We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
KN 3 Ave, Kigali Rwanda
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$271
View deal
Expedia.com
$271
View deal
Agoda.com
Only 4 left at
$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/22
KigaliSerena Hotel$262
Travelocity$271
ZenHotels.com$280
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (462)
Room & Suite (150)
Dining (69)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 145 hotels in Kigali
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Situated in Central Kigali, the ambassadorial and commercial heart of Rwanda, and the city's pre-eminent meeting place for diplomats and businessmen. Relaxed yet elegant, the hotel features an executive lounge and Bar and one of the city's most popular venues, the Milimani Restaurant styled to offer a classically elegant interior and a light filled atrium overlooking the verdant tropical gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
933Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 513
  • 317
  • 70
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sharon L wrote a review Oct 2022
Canada91 contributions84 helpful votes
No hot water. Air conditioning doesn’t work. 1 pair of slippers for 2 guests. Mold in the shower. Coffee maker reservoir has mold. Very old and tired looking decor. Called 40 minutes ago for air conditioning and we are still waiting. Marriott 1 block away appears to be much better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sharon L, Thank you for taking time to review our property and I would like to apologize for Kigali Serena Hotel not "living up" to the Serena brand promise. We have noted all areas of shortfalls highlighted in your review and you can rest assured that every effort will be made to institute necessary remedial measures. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that you will afford us another opportunity to host you. Warm Regards Daniel Sambai General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ReshmaAzizKhan wrote a review Sep 2022
Nairobi, Kenya203 contributions60 helpful votes
Knowing the reputation of Serena hotels, I expected more in terms of cleanliness of the rooms - I found chewing gum on the bathroom floor under the foot rug. The AC was quite dusty and seemed to be not cleaned regularly. Apart from this, food was great and staff were very polite!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear Reshma Aziz Khan, Thank you for taking time to review our property and we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your compliments on our amazing staff and great food and have also noted your comments with regards to the cleanliness of the room which will be rectified with immediate effect. We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon. Warm Regards Daniel Sambai General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ralph D wrote a review Sep 2022
Calgary, Canada308 contributions87 helpful votes
Each time I travel to Rwanda I make sure to stop in at the Serena. Excellence at every direction. Great and friendly staff, beautiful environment, wonderful poolside atmosphere, and great food. The total package and a nice 5 star experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view. Make sure to eat at the Mongolian grill night or at the buffet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear Ralph D, Thank you for taking the time to share your glowing review of our property. We are delighted to know our tailored hospitality and service made your stay with us memorable. We appreciate your compliments on the service levels, serenity, great food and courteous staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon to your "home away from home" Warm Regards Daniel Sambai General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Umugenzi wrote a review Sep 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom6 contributions
I visited the hotel with a friend for lunch, i ordered a caesar salad which was terrific, came soaked in a citrus dressing, got changed but the lettuce looked really old… def not something to order from there. Although the customer service was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear Umugenzi, Thank you for taking time to share a review on our property. I would like to apologize for the quality of the Ceaser salad that you were served which is not representative of the high food standards we are renown for! We shared your review with our chef and his culinary team and they instituted remedial measures and re-trained the team on this menu item. We appreciate your compliments on the service levels and look forward to welcoming you back for a better meal experience. Warm Regards Daniel Sambai General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maya K wrote a review Aug 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka213 contributions66 helpful votes
The hotel was very nice but pretty dated. That being said, it probably is one of the nicer hotels in Kigali for the range. The staff are okay, though I felt they could be more warm and hospitable comparatively. Seems to be a popular place for locals and expats. It is located in a very nice neighborhood and is a good one or two night stay for Kigali.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear Maya K, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your compliments on our location and hotel in general. We have noted your comments about the appointment of the rooms and we will take them into consideration during the planned refurbishment of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again. Kind Regards Daniel Sambai General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh P. wrote a review Aug 2022
Kampala, Uganda187 contributions78 helpful votes
+1
In the mornings the shower is #Uncontrollable. One minute the water is too hot, the next minute it’s too cold. The rooms are decorated decently, the staff is mostly helpful. But!!! The prices charged for food is exorbitant, with much newer lower priced facilities nearby like the Marriott and the Sheraton Four Points. Both offer more modern better quality accommodation at a much better value!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Take a shower in the gym/spa if the water in your room runs hot and cold cyclically like mine...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for Kigali Serena Hotel not "living-up" to the Serena brand promise and are truly disappointed to hear about your experience during your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback because it is only through the lens of our guests that we are able to critique and further improve the overall guest experience. We appreciate your compliments on the rooms and staff and we will take your concerns about food prices into consideration. We have since sorted out the water issue and it is working perfectly now! Thank you once again and we sincerely hope you afford us another opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate the level of service we enjoy delivering to our guests. Kind Regards Daniel Sambai
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josh wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Terrible. We showed up and they didn’t have the room type that we reserved. Then they put us in rooms that turned out to be right on top of the gym, where they blast loud music starting at 5am. And no one could figure out how to turn it off. Also, the room service food is terrible. Don’t stay here if you want a good night’s sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for Kigali Serena Hotel not "living-up" to the Serena brand promise and are truly disappointed to hear about your experience during your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback because it is only through the lens of our guests that we are able to critique and further improve the overall guest experience. Our gym usually opens at 6:00am but following your review, we have since set a policy to ensure that the music in the gym is switched off until 8:00hrs to ensure that it doesn't inconvenience any other guests. Thank you once again and we sincerely hope you afford us another opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate the level of service we enjoy delivering to our guests. Kind Regards Daniel Sambai
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Khoiti wrote a review Jun 2022
Maseru, Lesotho208 contributions53 helpful votes
This classic East African hotel still keeps traditional first class service. The suite was spacious but somewhat dated even after being refurbished to modernize it. The room service menu presented too few choices. However their fruit platters never disappointed. Services were as expected for a 5-star offering.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Sambai, General Manager at Kigali Serena Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear Khoiti, Thank you for taking time to share a review of our hotel following you recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your compliments on our first class service, fruit platter and spacious rooms. We have noted your comment with regards to the room service menu and have shared it with the Chef and Food and Beverage team so that they can review and resolve the issue. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to hosting you again. Warm Regards Daniel Sambai General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda463 contributions123 helpful votes
The Kigali Serena Hotel experience was excellent from start to finish. We had a professional, friendly welcome upon arrival. Registration was swift and I has taken to my room within minutes. It was a real treat to run a hot bath! On the first morning, I had a lazy breakfast in my room while I worked. Internet worked well. I had an early morning swim on my second day, followed by breakfast on the terrace. (It's impossible to not overeat at the Serena's incredible breakfast buffet!) The Maisha Spa offers a variety of massages and facials using the gorgeous Elemis products (the same ones that are provided in the rooms). I regret not making time to use the spa on this occasion... so I mention it as a reminder to future guests to give it a try. I have used Serena's Maisha Spas in Uganda and Kenya and been very impressed. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for another great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Zabubu wrote a review Apr 2022
Cape Town20 contributions13 helpful votes
It is sad to see a once glorious hotel deteriorating as quickly as the Kigali Serena seems to be. Service is slow and at many times uninteresting in the guest. As an example the breakfast host who was more interested in her phone and viewing video clips whilst on duty, than actually attending to the guests. The product itself is getting very old and tired, and in dire need of a much needed renovation. Rooms are spacious but poorly maintained and serviced. No coffee in the room despite there being an Nespresso machine, and many sachets of milk powder and tea yet nothing to make one a cup of coffee in the morning. Perhaps the most disappointing experience was the lack of hot water both in the evening and in the morning, just a tepid stream of water which is very very poor for a 5 star hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RwandaKigali ProvinceKigali
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KIGALI SERENA HOTEL $148 ($̶2̶8̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Rwanda

Frequently Asked Questions about Kigali Serena Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kigali Serena Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Camp Kigali Memorial (0.2 miles), Go Kigali Boutique (0.2 miles), and Inzuki Designs (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kigali Serena Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kigali Serena Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kigali Serena Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kigali Serena Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kigali Serena Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cucina Restaurant, Iriba Bar and Terrace, and New Cactus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kigali Serena Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Kigali Serena Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Kigali Serena Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Kigali Serena Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Kigali.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kigali Serena Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kigali Serena Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.