We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dusternbrook Guest Farm

Hotel website
| P.O. Box 870, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morris, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ended our 4 week African adventure at the guest farm. Farm was great, pool was nice. Bar had limited hours, but the girls at reception had no problem getting our beers if there was no bartender. The game drives were awesome (we did 3!) The food was amazing! All the meat comes from game from the farm which I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg R
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you for taking time to write a review about Duesternbrook and especially the chalet. I am so happy that you enjoyed that so much. It seems you really love the nature and exactly for your kind of persons the chalets are the right place to be. The cheetah and leopard drive you did not enjoy, but many... More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

I was in Windhoek for a few days on business and decided to arrive two days earlier. The "guest farm" is about 1-1.5 hours drive north-west from the airport and about one hour north of Windhoek. Duersternbrook arranged the taxis for my arrival (from the airport) and my departure (to Windhoek) - fixed prices on their website. I stayed in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris8591
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to comment on Duesternbrook. I am so glad that you seem to have enjoyed every bit. That is our intention and it worked out for you. I could not get a better feed back and there is nothing I can add. Thank you very much one more time for seeing and enjoying... More 

Stornoway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

At the end of a two week self-drive safari holiday we stopped for two nights at Dusternbrook Safari Guest Farm which is just north of Windhoek. This proved to be an ideal stopover at the end of the holiday. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast and dinner were a delight. On both days we took a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morrisloin
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Morrisloin, I always appreciate if people take a bit of time to give a feed back for others. Thank you very much. Your feed back is very positiv and there is nothing I can add to it apart that I am happy that you enjoyed it so much. That's the way we want it. What you have done it... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

We stayed at Düsternbrook in the safari tents 2 times (in 2014 and 2015) and we enjoyed the nice atmosphere both times. The people are very friendly and relaxed. There is a big swimming pool and it is possible to have your laundry done. Dinner with the other guests is good as well. Although the 'cats unlimited tour' is rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annemieke v
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Annermieke, Thank you for your feed back and comment on Duesternbrook. It always takes a bit of time but it is very useful for other travellers, so thank you for making that time available. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Duesternbrook and the different activities we offer. There is only one point I like to adress that... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

We visited this beautiful spot as it was recommended by our gorgeous host, Christina at Paradise Gardens Backpackers in Windhoek. After 3 incredible weeks around Namibia, we had one spare day and wanted to spend it out of the city. A short drive from the capital, we found Dusternbrook. Campsites were great, the staff very smiley and courteous and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JudeCraig
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Jude, Thank so much for taking your time to comment and give feed back on Duesternbrook. I am so happy that even after three weeks of Namibia that we still could offer some icing on your cake. That is really a great honor to hear. Thanks also to Christina for the recommondation of Paradise back packers to spend a... More 

Grafenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

As the website had made us curious, we had decided to come and see Duesternbrook and its big cats ourselves. Thus at the end of July we stayed on our last night before leaving Namibia by plane. Both the approach (three lovely fords !) and the setting are marvellous - and so were the wild animals around. We saw several... More 

Helpful?
Thank mceschholz
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Spent almost a week hiking in the mountains around Durstenbrook, and found the place a most welcome change from the rigours of roughing it. Johan the owner was welcoming, and very knowledgable about the history of the area. He is dedicated to conservation, and uplifting the community. The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent, and the bar prices reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank john_mehliss
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to write this report. It is not often that a South African writes a report that's why I really enjoyed your positive lines. If someone stays a few days here, like you, than the review is in my eyes even more valuable as it is not like a one day positive or... More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I stayed in the new hippos chalet. What i liked: -The fact that it is isolated from all other premises and so close to the lake with hippos and other animals that come to drink. - The self-guided walks. - The cheetah and leopard feeding. - We can see that they make a good effort to do a sophisticated food.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Bruno I
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Bruno, Thank you for taking your time to write such a comprehensive and balanced report. I have gone through your report point by point and I will improve on the points mentioned what you did not like. I do not quite understand the decoration part...on the other hand for such a good price you cannot expect much more valuable... More 

Windhoek
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We camped here and really enjoyed the scenery, the amazing woodpecker, the pool and the horses nearby, oh and the gorgeous puppy! The ablution block was clean and well looked after. The campsite itself is a little in need of attention with the fencing broken down in places, allowing animals to gain access easily. However, our kids loved the site... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank C H
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear CH from Windhoek, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am happy you and the kids enjoyed their stay and we are happy to welcome you soon again. Thank also for the hints of improvement in terms of friendliness of the staff.Actually they are friendly that is the feed back I get from most other... More 

lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

"You won't be disappointed" is the logo on the literature for this place. How wrong it is. We camped there on our way back to Windhoek after a very tough 5 week trip. The campsite is small, extremely dusty ( we're used to really roughing it), covered in litter and extremely noisy. The ablutions were passable but getting even warm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kalmond123
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Your criticism is far from the reality how I run, manage and maintain this farm. If you were that unhappy why do you complain only 9 month later, instead of approaching me right on the spot? Why do you even comment on activities you did not even take part? I appreciate constructive comments BUT not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
26.5 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#8 of 18 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#6 of 18 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
26.6 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eagle Rock Guest-Farm & Business Lodge
26.1 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#28 of 61 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#12 of 61 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay