We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speke Hotel

Save
Share
Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala 7036 Uganda
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Lol.travel
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (133)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (15)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#18 of 232 hotels in Kampala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major face-lift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television, Free Wi-Fi and a minibar. Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
409Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 144
  • 149
  • 61
  • 31
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sanjay U wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Its a Good hotel right in town and the staff and service is great rooms are quite spacious and the external balcony is lovely the rooms have tea/coffee facility and beds are comfortable The staff are polite look after guest the breakfast staff made us Indian Masala tea which was lovely
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for room 134 its spacious!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Priyank Bhargava, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Mr.Upadhyay, Greetings from Speke Hotel (1996) LTD! We as a team would like to thank you for your kind gesture and appreciation. I will share this with my team as they will be happy to hear this. We hope to see you soon again on your next visit to Uganda. Kind Regards Priyank Bhargava
Read more
diana l wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
My room was dark, damp and had a musty smell. I checked in and checked right out - i was charged for the night even though I was in my room for 15mins. The bed covers we stained and the throw over looked like it had been used since 1920. The air was thick i couldnt breathe. I was shown other rooms but they were also very dark and irie. The whole experience was like the beginning of a horror movie. To top it all off im still waiting for my refund of $150. I do not recommend this place at all unless you love colonial horror movies.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Priyank Bhargava, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded May 9, 2021
Dear Ms.Diana, Greetings of the Day! Thank you for the feedback on the hotel as we have already explained you on the email. Kindly be informed that you have booked an apartment which is far from the main building and has been clearly mentioned on our website also. We have also shown you the different category of room which you did not like.However after using the room for sometime which you did not like, you were claiming for the refund My colleague has explained you the refund policy as we have charged you for a night and refunded back your remaining $150 for which the void charge slip has been handed over to you at the reception.The bank will take their working days to refund the money in our account. We have a colonial hotel and the same has been maintained from many years to give a feel to our guest and we are proud to be a part of Speke Hotel. We appreciate your feedback which you gave taking out the time from your busy schedule and shall brief our team to work for the betterment of the hotel. Kind Regards Priyank Bhargava
Read more
Wayne wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Great place, The staff are well trained and extremely welcoming with exceptional service. Mr Priyank( General Manager) has made our stay as comfortable as can be, going above and beyond to ensure all our needs are cratered for, responding to all our request in a timely and professional manner. I will recommend this establishment to anyone. This is definitely hospitality at its finest.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
paultaylor417 wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom64 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel is secure, well-located and clean. Avoid the rooms with balconies facing the main road unless the enjoy noise and fumes from the traffic. The Rock Garden bar, which is an intrinsic part of the hotel, has good music and a fun atmosphere – especially if you enjoy the company of prostitutes. Overall it offers good value.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Priyank Bhargava, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded Apr 22, 2020
Dear Mr.Taylor, Greetings from Speke Hotel (1996) LTD ! Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit at Rock Bar and also left a positive impression on our hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of having you again in Speke Hotel on your next visit in Uganda. Kind Regards Priyank Bhargava General Manager
Read more
Joe D wrote a review Mar 2020
Bridgwater, United Kingdom139 contributions78 helpful votes
Stayed at the hotel for four nights which is situated right in the heart of the city. Kampala traffic is so bad that this hotel is ideal for walking around the city and was well looked after by wonderful staff, Breakfast is very good and the meals on the menu is very good. The restaurant meals are very good and bar also serves food 24 hours. There is a bar and sometimes have live music in the dance area.The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The room are lovely and big. A big thanks to Wilson Due to the Corona virus my holiday had to end abruptly and he was most helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 116 is spacious with a lounge
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjeev K Jaiswal, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded Apr 22, 2020
Dear Mr.Joe, Greetings from Speke Hotel (1996) LTD We appreciate receiving your feedback on your recent visit to us. We are delighted to learn that you had a good experience and left with a positive impression of our food and services. I have conveyed your compliments to Wilson, for him which is a great source of inspiration. All of us hope to continue being your preferred hotel for all your future stays and visits in Kampala. Kind Regards Priyank Bhargava General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
speke hotel kampala
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Speke Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Speke Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Budongo Forest (0.2 miles), Independence Monument (0.2 miles), and Kampala Casino (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Speke Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Speke Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Speke Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seven Seas at Sheraton Kampala, Cafe Javas, and Khyber Pass.
Does Speke Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Speke Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Speke Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Kampala.
Are any cleaning services offered at Speke Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Speke Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Speke Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kasubi Tombs (2.3 miles).