked out at 2:30PM. Some consideration sometimes makes a lot of difference, especially if the hotel is not fully booked. It was a complete disappointment and I dont see myself staying in this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Oct 26, 2019
Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us of your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear about your experience with us. I can assure you we have absolutely reacted to your feedback and steps have been put in place to avoid a re-occurrence. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your stay, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best Regards, Mufaddal Kika gm@metropolekampala.com
Read more
Caroline wrote a review Oct 2019
Dumfries, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
We travelled to Kampala as a group of 5 and stayed at the Metropole. The staff were so lovely and helpful. A special mention of the manager Ivan Kusemererewa who solved every query we had with a smile. We stayed there for 2 nights & had to return on our way to the airport. He had everything organised and welcome. The food was great & the drinks were a very good price. I fully intend to stay here again on my return. Caroline
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking golf course were lovely with a little balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Oct 21, 2019
Dear Caroline, Thank you for staying with Metropole Hotel. We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay with Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contributes making a stay at Metropole such a special experience. We were more than happy to be your residence away from home, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards,
Read more
sethnairobi wrote a review Jun 2019
27 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel in located along busy road in the centre. Make sure you get a room facing the Golf course. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Big plus is the check out time is at noon. Reception staff is not overly fast and friendly but the Bar and breakfast staff is. Breakfast was good. Large selection of items and omelette station. For a short stay recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Rooms facing the Golf course are quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Jun 28, 2019
Dear Seth, Greetings from Metropole Hotel kampala! Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay and we really appreciate for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Best Regards, Management
Read more
akeyo wrote a review Apr 2019
Nairobi, Kenya101 contributions4 helpful votes
The rooms were large and clean. There was a great Kenyan Chef who did a really good breakfast and food in general but some of the female staff were terribly rude and clamored to serve the European guests before the Africans. 😕 we had an incident with a bag that was opened. Nothing went missing but it was unsettling all the same. During our stay there, there was some kind of construction going on so sometimes you would come into your room and meet someone on your room balcony. So that wasn’t great. Positives and negatives.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Jun 28, 2019
Dear Akeyo, Greetings from Metropole Hotel kampala! Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay and we really appreciate for your review. Management is taking a serious concern regarding all issues you have mentioned with very keen attention to ensure a comfortable atmosphere for all our beloved guests.Your willingness to share your thoughts with us was highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Best Regards, Management
Read more
Daniel wrote a review Feb 2019
6 contributions
As I had some issues to make payment online, I had to contact some Hotels in Kampala to book me a room in advance so that I could pay in cash upon arrival. Metropole Hotel responded swiftly. The management of the Hotel made things easier for me. Thank you. Up on arrival, I have found everything attractive. The staff are quite friendly right from the porters to the receptionists. The woman at the business center made my stay easy by availing cabs. The waiters/waitresses of the restaurant in the first floor makes their best level to keep one enjoy the services. They are simply awesome. The breakfast was very good. The room is spacious and all the materials functional. I strongly recommend the Hotel for someone planning to travel to Kampala. Daniel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: The rooms facing the Uganda Golf Course is good
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Feb 25, 2019
Dear Guest Greetings from Metropole Hotel Kampala Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback was extremely valuable to us. All comments were worth reading and learning from. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us was highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again for another wonderful experience. Kind regards
Read more
KLM wrote a review Feb 2019
20 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel staff harass guests. No respect for humanity whatsoever. There were bugs in the rooms. Several incidents of cockroaches on the floor. Also got bitten by unknown bugs in the night while sleeping. Although this did not happen to me, some guests complained about theft of their property. Theft of things as petty as a pair of trousers! I had to keep all my belongings under lock and key during my stay. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from MetropoleHOM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Feb 7, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Metropole Hotel Kampala and for posting your feedback. It is with regret I read your review. First and foremost we were very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Metropole Hotel. Unfortunately when a review starts by saying staff harasses the guests and there is no respect for humanity. I am unsure as to how my efforts to find a determination would have proceeded. We usually wish our guests to inform us in case there is an irregularity inconveniencing their stay with us we have managers on duty 24 hours who attend to these irregularities so that we can ensure a good stay for all our beloved guests. Metropole Hotel has friendly staffs that respect all their beloved guests and meet international standards and offers high quality services to all their clients equally like all other Kampala hotels to the hospitality and tourism sector. On receiving your review regarding bugs and cockroaches; Management is always aware of seasonal changes and we would like to inform you that we had just fumigated all the rooms, corridors and other areas of the hotel. However, we would like to know your details Guest name, room number or your arrival departure date to take a serious concern regarding the matter with very keen attention to ensure a comfortable atmosphere for all our guests. For the issue of theft; we would like to inform you that we do have strict measures when it comes to safety of the guests and their belongings in fact management is wondering which guest complained about theft at our property. Please kindly share with us the other guest’s details such that we can make a clear investigation, since we have never received such a complaint. We intensely inform you that we can always track down any culprit immediately if this kind of incident happens. Furthermore we do have safety boxes in guest’s rooms, secured digital door locks which we can track very quickly if it's compromise, security cameras and security surveillance 24 hours 365 days. Lastly if there was an issue with any staff member as you stated above in your review, it appeared like someone might have been too exuberant for you liking and I apologise if you found this to be an issue. If you need any further assistance required please do not hesitate to contact us. Best Regards, General Manager metropole@metropolekampala.com
Read more
dmah617 wrote a review Jan 2019
Edmonton, Canada81 contributions31 helpful votes
Stayed three nights at the hotel. Service was good. Staff was friendly. Lots of nearby restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was good. Stay on golf view side as it is quieter. I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala
Responded Jan 25, 2019
Dear Guest Greetings from Metropole Hotel Kampala we would like to thank you very much for taking your time to provide valuable feedback about your experience at Metropole Hotel. All comments were worth reading and learning from. We look forward to welcome you back for another wonderful experience Kind regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Metropole Hotel Kampala
Which popular attractions are close to Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Nearby attractions include Uganda Museum (0.7 miles), Independence Monument (0.7 miles), and Maridadi Crafts (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asian Fusion, The Lawns, and Mediterraneo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Metropole Hotel Kampala have airport transportation?
Yes, Metropole Hotel Kampala offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Metropole Hotel Kampala located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Kampala.
Are any cleaning services offered at Metropole Hotel Kampala?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Metropole Hotel Kampala offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.