We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20 Barracks Drive Nsambya, Kampala Uganda
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$189
View deal
Booking.com
$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$175
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/22
Hotels.com$189
Travelocity
Priceline$195
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (149)
Dining (68)
Videos (1)

About

#9 of 279 hotels in Kampala
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Méstil Hotel & Residences is an idyllic home away from the hustle and bustle, located close to Kampala City Centre. With a Mediterranean theme that extends from the outside-in. Méstil creates a sense of place that is serene, luxurious with attention to detail immersed in Deluxe Authenticity, Natural, Earthy Warm Colors and Tones. Méstil offers a large choice Spacious fully furnished luxurious rooms and suites bathed in natural light. The Rooms showcase the ever evolving, vibrant and distinctly urban vibe of Kampala city. The contemporary interior design, in-room facilities and luxury amenities provide the highest level of comfort. Our guests have a choice to Indulge in 23 beautifully appointed Executive Rooms, 27 Luxury One Bedroom Suites, 42 Grande Two Bedroom Suites and 6 Magnificent Three Bedroom Luxury Penthouses Inspired by Contemporary Art and a dose of Urban Elegance, very ideal for today's traveler! We are also committed to making it easy for guests to maintain their lifestyle and remain revitalized for whatever the day may bring with state-of-the art fitness facilities and experienced personal trainers. The Sanaar Spa & Health Club offers sweeping views over downtown Kampala and unlimited access to an extensive range of the latest cardiovascular and resistance equipment from Technogym. A qualified personal trainer is always on hand to guide and ensure the most effective and productive training as possible. After your workout, relax and unwind in our Turkish steam room (Hamam) and soothing sauna or cool off with a swim in our outdoor lap pool with Turquoise Waters. The Sanaar Spa offers the best in class Massage treatments that will leave you all revitalized.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
150Reviews4Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 29
  • 6
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
rontings wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom58 contributions22 helpful votes
Five of us family members were in two apartments for a week and had a wonderful time. It was my wife's milestone birthday and on the Saturday we had a glorious party for her at the adjoining Kyoga Hall. Tables were beautifully laid out, decorated and the buffet food first class. We had traditional dancers put on a fantastic show and DJ kept us entertained after. Staying at Mestil resort was a pleasure for all. I used the excellent gym every morning before a big, hearty breakfast from a huge buffet. Superb Wi-Fi for me to do work on my laptop, nice swimming pool and the couple of dinners we had there were fine. Surprised that there was no local hot pepper sauce available though because Ugandan food, surprisingly, tends to be bland. The apartments are glorious; modern, clean, spacious and airy. Even the communal toilets smell nice! Lots of fabulous weddings and dignitary types. Overall, a nice mix of business and vacationing guests. Pleasant, helpfui staff. Absolutely brilliant stay. Didn't want to leave and can't wait to return. Thanks again Mestil.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rontings Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us, we value your opinion, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We read the guest feedback and comment cards every day and the Méstil Hotels team believes that our guest satisfaction is the true measure of our performance. So guaranteed, the content is noted, and we will be sure to let our associates know that they are doing a sterling job. We hope to see you again soon again. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MuthoniG wrote a review May 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom10 contributions
+1
Hotel's Favorite
With a 4+ week stay, I had a great experience living at Méstil. The staff members are committed to providing a lovely experience to guests and are quite professional too. The gardens are perfectly manicured, lush green and beautiful with various flowers. Méstil is one of the best hotels in Kampala offering a well thought out guest experience. I had the privilege of staying at one of their executive rooms for a short while and enjoyed my experience. The house keeping staff are meticulous at providing a clean and insect free living space. They are quick to answer calls at any time and provide solutions quickly. They have a lovely turn down experience in the evenings that ensures a great transition to the night time that sets one into relaxation mode and a great night sleep. The staff are kind and chat with their guests. I enjoyed small chats with Linda who took time to ensure I was well settled. I cannot remember all the other house keeping staff who ensured I wasn't feeling lonely and offered a smile or a small chat. Your service is highly appreciated. The executive rooms are fitted with lovely furniture, an office area, a cooking station, fridge, microwave and hot water kettle in case one would like to use make their own meals. I highly recommend them for short term stay. For long term stay, their 1, 2 and 3 bedroom residence are the closest experience to home I have had. Beginning with a lovely concierge staff to welcome you to the building and serve as security, the apartments are private residences with great space. They have a kitchen area, separate closet space, living room area, dining area, bedroom fitted with a TV and full bathroom. The reception staff are a quite exceptional at providing resources for guests to enjoy their experience and are always available to answer questions. I was particularly impressed by their meal preparation, freshness of food and a great restaurant ambience for both relaxing lunches and dinner. Their breakfast food variety is wide with several stations not limited to salad station, pastry, fruits, cheese and nuts, egg station and food for varied tastes. I never felt like I ran out of food options and always enjoyed my breakfast. It was interesting to see the staff proactively seek feedback to ensure guest satisfaction. Kudos for that. The Times bar was an all time favourite especially on Friday evening for an after work happy hour with great service and music from the DJ. The gym is well equiped and with lovely instructors for every need. The pool is well maintained and the spa staff are welcoming. The laundry services are great and timely. I was particularly impressed when I requested for express laundry services and received my clothes after an hour. Jimmy had sacrificed an hour of his time to dedicate to my request which ideally would have taken a few hours or process. That's the commitment to staff satisfaction that made me feel at home. I may not document all the lovely experiences that I had at Méstil here but I can assure you that the brand is well thought out and the guest experience is lovely. I highly recommend the hotel for both short term and long term stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Najjuko, Guest Services / Front Office at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Muthoni, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was truly a pleasure having you with us. We will most definitely let all the mentioned associates know . We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ephraim O wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The suite I spent the night in is excellently built. The room service was at its best and its a place worth spending time in. If you are in Uganda and looking for a lovely place to stay in, Mestil is that place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Najjuko, Guest Services / Front Office at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Dear Opolote, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was truly a pleasure having you with us. We will most definitely let all the mentioned associates know . We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prosscovia N wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The ambiance is very nice… loved the quite news. The challenge was in the service in the restaurant. We were assigned a waiter “Salama” she was very impatient, unprofessional and as such she ended up mixing bills and very forgetful which delayed and frustrated us. She actually mixed up our bills and insisted we sort it ourselves to ease work for accounts. The insisting was the most frustrating part but besides that the restaurant serenity is very heart warming
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Najjuko, Guest Services / Front Office at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Proscovia, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel. It is very unfortunate that you had a rather un pleasant experience with us, we will surely work on our shortfalls to enable you have a better experience in future as you are our main priority. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nina wrote a review May 2022
16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Hi very much my favourite People at Mestil. I am still at awe because of the services I received and the experience I had when I stayed with you guys for about 8 weeks. Before coming there I knew I'd love the establishment but I didn't think I'd have that much fun. Lemme highlight some of my favourite things that I experienced.  ●The rooms were so clean it's unrealistic how high the cleanliness standards area. In housekeeping I wanna recognise all the staff who ensured I lacked anything. My favourite girl LINDA, I appreciate you so much. I really im enjoying all the extra chocolates you used to hide in my room. I'm enjoying them in the comfort of my house as i type this. I never had a bad experience with house keeping so Kudos! ●CHRIS!!!! My guy! You literally are my movement around the establishment Juat smooth. Chris wouldn't let me walk if the cart was there and for someone lazy and who doesn't like getting tired, oh I clung to him like no one's business.. You are so professional and I'm so excited for what the future has in store for you. ●BOB!!!! What a breath if fresh air. You ensure that guests getting calm responses to any issues. Your demeanor is just commendable. ●ANNE!!! A familiar face whenever I came back from work. Thank you for everything you did and all the calls you picked when I called late at night. ● SALAMA!!!! Wow. I absolutely loved coming to breakfast on the days you were in. Salama will give you the world if it happens it's hidden somewhere in the kitchen. Salama you never get tired of serving. You are perfect for the service industry. ●NASSER!!!! Kudos!!!!!!!!! So professional and respectful to clients. ●RINAH/NIVIA/STELLA/ - What is that Sanaar Spa without you guys. One of the best treatments I've ever gotten. You ensure the space is clean and smells so beautiful! ●THE TWO IT GUYS!!!! There is no day I saw yall and I failed to laugh! Ensured any IT issues were addressed. ● TIMES BAR!!!!- ouh the Vibes🤌🤌🤌🤌.  No dull moment!!!!!!! And the cocktails will take you to Christ. They are that GOOD! To anyone I've left behind, please know that your hard work didn't go unnoticed. You ensured the place felt like Home. Any good place obviously has small issues that need to be improved on. So here goes: ●Breakfast- please, correct this. Its so vague and Repetitive. How can people have liver daily.  I could easily know what to expect even before stepping inside the Breakfast area. My colleagues and I stopped coming for Breakfast because it was frustrating. ●Breakfast area again.....why are you handing someone the receipt to sign before they even get their Breakfast? Absolutely unprofessional. ● For the guests that leave for work early, people could easily leave food because of the slow service. ● Rooms- please fix the AC issue. Why is the AC switching off every 30 minutes? Kampala is too humid to sleep with no AC. We were forced to sleep with the Back door open. The door at the balcony that is. Other than that,phenomal place. Kudos to the Two Kenyan Managers btw, Great Job! 9/10 would recommend!!!! I'll see yall soon!!!! 
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The Road to Mestil is being constructed, plan your time accordingly.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded May 24, 2022
Dear Faceofnina, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was truly a pleasure having you with us. We will most definitely let all the mentioned associates know and also work on the few issues mentioned. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John2728 wrote a review May 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia156 contributions67 helpful votes
I stayed at the Mestil Hotel for a week on a business trip. Overall the room, property and staff were much better than I expected. My room was large with a king sized bed, working desk area, kitchenette, fully bathroom with walk-in shower, and amply soft towels. The bed was comfy, and within a short time, the air conditioning cooled the room. I never really used the kitchen (stove, microwave, fridge) except to chill water bottles. The desk was perfect for working on my laptop (good wifi in my room). My room on the 2nd floor faced the 1st floor conference room, so whenever there was a celebratory banquet/wedding reception, I could literally feel the music in my room. I really wanted to join the party! Thankfully things got quiet around 10pm if not sooner. I slept like a baby each night. :-) I ate breakfast each day at the very nice buffet downstairs. Made to order eggs, breakfast meats, fruit, cereals, juices...so delicious. And fresh coffee or tea, too. We also ate lunch once or twice....the salads were good, and I loved my club sandwich with fries (chips). Dinner was also very nice....chicken curry one night, and pasta alfredo another night. Be patient...sometimes the entrees take a while to be served. 1 tiny complaint: pepper mills never seemed to be full of peppercorns; servers would bring me another empty pepper mill. I got coffee from the lobby cafe twice: the Americano was served in the largest cup I've ever used! One afternoon we finished our day at the pool (again good wifi) and concluding work, I jumped in the pool (chilly water, but refreshing). Was nice to have a beer sitting poolside. (The generator nearby is rather loud). All members of the staff were incredible attentive and friendly. I very much enjoyed my stay at Mestil, will definitely be back, and recommend it highly for travelers and those needing a conference room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: As for a room that does not face the main entranceway/front door.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear John, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was truly a pleasure having you with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emanuliona wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I don't regret for any service during my three nights stay, the room was clean throughout, yummy meals and the environment was real good, my best experience was at the steam, it was never congested it's attendant was hospital, junior is indeed an hotelier, he always cared for me, and really I felt at home, keep it up guys, thanks
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Dear Emanuliona, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mahmood A wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I was pleased with the location, such a great place to be. The service at the hotel was exceptional. The rooms clean and comfortable. Overall my stay at the hotel went great and my palate was satisfied especially by the breakfast offering. Thanks, definitely worth recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded Mar 28, 2022
Dear Mahmood, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your feedback We hope to see you again soon. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathaniel D wrote a review Feb 2022
Entebbe, Uganda36 contributions7 helpful votes
I live in Uganda, and I have to say that this location is so convenient--to downtown, to the USA embassy, to Arena Mall (which is next door!), multiple restaurants, etc. Tastefully appointed, beautiful setting--and just plain comfortable! We had a huge one-bedroom suite with kitchen. (NB there are no pans or coffeemaker--and limited dishes [no bowls, for example], but a large fridge and freezer, and a microwave.) It was really nice that the bedroom and sitting room each had their own, separate a/c controls, and the additional half-bath off the sitting room was appreciated since we were two people. The restaurant seemed to be primarily buffet (but I might be wrong about that), so we did room service three times a day, and were very happy. Breakfast portions are HUGE--like literally enough for three people. The cheesecake is amazing. Try it! And on weekends, they even have a bouncy castle for kids! (If you're not traveling with kids, you might want to request a room away from that play area.) No need to carry all your luggage into the lobby until you learn where your room is. You're likely to be in another building. They have nice golf-carts to assist you. Pool isn't really open and clean until nearly 10am, so plan accordingly if you're used to a morning swim for working out. Great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: If you don't have kids, ask for a room away from bouncy castle.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded Feb 13, 2022
Dear Natheniel, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We will work on the areas that need to be tightened for a better guest experience. Thank you for your feedback We hope to see you again soon. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
The Mestil is a great Hotel with a world class ambience comparable and better than any. The rooms are very large, airy, well serviced with excellent safety features. Service was excellent and their Amber Restaurant, top-tier. We had the gym and spa to ourselves and it was an awesome place. The staff seem well taken care of and certainly show it by taking their work serious. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Traveling to the hotel can be tough at peak hours. The Arena Mall is a new and large shopping...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mestil Hotel & Residences
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear Daniel, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mestil Hotel & Residences
Which popular attractions are close to Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Nearby attractions include Gorilla Bookings (0.6 miles), Budongo Forest (0.6 miles), and Temple SSDM Shree Sanatan Dharma Mandal (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Javas, Haandi Kampala Ltd (Restaurant), and Cafe Pap.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Mestil Hotel & Residences have airport transportation?
Yes, Mestil Hotel & Residences offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mestil Hotel & Residences located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Kampala.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mestil Hotel & Residences?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mestil Hotel & Residences offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.