We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Speke Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Speke Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is an old ancient building with beautiful rooms made in the ancient way. When we were booking the hotel on the surface we liked it but did not book it and went for another hotel, unfortunately we did not get reservation over there once we reached Kampala and i called the staff over there and he said you welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niti J
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not a hotel I will likely remember in a few months. There is nothing wrong with it, just nothing special either. It's a good hotel for a night before you head out of Kampala or if you're on a business trip (although the hotel doesn't feel like a business type accomodation). The hotel manager arranged a private driver for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bartosz K
Noida, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

it's one of the oldest property still maintaining the look & warmth of it's times. The rooms & property in all is well appointed & spacious. The two best things to talk about is the incredible food & staff. Each staff member was so warm to welcome & take care of all our needs. The restaurants (there are three) each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinki_16
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Pinki, Warm Greetings from Speke Hotel! Many thanks for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us in this forum. We are delighted to read your shining review of our hotel. We are a preferred choice for business and leisure travellers around the world and your acknowledgement of the same pleases us. I am happy to read...

St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are clean, well appointed and relatively spacious. The service is both friendly and effective. The restaurants (there are three) each have their own speciality (Indian, Italian and "continental"). The pizzas and pasta in the Italian restaurant are excellent, although the pasta portion if a main course (Spaghetti Aglio Olio Peperonciino – fully flavoured, just not enough!) is too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank igbg
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for being our guests and giving us the opportunity to be of service to you. We are delighted to read your positive review of our hotel. We are a preferred choice for business and leisure travelers and your acknowledgement of the same pleases us. It is heartening to know that you had a good time...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has Incredible staff, comfortable huge beautiful rooms, great assortment of restaurants, serving Delicious food. It's A pleasure spending my days here while during long periods while working in Kampala. Thanks guys

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Alex, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are honored that the hospitality showcased by the staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. My young team works tirelessly to ensure our guest stays’ are magical and memorable and it’s a sincere pleasure to know that we met...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst this is a solid hotel and was probably quite nice 30 to 40 years ago, it has seen its best days. The rooms are small and musty. Bathrooms are horrible, and the staff very indifferent. Breakfast was acceptable and the m als in the restaurant OK.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob_DM
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rob, Many thanks for staying with us at Speke Hotel Kampala and reviewing us on this forum. It is disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations in regard of facilities and service. We wish to assure you that what you experienced is not typical of the usual high standards that we always endeavor to deliver....

Jaipur, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in October 2016. Hotel is old building but well managed. Being a vegetarian, it is the best choice in Kampala city. You will get good Indian veg choices in breakfast . Also, there is a nice Indian restaurant named Khyber pass downstairs, which has good variety for Indian food lovers. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akhileshjoshi
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Akhilesh, Many thanks for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us in this forum. We are delighted to read your shining review of our hotel. We are a preferred choice for business and leisure travellers around the world and your acknowledgement of the same pleases us. I am happy to read that our Colonial Hotel, its...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in many different properties in my travels to Uganda and the place that I enjoyed the most is the Speke Hotel on Nile Avenue. The staff is consistently very friendly and helpful often going beyond the scope of normal duties to make life easier. The management is very easy to work with and often solicits suggestions to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TivaWater
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback and for recommending Speke Hotel! We are so pleased to note that you had an enjoyable event. Speke Hotel offers an unforgettable experience to all our guests’ .Your kind words of appreciation about our staff are very encouraging. The same has been shared...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I have been to Kampala many times, and usually stay at the Kabira Country Club. This time I moved to the Speke after 2 days. The Kabira has really gone downhill in too many ways to list here. The Speke, by contrast, although with the same ownership, has wonderful management (Mr Prabin), staff (Sharon, Barbara, Angela and co)and food. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IBscubaboy
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback and for recommending Speke Hotel! We are honored to note that you had an enjoyable event. Speke Hotel offers an unforgettable experience to all our guests’ .Your kind words of appreciation about our staff like, Prabin, Sharon, Barbara, Angela and co, chef Patrick,...

Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Restaurant at hotell serves very good pizzas when you need that reminder of the food from home. I will come back here. We lives at another place eating local foods and have no fridge so Speke restaurant fine pizzas saved the week with extra luxury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik J
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Fredrick, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are honored that the hospitality showcased by the staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. We are glad to note that you enjoyed our food (especially Pizza). Team Speke Hotel is grateful to you for your commendations and look...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
584 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#10 of 93 in Kampala
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#13 of 93 in Kampala
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kampala
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#15 of 93 in Kampala
571 reviews
9.0 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#14 of 93 in Kampala
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
Khyber Pass
Khyber Pass
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Chinese
Rock Garden Cafe
Rock Garden Cafe
Cuisines: French, Mongolian, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $132 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Speke Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Speke Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I don't believe that the are any good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Rob_DM, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Try to get room nearest to reception area on first floor to avoid noise coming from Bar”
 of 5 bubbles Akhileshjoshi, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Away from the road for less noise”
 of 5 bubbles IBscubaboy, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Not facing the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Blampied, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“best view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles ugandacarrentals2016, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay