We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites

Save
Share
10th & 11th Streets, Tubman Blvd Sinkor, Monrovia Liberia
Lowest prices for your stay
Only 3 left at
$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Hotels.com$136
Orbitz.com
Trip.com$145
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (17)
Videos (1)

About

#5 of 28 hotels in Monrovia
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
4.5
Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites located in the heart of Monrovia City, with a spectacular boulevard & ocean view. We offer a free Murex full continental breakfast, and our Let's Eat Diner Restaurant serving the best quality of American steak and a variety of Int'l cuisine. Also the famous Conference room combined with MP rooftop & Terrace.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Foot bath
Foot massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Pedicure
Salon
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic
59Reviews5Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 29
  • 21
  • 5
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
auke_folkerts wrote a review Mar 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands7 contributions1 helpful vote
Good spacious rooms with good bed & shower, good central location, friendly and attentive staff, good breakfast and out of this world food on the menu - try the fresh caught fish or lobster! Go eat and sleep here and enjoy :-)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The suites on the front have nice big windows to the street
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shehny, Owner at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar 19, 2020
thanks for the nice comment and welcome anytime ....
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgesper wrote a review Mar 2020
Beirut, Lebanon44 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Murex Plaza hotel is situated in a prime location in the capital Monrovia. It has all what you might ask for in a nice comfortable hotel. The rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They serve amazing international, Lebanese and local dishes beside the local fish and seafood. The Lobster is the best I have ever had. Totally recommended when in Monrovia
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Juwlor T wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
The Murex Plaza hotel is the best hotel to stay at when visiting Monrovia, Liberia, especially for extended stay. From the owner to the staff are always willing to help you. The staff are very competent, trustworthy, and always pleasant. The food is exquisite - the goat meat soup, is my personal favorite. The hotel I very clean, has very nice modern finishes and amenities. You can always count a a friendly face for help at any time of the day or night. Oh I almost forgot to mention the sky bar, which give you a view of the city and shore line. It’s a must when visiting the hotel!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shehny, Manager at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Thx for your sweet comment and we promise to keep it up with more add on services.... thx again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kutoa Afrika Foundation wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
We arrived in Monrovia, Liberia recently to do our mission work, and had to leave our planned Air Bnb due to numerous failures of electricity, plumbing and maintenance. After two attempts to find hotels that would accommodate 6 people, we were referred to Murex Plaza Hotel and met Mr Abdallah Chani, the owner. We immediately hit it off and felt the warmth and welcome you would normally associate with long-time friends and family. The staff had rooms ready for us in a couple of hours and were so attentive and courteous. The European-style breakfast (included with room) was great and so was the ambiance of the dining room. Our beds - were terrific, my chronic neck pain disappeared (at least while I was there), and we saw Mr Chani every day. He makes a point of stopping to speak with all of his guests and make sure they are comfortable and have no problems. On out last night there, he prepared a gourmet Mediterranean feast for us that could rival any spread, including grilled fish just pulled out of Lake Piso, 3 hours away in Robertsport. We were so thrilled with our experience, plan to return again!! Recommended without reservations!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kawana l wrote a review Nov 2019
4 contributions
I had a very wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was every nice. When I called the front desk to request anything they were at my door in seconds. The Murex Plaza made me feel like a Queen. The rooms are very clean the mattress was very comfortable the water was very hot. Thanks so much❤️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rafiki99 wrote a review Oct 2019
Divonne-les-Bains, France87 contributions87 helpful votes
I requested a quiet room but was told the hotel was fully booked so given the noisiest room right above the neon lights,on the busy main road. the bed side lights did not work, the TV was scrambled and the bathroom had a horrible smell. I asked to be moved when there was a free room at the back - but despite talking to the owner, the manger and the various receptionists, people came and went and they would not change my room. The hotel is indeed busy - not sure why as the customer service is poor, sullen receptionists ( apart from one) - and it is not cheap. The positives: large room, clean, nice soft towels The restaurant is quite good although breakfast is just OK, thankfully some fresh fruit was available The negatives: poor service, smelly bathroom ( which was fixed after 3 days) and front room although very large, have a lot of traffic noise and constant light all night through the thin curtains. The hotel also seemed to be surrounded by generators so probably noisy wherever. you are in the hotel. Internet was intermittent, on and off and not very strong I would not stay there again even if it meant going over budget.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: rooms at the back may be better
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shehny, Manager at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Dear Customer I want apologize for the insufficient service you have mentioned, also to thank you for your constructive criticism. just to inform you that we are running generators 24 hours in Liberia as everyone else with high consumption, as you have seeing the hotel was full, but we have tried our best to satisfy your request and change the room when available. anyhow, we want to encourage you to book our hotel next time you decide to visit Liberia, we assure you better service in your future visit. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilygal wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
Had an exciting experience at Murexplaza hotel. The hotel is neat and the staff are very friendly and always ready to assist. The food is exceptional. The hotel has a quiet ambiance and feels like home. I would gladly visit Murexplaza hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shehny, Manager at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Dear Customer we appreciate your comment and we will be happy to serve you the best any time you are back in Liberia.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa Wan wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel offered us complimentary drinks while we have to wait for them to sort out our booking with Expedia through hotels.com. They could not find out booking as Expedia did not send them the confirmation till later. Also Expedia put the wrong description on their website stating 2 twin beds rooms which should have been the price for 1 bed. The hotel owner and manager went an extra mile by giving us an one bedroom apartment and setting up an extra (queen sized) bed in the living room just for us! We will certainly highly recommend the hotel to anyone who will stay in Liberia in their area! Their restaurant offered great complimentary breakfast and meals of big portion and good selections! A hotel that you can trust!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mona wrote a review Feb 2019
New Delhi, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
Room size is good, good large windows, large wardrobes useful for long stays. Dependable supply of hot water in the shower. Great terrace, which is the only outdoor space. And perfect location. As a single woman i felt safe in the hotel - which was important. Room Service staff have an unprofessional attitude. Laundry service came back without ironing. Food is not standardised - some days it is fine, and other days terrible. I got served a pepperoni pizza (USD10) with only 3 slice bits of pepperoni on it:) Restaurant staff tend to have a permanent sulk:)... they can send you plate of fried noodles without any accompanying condiments, not even pepper:) The owner seems to know the problems and is trying to correct the situation. Wish Murex the best:)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shehny, Owner at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded Feb 18, 2019
Dear Madam Good day, I want to thank you for your constructive comment and rest assure we are working hard to improve the capacity of our worker. Therefore, we will be able to improve on our service. we are looking forward to providing a new experience upon your next visit. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dr. Mohammad ABDELAZIZ wrote a review Dec 2018
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia12 contributions1 helpful vote
Choosing Murex Plaza while staying in Monrovia was more than perfect decision, I enjoyed a lot: starting from the professional staff and the hospitality of the owner of the hotel, you can enjoy different type of food; International, Liberian and Lebanese and housekeeping is excellent service, This is my experience with the place Dr. Mohammad
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
LiberiaMontserrado CountyMonrovia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
What are some of the property amenities at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Living Room, Kaldi's Koffee, and FuZion D'Afrique.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Arabic.
Does Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.