We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
B6, 7 km west from International Airport, Windhoek 9000 Namibia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
$183
View Deal
Expedia.com$183
eDreams$184
Booking.com$184
Tripadvisor$183
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com$183
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (94)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#33 of 119 Specialty lodging in Windhoek
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Surrounded by the African bush savannah and yet only a 10-minute-drive away from your plane, Ondekaremba offers an authentic African experience, including hiking trails in the bush savannah which is home to about 100 bird species. Accommodation: • Ondekaremba Lodge (10 well-tended rooms, free WLAN, pool, restaurant, bar) • Ondekaremba Econo Lodge (former Erioloba Village; 5 affordable bungalows with shower/WC and 2-4 rooms each, pool, communal dining room with bar, kitchen & fridge; dinner available at the restaurant of Ondekaremba Lodge, 5 min. walk) • Ondekaremba Campsite (3 tent pitches with own shower/WC, pool; dinner available at the restaurant of the lodge, 5 min. walk) We also offer airport transfers and day bookings before the flight (with or without room reserved)
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
B6, 7 km west from International Airport, Windhoek 9000 Namibia
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport4 miSee all flights
Eros Airport23 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
129Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 23
  • 46
  • 35
  • 17
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alison T wrote a review Jan 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom51 contributions10 helpful votes
A pleasant little guest ranch within 5 miles of the international airport. It has a nice swimming pool, comfortable rooms and is reasonably priced. The menu was limited but the food of a good standard, and an airport transfer was available for me.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba
Responded Feb 21, 2020
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with our transfer. We also have nature trails through the African bush savannah and a viewing tower - for those who like to stretch their legs after or before a long flight... Kind regards from Ondekaremba Lodge
Read more
marta1762017 wrote a review Jan 2020
Milan, Italy46 contributions9 helpful votes
We decided to stop one night at Ondekaremba to easily arrive at the airport the next day. The price, even if compared to the Hilton Hotel in the city center, is much higher, as well as the transportation to the airport which costed us 470 ND for 2 people (7 km distance). At the arrival day the reception girl tried to convince us to leave extremely early for the airport the following morning; we quickly understood they wanted to combine the transportation with other guests. After complaining they confirmed us the requested departure by providing us one breakfast box per person, since they refused to start serving breakfast just ten minutes before the standard time (7 am). The location is not bad in general terms since it seems to be immersed in nature, and not close to the airport as it is really. Anyway, the main building and all room furniture are quite easy and they have no a/c! Night was really hot. The swimming pool is nice but very dirty. People there are generally nice but not helpful. Food is medium level. Price is definitely out of any logic for such a place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba
Responded Feb 21, 2020
With N$ 1,220 (ca. 75 Euro) pp / night, Ondekaremba Lodge is in the middle price segment of accommodation establishments in Namibia. The rate for the transfer of N$ 235 pp needs to be explained - an omission of our receptionist which we like to apologise for. The largest part of the costs is the investment in a Quantum (cars are imported goods in Namibia and therefore really expensive), combined with interest rates that are much higher than in Europe. In order to guarantee this service on a daily basis, we need to employ three drivers with a public drivers license - in case one is on leave and one gets sick. So the costs for fuel consumption for the 7 km is only a fraction of the total costs. In fact, we could offer a transfer to Windhoek (35 km) for less than the rate of transfer companies - which is N$ 350. Kind regards from Ondekaremba Lodge
Read more
hiasibra wrote a review Dec 2019
Vienna, Austria12 contributions6 helpful votes
We had our last night at Ondekaremba and were totally happy there. Did a nice sundowner walk to one of their viewing towers. Food was good and service was excellent. highly recommended and happy to return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba
Responded Dec 6, 2019
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Greetings from Ondekaremba, especially our chef and service team ;-)
Read more
Mikehughes2508 wrote a review Aug 2019
Gaborone, Botswana51 contributions13 helpful votes
We had a 1 night layover and decided to book this establishment as it was reasonably priced and close to the airport. The units that we stayed in are very basic, but bearable.. There are restaurant facilities, but there is no kettle, cups or any conveniences in the units.... Just a bed and a shower and loo. They do organise transport to and from the airport, but at half the cost you can hire a car yourself. If you don't mind basic rustic and just need a place to crash for the night, this could be an option.... Like 1 up from camping 😂
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Thank you for your comment, giving us the opportunity to rectify some issues occasionally raised by guests. You stayed at Ondekaremba Econo Lodge, which is our "low budget" accommodation option for self-catering guests. Upon arrival you receive a box with all equipment you need, and there are a pool, barbecue facilities, a kitchen and a dining room in the communal area of the village-like lodge. The rate for the airport transfer is N$ 235 per person. We doubt that you can rent a car for that amount. Guests tend to perceive this as expensive. However, in order to guarantee the transfer on a daily basis, we need to employ three drivers with a public drivers license (in case one is on leave or off-days and one is falling ill). We invested in a proper Toyota Quantum bus for the shuttle and as all imported goods in Namibia, cars are expensive. We hope you also made use of the pool and the trails through the African bush savannah, thus stretching your legs after or before a long flight. Kind regards from the whole Ondekaremba team
Read more
mfuwe wrote a review Jul 2019
Isle of Man, United Kingdom45,045 contributions502 helpful votes
I needed a layover to await a companion. What a nice place this is. Nice and quiet yet close to airport to give a 15 minute transfer either way. Warthogs to cut the lawn, a swimming pool adn other wildlife around including many birds. The room was comfortable and well furnished. Meals in the restaurant excellent and all staff I met very friendly and helpful. WiFi in the reception area is free. I will be back there soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Owner at Ondekaremba
Responded Jul 22, 2019
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. A tipp for the next time you visit Ondekaremba: Explore our nature trails and enjoy the 360 degree view over the African bush savannah from our viewing tower... Best regards from the whole Ondekaremba Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaKhomas RegionWindhoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ondekaremba
What are some of the property amenities at Ondekaremba?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ondekaremba?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ondekaremba?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ondekaremba?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ondekaremba have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ondekaremba offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ondekaremba?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.