We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Gorillas City Center

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Gorillas City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

As in my previous review the hotel is still overall very nice. Rooms are comfortable and very clean and the staff is friendly, accommodating and makes you feel like you are at home. Nice touch with the buffet breakfast that is not luxurious, but has more than enough for a hearty breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Aristides K
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Kigali is beautiful and this is fairly priced with a bar and security who is very aware and also very sweet. The staff was welcoming and the room was clean. I also enjoyed eating dinner right at the hotel. While in Kigali I had a chance to visit the Kigali Genocide Memorial, which is close by and a must see.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Amber D
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Gorillas Hotels and taking time to review us. We appreciate feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and cannot wait to host you on your next trip to Rwanda. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

I stayed earlier another hotel and enjoyed Kigali. When I entered hotel, felt nice about entrance, but rooms are not nice at all. very pathetic service, asked to fix broken phone nothing done. Also lot of mosquitoes no repellent in rooms. No hair dryer, no Iron board. It's simply lacking facilities required for business traveler.

Helpful?
3 Thank Malgudiboy
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We welcome feedback as it helps us to improve service delivery. I am sorry to hear that you didn't not enjoy your stay. However, Hair dryers , mosquito repellents and Ironing Boards are provided once a guests requests for them.Thank you. More 

Travelers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is nice and in a good location in the city centre. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are not very spacious or have amenities, but are clean and nicely kept. Restaurant is good and the food is worth trying

Helpful?
Thank Aristides K
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to say at our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to hosting you again soon. More 

Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

I enjoyed my week stay at Gorilla Hotel Particularly the friendly atmosphere from the employees. I was at first grumpy when I learnt that I would be staying there instead of Serena, but gosh I do not regret. The food is basic and healthy, and the rooms are clean and smell well. Perhaps improvements should be made on Internet at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Labane M
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Labane, Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all was pleasant. However, Management is working round the clock with our Internet Service provider in order to secure better internet speeds and connectivity. We are looking forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Rwanda. More 

Mombasa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

I had booked this hotel for my last night in Kigali. For the price I paid the value was not to bad, but nothing great as well. Check in was fast, he had my booking and i had a special request, which was also looked after. I ordered early Breakfast, and it was ready when I arrived for it.

Helpful?
Thank slofty
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate feedback and always ensure we make your stay pleasant within our means More 

New Plymouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This place has good staff - although only one has fluent English. The rest do their best, but are often utterly bewildered by the ways of the Anglophone world. Do remember, that until 2009, Rwanda was Francophone, but that year President Kagame announced that everyone was to learn English, and that despite never being part of the British Empire, Rwanda... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cdn-npl
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had made a booking over the phone and arrived tired at 11pm to be told that the price agreed wasn't enough and whoever agreed to that was wrong, despite that being the price online. 20 minutes of debate later, we almost walked but had nowhere to go. Eventually the receptionist relented. The room was nice and clean with good... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank goodthickskirt
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having stayed in a few hotels in Kigali I must say the this was by far the wort of the bunch. The service at the restaurant was slow and the rooms were mediocre at best. While most things in Kigali are very clean I can say the Gorillas was not up to the standard.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole I
Manchester U.K.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Good location - just a short walk into city centre. Lovely bar area and restaurant. I stayed in a room on the first floor. It was very noisy as you could hear all the traffic on the nearby stairs. there are planty of better and cheaper options nearby.

Helpful?
1 Thank RBManchester
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
5.4 mi away
Gorillas Golf Hotel
Gorillas Golf Hotel
#19 of 43 in Kigali
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
5.7 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#9 of 43 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
4.3 mi away
CityBlue Hotel & Suites, Embassy Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Iris Guesthouse
Iris Guesthouse
#10 of 43 in Kigali
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
5.2 mi away
Top Tower Hotel Kigali
Top Tower Hotel Kigali
#31 of 43 in Kigali
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nobleza Hotel
Nobleza Hotel
#14 of 43 in Kigali
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Gorillas City Center

Address: Rue des Parcs | Kiyovo, Kigali 1782, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Price Range: $97 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorillas City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gorillas City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorillas Hotel Kigali
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay