We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Polana Serena Hotel

Save
Avenida Julius Nyerere 1380, Maputo 1100 Mozambique
Lowest prices for your stay
$232
View Deal
Expedia.com
PolonaSerena Hotel
eDreams
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (596)
Pool & Beach (75)
Room & Suite (50)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 36 hotels in Maputo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The “Grand Dame” of Africa, as the Polana Serena Hotel is widely known, is a must-see historical landmark when talking about the city of Maputo. The elegance and splendour of its façade are the living memory of bygone colonial times; its luxurious interiors whisper stories of the many generations who spent nights protected by the hotel’s majestic walls, kings and queens, ambassadors and presidents, princesses and common travellers; its gardens, perfect and romantic lookouts offer a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean.Built in 1922 in the heart of Maputo, one of the most exclusive residential areas, the Polana Serena Hotel belongs to the elite of the most famous hotels in the world. The splendor of its colonial lines blend tradition and art, making your stay an unforgettable journey through the past, looking to the future. Faithfull to the Serena Group philosophy of integrating architecture with cultural heritage, the Polana Serena Hotel offers a mix of elegance, grandeur and ethnicity, in a space equipped with the most modern solutions, luxurious facilities and excellent service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Afrikaans and 3 more
713Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 393
  • 208
  • 67
  • 24
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A magnificent Hotel steeped in history. Everything is immaculate, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, rooms are amazing, good wifi, amazing food.... just worth every penny if you're looking for a luxurious stay in Maputo whether corporate or for a holiday.
Read more
Response from SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Regards, Abhishek S. Negi
Read more
This was my third visit to the Polana Serena and it lived up to the high standards I expected. The staff are ever helpful and always get you a huge smile. For nervous travellers or woman travelling the security is the best I have seen in East Africa.
Read more
Response from SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Dear Mr. Stuart B, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Regards, Abhishek S. Negi
Read more
+1
Stayed with my team for 4 days and had one of the best experience in the hotel. The rooms are carefully designed to meet the homely experience, nice wall papers. The building was built in 1922 and gives the royal feel. Excellent spa and gym facilities, nice restaurant and service. We had an event at the hotel and it was well managed. Definitely a place to stay when visiting Maputo. Enjoy the pictures!
Read more
Response from SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the POLANA SERENA HOTEL as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Mozambique and for taking the time to write such a thorough rave review of our property and service. We are truly honored and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property exceptional in all ways. Management will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we pledge to continue offering the very best of the Serena Hospitality and Service. Regards, Abhishek S. Negi
Read more
Room service is terrible. Same room service breakfast menu daily!!!!! No variety. Serious communication barrier. Some staff members not keen to work at some point we were given food in one plate while we were 2 guests and the guy said I put everything for you to eat in one plate. For a 5 star hotel its absolutely insane!!!! Not happy. The rooms were alryt. No porters on the sea side section and even the side where they were porters they wud look at u while u carry lots of baggage. For such a highly rated hotel l was disappointed
Read more
Response from SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from POLANA SERENA HOTEL, We would like to thank you for taking the time to express the unpleasant experience of your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback, that we are able to improve. I certainly empathize regarding the points you mentioned and we have brought this up to relevant team members. It is certainly not the practice we envision and service standards. We truly apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to POLANA SERENA HOTEL. Yours Sincerely, Abhishek S. Negi
Read more
We have been waiting since 14h00 for our sea facing room. It is now 15h51 and we have been given a room overlooking the parking lot for Valentines evening, so, so disappointing, no management involvement, we are sitting outside waiting to hear if they can make an alternative arrangement. We were then taken to a room below the hotel, when the porter opened the door there was a half dressed man in the room, needless to say we could not stay there and then had to go all the way back to the main hotel, we decided to then to just spend the night in the room over the parking lot and leave the next day, an hour later we were then told a room was made available in a sea view room so we packed up and moved to this room. As it was Valentines Day my husband asked for dinner options and we were told that the sushi restaurant at the front of the hotel would be a good option, my husband was taken there by the Guest Relationship Supervisor. Showered and dressed we went down to dinner only to be told “so sorry” but due to a wedding they were too busy with the “wedding catering” and we could not be served! After much back and forth we were given a cafe menu and then later received a sushi menu and we had dinner there. We went back to our room at 21h00 and then the wedding music was turned up at full blast, our windows are rattling from the noise and it is impossible to sleep! What a horrible Valentines Day evening, we won’t be back. We have yet to have any response from any management at the hotel although we have asked on several occasions to speak to a manager.
Read more
Response from SerenaHotels, Manager at Polana Serena Hotel
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear Mrs Christine, Greetings from POLANA SERENA HOTEL, We would like to thank you for taking the time to express the unpleasant experience of your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback, that we are able to improve. We certainly empathize regarding the points you mentioned and we have brought this up to relevant team members. It is certainly not the practice we envision and service standards. We truly apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to POLANA SERENA HOTEL. Yours Sincerely Abhishek S. Negi
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$171 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueMaputo ProvinceMaputo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
142
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Polana Serena Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Polana Serena Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Paroquia Santo Antonio (0.2 miles), FEIMA - Feira de Artesanato, Flores e Gastronomica (0.3 miles), and Fundação Fernando Leite Couto (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Polana Serena Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Polana Serena Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Polana Serena Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Polana Serena Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Polana Serena Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include JN 281, txhapo txhapo, and A Nossa Tasca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Polana Serena Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Polana Serena Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Polana Serena Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Polana Serena Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Maputo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Polana Serena Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Polana Serena Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.