We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dusternbrook Guest Farm

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Due to a flight delay we were running late but were greeted well and shown our campsite for the night. Enjoyed our one night, and nice breakfast with other guests. The camping spots are rather small, but met our needs for the night. Would definitely recommend Dusternbrook to either start or end your trip if you're flying in or out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canucke
Heusenstamm, Germany
Reviewed October 7, 2016

lepard and cheetah drive are great, but expensive, compared to other gamedrives in Namibia. the ablutions are ok, but outstanding is something else. Good, that they are all shaded. The staff at the reception seemed a bit bored and not very enthusiastic, no one was at the bar. even it was winter, the pool was dirty, full of leaves. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stefanmrw
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Stefan, Thank you for taking the time to comment Düsternbrook Safari Guest Farm. You say the campsite is small, thats correct but also on purpose as I do not want a big campsite. We are a small guestfarm so why should there be a big campsite? Do you know that we have in fact two campsites: bush campsite and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We didn't enjoy this place at all - from the welcome of the staff, lack of markings at the camp site and the complete lack of facilities - we befriended the maintenace man and he gathered some firewood for us and for that we were very grateful. The baboons were a wonder too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurendan73
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Laurendan from South Africa, thank you for having taken the time to comment our campsite. I am really sorry that you did not like the place at all , but we also know that clients from South Africa seem to be more critical than others. To like a place or not is very personal. What I do not understand...

Port Vila
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Tragically missing out on the hippo chalets, we stayed in one of the luxury safari tents. Not a huge fan of camping, I actually rather enjoyed it - it also involved no camping, with an en suite and electricity. Gorgeous setting beside the dry river bed. Communal meals with the very attentive host were a pleasure and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cass C
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Cass, Thank you very much for taking time and to write this comment about Duesternbrook. I really appreciate your time and effort. Thank You very much. I am really happy that you enjoyed this place so much ...you made my day. It is our aim and business to make people happy and that they enjoy their stay if if...

Germany
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the campsite. The campsite as such was rather average. The game drive was interesting. We most liked the dinner with all the other guests, where one will meet other travelers, because you share a table. The food was very tasteful. Also the breakfast was good. The water in the pool was rather cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip_Bolster
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Hi PPL, Thank you for have taken the time to comment Duesternbrook and its campsite. You are right the campsite is average or was average?Since your visit in september we upgraded certain facilities and it will not stop there. As you know we have two campsites: the bush campsite and the pioneer campsite...to which one have you been? Bushcampsite. We...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed August 29, 2016

We spend the long weekend at Dusternbrook and stayed at the Davidsdraai Chalets on self-catering basis. The Chalets is very basic and as website describes. And its basically an upgrade from camping. The chalets has solar lights and toilet/ shower and outside basin. Hot water as well. Table on the veranda area. What was nice is the roof top where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mari K
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Mari, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment Duesternbrook. I really appreciate that you took so much time to go into such detail about the service deliverd. This is really helpfull to adress the problem and ask why not a better service was delivered. I like this kind of comments as it is really helpful the...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Tried to get directions over the phone before I flew to Windhoek with my two sons and to advise Dustenbrook we would arrive late at nite. No help on the phone and no one to give directions. Expedia said 14km north of Windhoek. Tried calling at least 5 times before departing from the airport. No answer. When arriving at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Odette v
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Odette, Thank you for taking the time to review Duesternbrook with your negative experience. I am not surprised by your review but Trip advisor is a fair company to give us a chance to respond and to explain our side of the story, especially if we feel there is a bit of reality lacking. The philosophy of Trip Advisor...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Positives: DO go on the Cats Unlimited tour - to see the cheetahs and leopard up close! DO go on an afternoon game drive. DO either walk or drive to the hippo chalet area where you can watch hippos relaxing in the water. For those staying over, DO go on the 6am morning game drive for great views! Other positives:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dani_F007
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

HI Dani_F007, Thank you for your time reviewing Duesternbrook with positiv and negativ comments. Thats how we like it and it is constructive and we can do something about it. I am happy you enjoyed the activities and there is not much to add, except you are actually not allowed to drive by yourself to the dam where the Hippos...

Bonn, Germany
Reviewed August 1, 2016

rooms are old but ok, The meals are ok. Pool is not well tended. The game drives are very good, many animals to see. We did the cheetah, evening game drive and the mountain drive. Never seen bevor so many different animals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheinss
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Hi sheinss, Thank you for your time to review Duesternbrook GF it is really appreciated. I really feel honored that you gave me full marks although you thought rooms are old and meals only ok. Rooms, I agree, old farm old rooms but they have been renovated in 2015. I do not know in which you slept but KLS for...

Johannesburg
Reviewed May 26, 2016

The owner of this farm (in collaboration with several other farmers) has established a new 6 day hiking trail starting and finishing on Dusternbrook. We completed this trail last week and found it most scenic and enjoyable. The days were long but not too long. Never again will I drive through Windhoek and wonder what it looks like in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hennie d
Johann V, Manager at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Hi Hennie, Thank you very much having taken the time to comment on our hiking trail. I am very happy that you and your group have enjoyed it so much. Yes and I agree from the last hiking group they aslo said, especially in may take a warm sleeping bag (Type -5 degrees) as it can get cold because the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (136)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
26.5 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
181 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,135 reviews
12.7 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 71 in Windhoek
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#10 of 71 in Windhoek
57 reviews
42.5 mi away
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
#4 of 71 in Windhoek
240 reviews
23.3 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dusternbrook Safari Guest Farm is a small colonial architecture style guest farm in a beautiful setting with a stunning view. It is 50 km north-west from the capital Windhoek or 90 km from the international airport on the way to Etoscha or the coast. The farm has 7 lodge rooms also family rooms all with bath ensuite. The farm is awarded from the hotel association (silver and bronze)and as eco lodge.( 4 out of 5 flowers). It has abundant game 16 different species( giraffe, kudu, oryx, springbock, impala etc. including hippo )and rich bird life in its private reserve. There is a large pool and a bar.Dinner and breakfast is in family-style where you meet in casual way other guests. Activities are cheetah & leopard drive, game drives, early morning mountain drive horse riding and several hiking trails. The new Khomas Hochland Hiking Trail (KHHT)90 km or 6 days ( 53 km and 4 nights) over several farms starts at Dusternbrook. There are two small camp sites and remote private chalets at a lake where you can see hippos.Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dusternbrook Guest Farm

Address: | P.O. Box 870, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Price Range: $36 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusternbrook Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dusternbrook Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dusternbrook Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not stay in the Kolonialhaus! Rather choose another room.”
 of 5 bubbles Dani_F007, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“It is a hiking trail - do the slack pack version”
 of 5 bubbles Hennied_13, May 26, 2016 | Read review
“The free wifi is available at the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles john_mehliss, May 9, 2016 | Read review
“take the room with the antique pump before the door; this room has a lot of space :)”
  • Duesternbrook is the first and oldest guest farm in Namibia since 1961. The farm house has a spe
 of 5 bubbles Stand996, May 7, 2016 | Read review
“If you book a hippo chalet, make sure you get the wooden one. The stone chalet looks nicer from the outside but has a poor view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles gregr753, Jan 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay