We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Demeure

Route de ngor Almadies, Dakar 30000 Senegal
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (83)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (8)


#11 of 80 hotels in Dakar
Nested in the heart of the Almadies in Dakar, Senegal, an up-scale and quiet neighbourhood where life is enjoyable, this charming bed & breakfast offers an intimate and warm surrounding and a sophisticated and relaxed atmosphere. La Demeure is the ideal solution to those who look for a breath of authenticity associated with a flawless comfort, far from the standardized hotel business.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
176Reviews1Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 117
  • 39
  • 13
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Business Traveler wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice place however a bit very basic on room with service not at the best. Could work for other categories of guests i.e. leisure backpacking. As I didn't find what I was looking for in business, I checked out to another hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Adventure820165 wrote a review Mar 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania14 contributions4 helpful votes
This hotel is in Les Almadies on a quiet street just off the main thoroughfare. The rooms were cute and comfortable, the staff kind and helpful, and overall a nice place to chill for a day or two. two thumbs up!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Mary M wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions
We stayed here for a handful of nights and left feeling mixed. Overall, it’s fine but seems overpriced and quite overrated, at least on trip advisor. The rooms are very simple, the bathrooms extremely plain and lacking some basic amenities I would expect at this price point. The room was dark and the lamps by the bed and couch were broken. There was blood on the mosquito netting. It’s also worth noting that there are many stairs and no elevator. The breakfast was modest but fine, but during our visit the onsite restaurant was closed, meaning that if you arrived late and wanted a quick bite you either had to get back in a cab or order some pretty gross takeout. The pool is small and unappealing. The staff was generally friendly but only one person speaks English, and this was a challenge. We were also surprised that they never offered to help us hail cabs and instead literally sat watching. As a whole, we thought it was ok- the rooftop is pleasant and the hotel felt fairly quiet and safe, but otherwise we were disappointed and chose to stay elsewhere for our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Renee Richard wrote a review Jul 2019
Oakland, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked 5 rooms at La Demeure this past June. I took my young Cinnamongirls to Dakar. I knew culturally it would be different and needed the hotel to be as comfortable as possible. We received this at La Demeure and so much more. The most important feature I want to point out is their attention to service. They did a phenomenal job making sure we were comfortable and all of our needs met. My girls were probably a bit demanding, but the staff was so accommodating and kind. They seemed to be available till the wee morning hours as I know that I called the night attendant a few times not knowing how to work my AC or needing an extra blanket—by the way, the AC works really well.  Another aspect I want to mention, the hotel pictures do not do it justice. The property is much nicer than what's captured on the website and travel sites. It’s filled with beautiful art, has lots of nice spaces you can sit and talk, and it’s in an area that is considered one of the premier areas to stay in Dakar. I was reluctant to order breakfast for my group as I wanted to take in the nearby restaurants and eateries. By day 3 of our 10-day trip, we didn’t find a lot of great restaurants within walking distance. We then ordered breakfast daily, and this gave us peace of mind that we would have a good start with fresh eggs, croissants, and juice. I wished we'd done the same for dinner as many days we'd return late in the evening, hungry and not finding a decent restaurant. We finally ordered dinner. It was so delicious, and so worth it. I wish we’d pre-ordered more dinners and will definitely do so during future stays. Finally, we weren’t nickeled and dimed. Everything was very reasonable. The billing was easy, clear and even though they didn’t take American Express, I didn’t mind because they didn’t have crazy resort fees or extra taxes that make you wonder what you’re paying for. The people worked so hard that we wanted to tip them a lot, and we did. Their staff deserved it. But one thing I want to slip in. There weren’t shower curtains. It was okay, but the water seemed to go all over the place. I used a few extra towels, but hey 'when in Rome, you do as the Romans.' If they didn’t mind the extra water that needed to be cleaned up neither did we. La Demeure, you were the best. Thank you for making us feel so welcomed and comfortable and for giving us an experience we will never forget. Cinnamongirl Inc., Oakland CA
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The pictures don't do it justice. It's a nice hotel and the art is what separates this...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
sumanaXYZ wrote a review Apr 2019
London47 contributions21 helpful votes
The hotel is decorated with great attention to detail and feels much nicer than a standard business hotel. However, there is minimal staff around esp. in the evening, and they provide help if you ask a question but nothing more than that. Breakfast on the roof terrace is great - be ready to do some stair climbing! Location is reasonably good - near quite a few bars and restaurants, but a bit far from Plateau area if you plan to go there. The facilities really need upgrading - wifi is weak, the hot water in the shower is unpredictable, our room wasn't particularly clean when we checked in. The room rate we got was just over USD 110 per night for two people, and that seems poor value for money for the level of service and facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from SENEGANNE, Propriétaire at La Demeure
Responded Dec 19, 2019
Hi thank sometimes for the advice I would like to precise 2 points we are in Africa Senegal and sometimes the supplier cut the water we never know why but every hotels have the same problem About the Wi-Fi it s the same sometimes the provider is very low we not have the same service as in Europe we are in an emerging country . My best I hope to see you again
Read more
$95 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
SenegalDakar RegionDakar
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Demeure
Which popular attractions are close to La Demeure?
Nearby attractions include Ngor Island (0.2 miles), Loman Art House - Art Gallery (0.7 miles), and Senegal Tourist Guide (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Demeure?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at La Demeure?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Demeure?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Demeure?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Demeure?
Conveniently located restaurants include Francesca Home Ristorante Italiano, La Calebasse, and Alkimia Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Demeure?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does La Demeure have airport transportation?
Yes, La Demeure offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at La Demeure?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does La Demeure offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Demeure?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.