We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Capital

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunbird Capital
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Sunbird Capital
 Click to rate
Viaregg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was my first time in Malawi. I liked Lilongwe. The hotel is very green and beautiful. It has beautiful garden and swimming pool. Unfortunately, I did not have much time to swim. The staff is very kind and available. The gym is not big. Good breakfast and dinner. I think it is important to know that there are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail K
Cambodia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last couple years. The pros: friendly staff, good restaurant (try the grilled beef medallions with nsima); the cons: you're in Lilongwe and the hotel is dependent on the city's services. On one stay in 2016 there was no water for at least 3 days. The hotel sent one notice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nklevy
Minnesota
Reviewed February 15, 2017

You don't have many options in this city, but that doesn't excuse the terrible customer service at this hotel. Despite having my credit card and a guarantee from my employer, the hotel demanded upfront payment for the stay. After explaining that I cannot do so, per my company's policy, I was harassed every 5 days to pay that portion of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GTINTC11
Management response:

Dear Sir , Thank you very much for your feed back . We have taken note of your concerns and management will address them accordingly . Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which was caused to you during your stay. We are very grateful for your support and hope you will not judge us finally from this experience...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed January 30, 2017

I stayed at the Sunbird Capital from October to December 2016. It's not a modern state of the art hotel, but has all the facilities one needs, i.e. business centre, coffee and tea in the room, gym, swimming pool, etc. The free internet is good, contrary to many other places in Lilongwe. One advice to the management re the Wifi:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnohaegens
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! It's great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at Sunbird Capital. We are happy that the food and the service was to your liking. We do hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We are grateful for the feedback that you have provided, and we will be...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Sunbird Capital Hotel was an excellent Hotel for holding conferences with spacious rooms and a nice ambiance. It has a branch on lake Malawi that the best shoreline and recreational activities. One wont regret visiting it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memuhu
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and for sharing your experience with us. It brings us such great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your linking. We do hope to see you back soon, and that you visit more of our hotels and resorts. Kindest regards.

Malawi
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

The hotel doesn't diserve the 3 stars. All inside is under maintained and probably a full refurbishment is highly necessary. The room had a dump humid smell and I think the windows where not opened in a long time. The AC was damaged, in working condition and full of dried bugs. The food was decent but nothing special. I guess...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdiCV
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for bringing the issues that you experienced during your stay with us to our attention, as your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced while you were at the hotel. Kindest regards.

Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed staying at the Sunbird. Room was clean and layout of hotel convenient. Beautiful landscaping. Wifi is a real issue though across the hotel. Restaurant a good option to have, although the food is not amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carina O
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Dear Carma, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate the time that you took to share your experience with us, and we have taken the issues that you have raised under advisement. We do hope to see you back soon. Kindest regards.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed December 14, 2016

I had a three day seminar and needed to sleep mon short nozice for one night , as I missed my host.The rooms are clean, small and a bit dated, breakfast was average and African British, Food during Seminar a bit dull, Seminar facilities not to modern and cramped. But it holds what it is nadvertising. For the typical experts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neuhesse1987
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunbird Capital, and also for the time you have taken to review the property. We have taken note of the issues that you have mentioned in your review, and we will work to serve you better on your next visit with us. Kindest regards.

Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed November 29, 2016

Great location for Business hotel. Large 1970s type with great grounds, pool and gym. Good conference rooms, responsive staff. Internet horrid but you can get both networks. A little distance from restaurants but do need a taxi. Good hotel and responsive laundry etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Realtions at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Thank you for your review of Sunbird Capital. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the glitches that you experience with the internet connection. Please rest assured that we are finding a way to correct this problem. We do hope that you come back to stay with us the next time that you are in...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed November 17, 2016

This fairly new hotel has a great ambience. The staff were quite welcoming and helpful. The business centre accommodated our space needs for prolonged meetings at short notice. The room was clean and well maintained. The food was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpariyo
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Sunbird Capital. We are happy that you had a good stay with us, and that the location of the hotel worked to your advantage. We do hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
2.9 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
100 reviews
3.4 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunbird Capital (formerly Le meridian Capital) in Lilongwe Malawi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunbird Capital

Address: Chilembwe Road, Lilongwe 3, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Price Range: $157 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Capital 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunbird Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Capital Lilongwe
Sunbird Capital Hotel Lilongwe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Capital staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Capital staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Nice location in the heart of the capital Lilongwe”
 of 5 bubbles memuhu, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room with good wifi as this is bad in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Lucien1972, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles andyw255, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
“second floor is best”
 of 5 bubbles 145jkp, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
“Call to check if they have fixed the water shortage”
 of 5 bubbles gmba, Jun 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question