We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Polana Serena Hotel

Hotels.com$258*
View Deal
#1 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Polana Serena Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Polana Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed November 6, 2014

I was planning to switch from Polana on days 4-5 of my trip after first few days, but decided to stay (despite the high price) because it is simply a wonderful "office" location to work all day. If I were out and about all day, I would have moved. Can't beat working by the pool/garden with solid wifi and that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MoDC
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MoDC, Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve. Thank you for you comments about breakfast, Spa, internet, shuttle and service. Regarding the Polana Mar rooms, just a note...

Porto, Portugal
Reviewed November 2, 2014

OK… the hotel is impressive… and is reputed as the top hotel in Maputo. I just don’t agree with the reputation it clings on. This was my first stay in this hotel, and was really excited to come here… but leaving the hotel after a few days stay… really it did not live up to the expectations I had. Anyway…...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Trave1Bandit
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed October 28, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for business. The rooms are slightly dated, however this all adds to the old world charm of the Polana. Every single member of staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. As I was a female travelling alone I preferred to eat at the hotel, which is rather pricey. There are however very trendy restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudie C
Simon's Town, South Africa
Reviewed October 22, 2014

I recently spent two nights in Maputo and one of those nights was at the Polana. The hotel itself is situated on top of a hill with great views of Maputo bay. The staff are incredibly friendly and organised, the rooms are well appointed (with lots of nice touches and little extras) and the breakfast buffet in the morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FlyFishExplorer
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 21, 2014

We were really looking forward to staying at the Polana Serena but unfortunately we found: 1. when they took us up to our room, there was a man inside still preparing it, so we didn't get an orientation, nor did we get a tour around the hotel grounds 2. lunch at the Aquarius Bar took over an hour and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 6monthhoneymoon
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve. We regret we did not meet your expectations in so many aspects. We have shared your words among the Team...

Arendal, Norway
Reviewed October 3, 2014

One of the finest colonial hotels in the world. It is worth the trip itself. The hotel staff were very helpful with tours to desolate beaches as well as the Kruger park in South Africa. The berakfast buffet is possibglythe best I have ever had. The rooms were large and luxurious. The spa was modern and very good. Highly qualified...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveller107
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve. Thank you for you comments about breakfast, Spa, therapists and rooms. If you ever come again to Maputo, I would...

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed September 26, 2014

Being traveling for past year into Maputo. The standard of the hotels are shocking. Returned to the Polana after 12 years with my wife. Still the best address to stay in Mozambique. The reception, the staff, rooms, and most importantly the cleanliness of the hotel.The bonus was the open air movie near the pool. My wife loved the idea although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avm007007
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve. Thank you for you comments about staff, rooms and the cleanliness of the hotel . We are also very happy...

Paris
Reviewed September 24, 2014

As with all the Serena properties there is something very old world and charming about this still striking hotel that make it very attractive as a tourist destination. BUT, as a business hotel it leaves a lot to be desired. From glacial service to inconsistent electricity (my television stopped working and was never repaired and only some of the electrical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpk17
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve. We took notice on your comment about Tv and Internet. We have free wifi free internet in all the property, and...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed September 23, 2014

Great sea-view and the property is very impressive both within and from the outside. well designed with good rooms and related creature comforts. food choices are good and the dining areas are very amenable for meetings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASR2009
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve. We are very happy to know you had a very good experience at Polana Serena Hotel. Thank you once again...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed September 18, 2014

Myself and two friends went to Polana for high tea. From the moment you enter the majestic building and then relaxing on the patio was pure excitement. The view from the pati is beautiful with the view of the newly renovated pool area to the sea in the horison. Beautiful. Coffee good and high tea tray very tasty although they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeCilliers
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. PenelopeCilliers , Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve. We took note on your comment about high tea. Thank you once again for writing about your experience...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

418 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (373)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
448 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#5 of 22 in Maputo
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
1.5 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 22 in Maputo
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#4 of 22 in Maputo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The “Grand Dame” of Africa, as the Polana Serena Hotel is widely known, is a must-see historical landmark when talking about the city of Maputo. The elegance and splendour of its façade are the living memory of bygone colonial times; its luxurious interiors whisper stories of the many generations who spent nights protected by the hotel’s majestic walls, kings and queens, ambassadors and presidents, princesses and common travellers; its gardens, perfect and romantic lookouts offer a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean.Built in 1922 in the heart of Maputo, one of the most exclusive residential areas, the Polana Serena Hotel belongs to the elite of the most famous hotels in the world. The splendor of its colonial lines blend tradition and art, making your stay an unforgettable journey through the past, looking to the future. Faithfull to the Serena Group philosophy of integrating architecture with cultural heritage, the Polana Serena Hotel offers a mix of elegance, grandeur and ethnicity, in a space equipped with the most modern solutions, luxurious facilities and excellent service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Polana Serena Hotel

Address: Avenida Julius Nyerere 1380, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Price Range: $219 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Polana Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Jovago.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polana Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
#1 Spa Hotel in Maputo
#3 Business Hotel in Maputo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Polana Serena Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Polana Serena Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pick up a room with a balcony or one with sea view”
Steffie0506, 2 days ago | Read review
“Rooms facing North also face the engineering rooms of the hotel”
aikiko, Apr 20, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with sea view”
841dcm, Mar 30, 2017 | Read review
“Make time for the massage or spa treatment”
424jog, Mar 28, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms with view to the swimming pool, and if you can afford it with valcony.”
, Mar 2, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$258* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$375
Expedia.com$257
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates