We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Polana Serena Hotel

Av. Julius Nyerere 1380, Maputo 1100 Mozambique
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (628)
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (60)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 37 hotels in Maputo
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
3.6
The “Grand Dame” of Africa, as the Polana Serena Hotel is widely known, is a must-see historical landmark when talking about the city of Maputo. The elegance and splendour of its façade are the living memory of bygone colonial times; its luxurious interiors whisper stories of the many generations who spent nights protected by the hotel’s majestic walls, kings and queens, ambassadors and presidents, princesses and common travellers; its gardens, perfect and romantic lookouts offer a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean.Built in 1922 in the heart of Maputo, one of the most exclusive residential areas, the Polana Serena Hotel belongs to the elite of the most famous hotels in the world. The splendor of its colonial lines blend tradition and art, making your stay an unforgettable journey through the past, looking to the future. Faithfull to the Serena Group philosophy of integrating architecture with cultural heritage, the Polana Serena Hotel offers a mix of elegance, grandeur and ethnicity, in a space equipped with the most modern solutions, luxurious facilities and excellent service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Afrikaans and 3 more
741Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 407
  • 212
  • 71
  • 28
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tickedthebox50 wrote a review Feb 2024
Perth, Australia211 contributions116 helpful votes
A stunning colonial style hotel with beautiful views. We stayed for four nights. The staff friendly and helpful. The food in the main restaurant, was delicious! The buffet dinner we had was plentiful. Kudos to the chef. Enjoyed the bar too. Very clean room with comfortable bed & beddings. A nice big pool to just relax and read/swim. Loved our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mulatxinha wrote a review Dec 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa19 contributions12 helpful votes
Staying at the Poland Hotel - the esteemed Great Dame of Maputo - is always an absolute delight. Normally, everything goes smoothly and exceeds expectations. However, on this particular occasion, I must admit that I found it a bit disappointing. There were some issues that arose during my stay. Firstly, there was an unfortunate amount of noise emanating from the staff in the upstairs corridor, which required me to politely request their consideration not once, but twice. Secondly, the toiletries in my room remained frustratingly depleted for consecutive two days. Lastly, the tranquility of enjoying a serene sunset on the balcony was unfortunately interrupted by a rather boisterous event taking place in the ballroom. It appears that the management of this esteemed establishment must invest some effort in restoring the hotel to the elevated standard that we have grown accustomed to.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ThomySwitzerland wrote a review Nov 2023
Chur, Switzerland44 contributions32 helpful votes
This hotel is a gem. Colonial style, beautifully restored. Location is fantastic, the view breathtaking, olympic size pool with ocean view. Main restaurant offering very good breakfast buffet. Staff is very friendly and helpful, but some lack proper training which is the only really minor downside.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We liked the room on the ocean side below the pool with a balcony overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Serge G wrote a review Apr 2023
Makati, Philippines265 contributions164 helpful votes
A very comfortable hotel with good food outlets and a gorgeous layout. The rooms are a bit small but are very well maintained. The bed is comfortable and hot water abounds. I would, however, highly recommend that the staff be encouraged to smile a bit more! Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Carrasco, Marketing at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Apr 10, 2023
Dear Guest, Greetings from POLANA SERENA HOTEL, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Yours Sincerely, Anderson Mburugu Acting General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kennedy K wrote a review Mar 2023
Kenya1 contribution
My favorite hotel in Mozambique! The food, ambience, the pool, the staff, the food.. and did I mention the food? Special shout out to Chef Martin too! The rooms are super clean and safe, plus the all have full access to DSTv 😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Carrasco, Marketing at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 24, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Regards, Anderson Mburugu Acting General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CKAY16 wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions
I stayed in Polana Serena for 9 nights in March and all I can describe it is a home away from home..Nice ocean few, nice meals especially Breakfast with lots of variety..despite trying out different options, I still had plenty of alternatives every morning I always looked forward to special request to Chef Martin as he came inn handy in making my stay memorable. Everyone at the hotel is super friendly right from the potters, to life guard at the swimming pool or security team at the far end of building.. See you soon team polana..coming for my Capherinha
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Carrasco, Marketing at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 24, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Regards, Anderson Mburugu Acting General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KIC wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
Hotel Polana is run-down and their customer service are rude to those who are not white. I am not white and I ordered an orange juice with a gentle please and a smile. Perhaps my order was too small so when they placed it in front of me, there was no eye-contact, no, "You're welcome" to my thank you and they simply walked away. There isn't even a coaster or a straw to the drink. However the white gentleman in the next table got the full good service for a cup of coffee. No one offers to open the doors of a car or greet guests with a smile despite staying here for a long time. I find the majority of the staff completely arrogant believing they are doing alright because regardless how they treat you, they will always have guests staying in their hotel for the fake prestigious title. I have stayed in many hotels, this is by far, the biggest disappointment for the status it holds. Rude. Rude. Rude. Rude. Rude services. I do not recommend staying here, Hotel Cardoso have a happier staff for the same price and the one time I was there, they even surprised us with some exquisite snacks for free.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I don't recommend staying here. Go to Hotel Cardoso.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Carrasco, Marketing at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 6, 2023
Dear guest, We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the POLANA SERENA HOTEL, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am however sorry that our offer did not meet your expectations and for that; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation so please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns. Also at a time of your convenience, please feel free to share in detail or advise us on how best we can improve the offer because your valued feedback will go a long way in ensuring that the quality of our service is improved and exceeds your expectation making your next stay with us a lot more comfortable. Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Anderson Mburugu Acting General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DanaPrista wrote a review Feb 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa51 contributions28 helpful votes
Polana was once the best hotel in Maputo but it is now only worth it for the location. The work done some years a go when it changed from white to cream and when they added a fountain where it had the most magnificent sea view, made it look out of place and old. The decoration is outdated, the pedestal beds are completely old and out of space. Makes you feel like you are in a 90s hotel. The bathrooms, carpets, furniture etc all need to change. The breakfast is not of a 5 star hotel either. The hotel can easily be re done and attended to. Hope the owners do it soon as there is a lot of competition in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Carrasco, Marketing at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2023
Dear Mrs Dana Prista, Greetings from POLANA SERENA HOTEL, We would like to thank you for taking the time to express the unpleasant experience of your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback, that we are able to improve. I certainly empathize regarding the points you mentioned and we have brought this up to relevant team members. It is certainly not the practice we envision and service standards. We truly apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to POLANA SERENA HOTEL. Yours Sincerely, Anderson Mburugu Acting General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AustralianHelen wrote a review Feb 2023
Canberra, Australia107 contributions66 helpful votes
How can we thank Anderson Mburugu, the General Manager of the Serena Polana, and his staff enough? We returned to the Polana hotel, Maputo after 29 years to celebrate my birthday and our engagement and the staff could not possibly have done any more for us. From a private dinner next to the pool, ably waited on by Julius to Rui the singer, to the wonderful meal and birthday cake. These are what memories are made of. All of the staff made us feel so special. Thank you also to Higino Vesta, the Concierge, who was so helpful. I highly recommend the Polana for a romantic getaway – be it an engagement, wedding or a wedding anniversary. Obrigada a todos
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Carrasco, Marketing at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Regards, Anderson Mburugu Acting General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The World is My Oyster wrote a review Jan 2023
Orlando, Florida19602 contributions6990 helpful votes
+1
I only got to spend one night here, but completely enjoyed my short stay. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and so well manicured. The grounds and pool are well kept, and the room was very spacious with all amenities necessary for a great stay. I enjoyed a nice dinner at their main restaurant, and even though the prawns were overcooked, service was excellent! My server Dalilo was super professional and extremely friendly. I then enjoyed a nice Gin and tonic at the bar, and my bartender Claudio was also very attentive and friendly. This is definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed at in the Southern Africa region. The room was great, and the resort just gorgeous at every turn. The colonial style definitely gives it all its beauty. But more importantly, the staff was outstanding! I'll definitely stay here again on a future trip to Maputo!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonia Carrasco, Marketing at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Regards, Anderson Mburugu Acting General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maputo area.
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueMaputo ProvinceMaputo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
142
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

POLANA SERENA HOTEL $198 ($̶2̶4̶2̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Maputo, Mozambique

Frequently Asked Questions about Polana Serena Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Polana Serena Hotel?
Nearby attractions include FEIMA - Feira de Artesanato, Flores e Gastronomica (0.3 miles), Paroquia Santo Antonio (0.2 miles), and Parque dos Continuadores (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Polana Serena Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Polana Serena Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Polana Serena Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Polana Serena Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Polana Serena Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include txhapo txhapo, A Nossa Tasca, and JN 281 by Brasa Rio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Polana Serena Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Polana Serena Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Polana Serena Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Polana Serena Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Maputo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Polana Serena Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Polana Serena Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.