We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umubano Hotel

Traveler (69)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

#43 of 74 hotels in Kigali
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Marasa Umubano Hotel is a 4 star hotel located 5 km from the centre of Kigali atop one of the many hills that make up the city. For business travellers we offer the convenience of four meeting rooms, Free WiFi internet and a business centre. The hotel also features a bar and restaurant, various leisure facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, fitness, aerobics, sauna and tennis court.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
130Reviews
1Q+A
53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2
  • 39
  • 59
  • 17
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Umubano is a historically important hotel in Kigali and central africa however it had been neglected a bit. Refurbishment was long overdue and to started in earnest while I was there. The service was also well below standard. The food was good ala carte but the buffet had good days and bad days. I hope when the refurbishment is complete that Umubano will return to its historically high standards...
Read more
Response from GeneralM297, General Manager at Umubano Hotel
Responded Apr 15, 2019
Dear Guest, We appreciate and are grateful for the choice you made to stay with us. All is put under consideration and management will look into it. Hope to see you soon . Best regards, Marc Gustave PETERS General Manager
Read more
This hotel is located near almost all government offices. Also it is a walk-in distance near the first modern mall in Kigali. The service was one of the best and I was severed all I needed for my business trip.
Read more
Response from GeneralM297, General Manager at Umubano Hotel
Responded Apr 15, 2019
Dear Samir, We appreciate and are grateful for the choice you made to stay with us . Hope to see you soon . Best regards, Marc Gustave PETERS General Manager
Read more
I was a first time visitor to Rwanda and found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities are dated but clean. They are in the process of renovating some spaces. The atmosphere at the restaurant was relaxing and eating breakfast outside was a great way to start each day. While I did not use the pool, it looked well maintained and there were several lounge chairs available for relaxing. I would stay here again and found it to be reasonably priced.
Read more
Response from GeneralM297, General Manager at Umubano Hotel
Responded Feb 19, 2019
Dear Michele, We appreciate and are grateful for the choice you made to stay with us . Hope to see you soon . Best regards, Marc Peters General Manager
Read more
I stayed at this hotel because of a conference. The rooms and bathroom are quite dated and it looks like they haven't remodeled in decades, but the rooms are pretty large. I wouldn't come here again for the rooms, but the breakfast is amazing. It comes with the room rate and the spread is great. Lots of hot dishes plus lots of pastries, fruit, delicious coffee and tea. A couple of the days that I stayed there, vendors set up in the lobby selling their goods. It's nice to grab a couple of souvenirs without having to venture out.
Read more
Response from GeneralM297, General Manager at Umubano Hotel
Responded Feb 6, 2019
Dear Client, Your stay with us was our pleasure. For all that didn't go well during your stay is noted according to your remarks. All is put under consideration and management will look into it. Best regards. Marc Peters Gustave General Manager
Read more
I booked to stay here because i was attending a meeting in their conference room. First I was put right above where some drilling work was ongoing and i requested to be transferred. They did to the other end of the hotel - but it was clear why they are undergoing renovations. The rooms are rather run down, musty and could really do with that renovation. I checked out the next day. But let me say that all was not bad. The food was good, service was friendly and they do have lovely grounds. The bakery at the reception is extremely tempting and i did manage to resist.
Read more
Response from GeneralM297, General Manager at Umubano Hotel
Responded Jan 21, 2019
Dear Susan, Your stay with us was our pleasure. For all that didn't go well during your stay is noted according to your remarks. All is put under consideration and management will look into it. Best regards. Marc Peters Gustave General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel kigalilaico umubano kigali
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
LAICO Umubano Hotel
LOCATION
RwandaKigali ProvinceKigali
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing