We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Chilli Hideaway

Traveler (123)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (19)
Certificate of Excellence
Overview
13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road Butabika, Kampala Uganda See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Poolside Bar
Laundry Service
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
126
189
61
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
126
189
61
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murchison falls red chili free shuttle great safari shared facilities shared bathroom hot water ensuite room day safari pizza oven rooms are basic ceiling fan poolside bar mosquito net main building swimming pool short stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

All the basics were fine: friendly staff, decent food (inc pizza), okay room, nice pool. I’d expected it to be packed with backpackers and adventure travellers sharing war stories and travel tips. In fact there was a large group of Kenyan visitors, some locals at...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank NYorkmoors
Reviewed November 30, 2018

I've been to Red Chilli a dozen or so times over the space of 3 years. I really like a lot about them - they are friendly, the food is decent value, the bar is good to hang out in and it has a nice...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank robjparkerreviews
Response from Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli HideawayResponded December 1, 2018

Dear robjparkereviews Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with the entry fee but this has been in place now for almost 3 years. Prior to this we could easily have over 100 people just hanging out at Red...More

Reviewed November 13, 2018

Returned to Kampala with my partner Anna again in June for her on-going NGO work, stayed in Red Chilli and as always, had a great, chilled stay. Obviously, we like the place or we wouldn't keep coming back ;-) I've covered all the major points...More

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Tim C
Response from Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli HideawayResponded November 21, 2018

Dear Tim C Thanks so much for the really great feedback...you guys are our perfect customers! Not everyone really understands what Red Chilli is all about but reading your review has made me feel much better because you have just described exactly what we are...More

Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

Nice terrace with ok food m, reasonable prices. Rooms ok. Don’t expect anything fancy. Booked the additional Big 5 Murchison Falls NP Safari. We Tages inside the Park. The facilities there are very basic. Staff is nice. Safari for the price ok but again you...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank schrder89
Response from Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli HideawayResponded November 21, 2018

Dear schrder89 Thanks very much for the review. We aim to provide friendly, budget accommodation and services at a good price and I am glad to hear you felt it was reasonable value. If you do want something fancy however, I suggest you check out...More

Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

As youth hostels in East-Africa go, this one is better than just ok. Mainly because of the hot showers (with some actual pressure), working toilets, friendly staff, swiming pool and free wifi. The office is run professionally, and after several visits I have never experienced...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Eivind E
Response from Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli HideawayResponded November 21, 2018

Dear Eivind E Thanks very much for taking the time to give a balanced review of Red Chilli - I am really glad to hear you enjoyed the staff, pool, wifi and bathrooms! Sorry to hear though that the restaurant messed up some of your...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Red Chilli Hideaway, Kampala Facilities: Great value accommodation: set in 5 leafy acres, in one of Kampala's quieter and safer suburbs (Butabika). We cater for self-campers and also provide dorm beds & More private rooms (with or without en-suite facilities) Check-in from 2pm onwards and check-out by 10 am. Swimming Pool: 16m salt-water swimming pool with baby pool. Free of charge for our residents! Complimentary shuttle bus: operating between Red Chilli and the centre of town. We have a 10-seater minibus that departs Butabika at 9am, 12pm and 4pm daily and terminates at the Nakumatt Oasis Shopping Mall (next to Garden City Mall) on Kitante Road. Departs town at 10.30Am, 1.30Pm and 5.30Pm, also from Nakumatt Oasis. Please book ahead at reception or by email/phone to avoid disappointment as we can only take 10 passengers on each shuttle. Please note - the driver may not deviate from the set route! Special hire taxis can be arranged on request at any time and are available on site at Butabika. Fully stocked bar: open daily from 7am until midnight, with booze for sale from 10am. Lots of communal areas to kick back and relax - including a beer terrace and a separate pool-side bar. A la carte restaurant: serving excellent breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks from 6:45am until 9.30Pm. Sunday from 6:00pm -9:00pm, is a pool-side BBQ night. Mouth-watering pizzas are baked in our wood-burning pizza oven outside Mon - Sat, from 6:00pm- 9:00pm. We can offer special rates and incentives for group meals - please contact us for further details. Our inside bar, restaurant and all accommodation areas are non-smoking, however smoking is permitted on the beer terrace and at the pool bar. FREE wireless internet access (with connections available for laptops) in our reception/internet lounge area only. Available between the hours of 7am and 11pm and subject to connection. Our systems are on a timer and will shut down automatically at approx 11pm. We also have one public internet stations and a cable connection. Please understand that the internet connection in Uganda is far from perfect, and at times is very slow and erratic! Satellite TV: Offering sports and news updates in the bar area, and a choice of viewing in the residential TV room. Look out for special movie nights! Pool table, dart board and table tennis: available in return for a small (or large!) Donation to our chosen charity: The Steve Willis Memorial Fund & a security deposit of 20,000/= for the darts, balls, cues, paddles etc. The deposit is refundable, providing the items are returned in one piece and not damaged! Self-Catering Kitchen & laundry block: located in our campsite for those who would prefer to self-cater. We have a basic camp kitchen, equipped with sink, cooker, fridge & external barbecues and picnic tables - but please note, we do not provide cutlery and crockery. You must provide your own cooking utensils. Separate laundry room available next door. Library: We have a small library and welcome book swaps in return for a small donation to the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please ask at reception/bar. Board games: we have a small selection for use, free of charge, from behind the bar. Laundry: A hand-wash laundry service is available for residents for a small charge or there is a designated self-catering laundry block. Please ask at reception/bar for more details. No underwear, shoes or totally filthy clothing to be handed in to be washed! We cannot guarantee that the laundry will be dry on the same day, due to weather conditions. Please note that if you hand in white clothing, it will definitely be returned to you cleaner, but we cannot guarantee it will be whiter! Office Facility: we offer printing, scanning & photocopying facilities in the administration office for a donation to our charity- the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please note the office may not always be open - either outside of office hours or when we are out receiving deliveries etc. Just ask at the bar if the door's closed! Consumables: for sale at the bar, including cigarettes, snacks and drinks. We also sell shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste and brushes, mozzie spray, postcards, stamps and other useful items at reception. For more choice, you will find several shops, markets & restaurants located within a short walking distance from Red Chilli Hideaway. Back-up generator and inverter: these keep things ticking over when the power fails, as it so often does in Uganda! When we are running on inverter or generator, please note only the lights are connected to the back-up power supply; plug sockets and fans in the rooms and bar area are not. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Shuttle Bus Service
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
36
Price range
$5 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Red Chilli Hideaway Hotel Kampala
Location
Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
36
Price range
$5 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Red Chilli Hideaway Hotel Kampala
Location
Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Photos
Traveler (123)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (19)
Dining (8)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 123 nearby hotels
Premiere Boutique Hotel
21 reviews
1.39 miles away
Hotel Duomo
14 reviews
2.02 miles away
Sports View Hotel
11 reviews
2.27 miles away
Ridar Hotel
20 reviews
2.35 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 359 nearby restaurants
Ashiana Restaurant
62 reviews
2.84 miles away
Dancing Cup
84 reviews
3.17 miles away
Java House
81 reviews
3.11 miles away
Jazzville
33 reviews
2.98 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 436 nearby attractions
Watalii Safaris
6 reviews
1.58 miles away
Upper Nile Safaris
5 reviews
1.09 miles away
Kjong Uganda Safaris
69 reviews
1.28 miles away
Chigo Tours Africa
11 reviews
2.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ExploringKiwisNZ
March 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Debbie W | Property representative |
Dear SarahChan I am so sorry for the huge delay in replying to this question but I never received a notification from Trip Advisor about it! If you are booked on one of our Murchison or QE safaris, we provide a free nights... More
0
Votes
Taani312
June 16, 2015|
Answer
Response from Debbie W | Property representative |
Hi Taani312! Thanks for the message. We provide a laundry service and we also have a laundry area if you prefer to do your own, but we don't have driers so drying time depends on the weather. Usually dry within the day... More
0
Votes
Mimi C
June 6, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Debbie W | Property representative |
Hi Mimi C Entebbe airport/town is around 50km from our place in Kampala. The journey can take anything from one hour to three, depending on time of arrival and city traffic. If you don't fancy public transport you can... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"some rooms is better whit shower and toilet."
649ingemarl
Apr 13, 2018
Read review
"Pay the extra for a private ensuite room. It's worth it."
echo10
Feb 5, 2018
Read review
"En-suite private rooms at the end of the building nearest the pool have verandas/balconies and are a great..."
6f00t5
Nov 2, 2017
Read review
"Good to overlook the garden and swimming pool....."
517janeg
Mar 7, 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing