We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas

Certificate of Excellence
Roberts Field Highway-Kendeja Village | RLJ Boulevard, Monrovia, Liberia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monrovia
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Many things add up to a good stay at any hotel. We stayed at Kendeja multiple times and the high quality of service and attention to detail placed us at ease. The rooms were super quite, clean and comfortable, while the pool and deck area was relaxing with soft music. The environment was so relaxing that the day just flew... More 

Helpful?
Thank mweeks71
Monrovia, Liberia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at hotel several weeks ago, staff was attentive and welcoming. Rooms very clean with great wi-fi. A true sample of excellent hospitality. I enjoyed my stay and found the hotel to be friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank F2445OWab
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent 25 days at RLJ Kendeja. If you like city life this is not the place to be. The hotel is far from the main town and the neighborhood is not very safe. It's a great place to relax for a few days. The beach is clean and very safe. If you have a car and likes long rides... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wilfried J
Italy
Level Contributor
335 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 15 nights at the Kendeja on a business trip. All of the employees, especially the housekeeping and the food/beverage staff, were super friendly. There were no phones in the rooms, but I didn't miss it. The A/C blasts cold air and the rooms was comfortable the whole trip. The bathroom was spacious ad the shower worked well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danield528
Monrovia, Liberia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We didn't stay at the hotel, but at beach and pool side of it. Both sides offer c comfortable loungers with umbrellas or palm tree shade. There's beachside service for food and drinks. The waiters are around all times but don't push you to hard to order drinks and food immediately, which is nice when you want to relax a... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellingearthchild
Ghana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Food was okay but services was poor for a hotel like this,.... Housekeeper Ann was great! I love the interior decoration in the room very simple but classy. The view from my room was amazing. The ambiance is impressive. But I suggest that to make everything complete, the staff need some training.

Helpful?
1 Thank enyonam m
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

This is a hotel overlooking the Atlantic ocean so they have a very beautiful beach that is more for surfing as the waves are very rough and they make it really dangerous to swim esp if you are not a very good swimmer. I did not stay at that hotel; I just spent one Sunday with two work colleagues. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zakisaad
Mongolia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2016

We didnt stay at the hotel, we used their beach faiclities. Very comfortable loungers with umbrellas on a well cleaned beach. Good security presence. A few vendors who were very friendly and unagressive. Food and drinks served on the beach. The food was terrible. Wifi available in the AC bar. Friendly service

Helpful?
Thank Drafiki
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you had an enjoyable visit with us on your day out, and thank you for your observations. I was sorry to hear you did not like our Beach BBQ and I shall look into this to ensure it is not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

The hotel, pool, and grounds are gorgeous at first glance - but don't be fooled. The grounds are poorly kept, grass is dying, nothing seems quite clean enough, the food in the hotel is bearable at best and the service is the worst I have experienced at a hotel that caters to international guests. Restaurant waiters are poorly trained, have... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank ElleSortino
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am very sorry to hear about you experience at the Hotel. This is most definitely not our normal standard of service that we give our customers and I will be taking this up with my... More 

Maryland, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Beautiful hotel! Very modern and on the beach with the infinity pool. The rooms are so pretty with a great view of the beach. The bar and restaurant has great food. The hotel workers are so pleasant and accommodating. Great spa! Love the environment!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kymmee2013
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am so very happy that we got it just right for you when you stayed with us. We have, as a team, worked very hard to create a welcoming atmosphere and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas is a 78-room, four-star-plus resort set on 13 acres of West African Atlantic coast near Monrovia, the capital city of Liberia. The resort forms part of building the new Liberia and is the brainchild of Robert L. Johnson, founder of BET (Black Entertainment Television) and the RLJ Companies in the United States of America. Although still owned by RLJ Group of Companies, REDEFINE INTERNATIONAL HOTELS BLD has been managing the resort since April 1, 2013. The resort features an "à-la-carte" Restaurant adjacent to a sunny terrace on the pool deck with a lavish Sunday Brunch Buffet, as well as an in-doors main, fully AC Bar. It also has a Beach Bar & Grill, 24 Hours Room Service, a well appointed Spa, a Gym, a Pool, Laundry Services and a Gift and Souvenir Shop. Other features are 24-hour-power / fully AC / wireless internet / high security and international service standards.The Resort also has 2 luxurious banqueting rooms for up to 30/40 persons, which are suitable for conferences and other events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas

Address: Roberts Field Highway-Kendeja Village | RLJ Boulevard, Monrovia, Liberia
Location: Liberia > Montserrado County > Monrovia
Price Range: $225 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Rlj Kendeja Resort And Villas
Rlj Kendeja Resort & Villas Hotel Monrovia
Rlj Kendeja Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing