We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas
 Click to rate
new jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying here was not in my original plans but I'm very happy that I did. The rooms are excellent. Very comfortable bed and nice size room. Only couple complaints were there is no shower door so water is easy to get onto the bathroom floor and the bathroom doesn't have its own complete 4 walls, if that makes sense. not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krazyray42
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During a business trip we had the need to find accommodations that was convenient to the airport. Luckily we found this gem. The staff,room and amenities were great. The ocean location and beach area views were unexpected. We enjoyed good food and a local cocktail called a Dawa..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on TripAdvisor. It really is so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am so very happy that you found us when you were in Liberia. We really do have such a unique location that shows off the best that we as a destination...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a business traveller , I must say I found the staff and beaches and food and just everything wonderful.. from the first time I made contact, through booking and service.. beyond compare.. can't wait to come back, which we definitely will.. thank you. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LutherSJ
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am so very happy that we got it just right for you when you stayed with us. We have, as a team, worked very hard to create a welcoming atmosphere and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a considered trip that ticked all our boxes. Different people needing different things, spa, beach, food and beautiful weather. Stunning views, superb service, excellent facilities and a thoroughly helpful manager. Would definitely not hesitate to return again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamperlicious
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am so very happy that we got it just right for you when you stayed with us. We have, as a team, worked very hard to create a welcoming atmosphere and...

Reviewed January 11, 2017

This resort is a true hidden gem! Located right on the beach, we had an ocean view from our room. The resort is managed extremely well, staff is great and the food is consistently good with a ton of options. A very peaceful and relaxing place to be and 100% where I will be staying next time I am in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryland H
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am so very pleased that we got it just right for you when you stayed with us. We have, as a team, worked very hard to create a welcoming atmosphere and...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed January 8, 2017

We were visiting Liberia with my husband and wanted a night away, so decided to stay here. Booked on hotels.com and got a great rate. When we got there, front desk was not friendly at all, and didn't even check id to confirm it was us.... Then we got to our room, the size of the room was decent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write review on TripAdvisor. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay with us and I shall certainly be addressing the points made and will talk to my Reception team as this is not...

Naugatuck, Connecticut
Reviewed December 26, 2016

I visited this property several days in a row one week in early December. I did not stay on the premises, but I dined, breakfasted and lunched at the restaurant a number of times. The premises are well kept, and the location near the ocean is idyllic. The staff is friendly, attentive and courteous. Every single meal at the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BloomingMisfit
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really do appreciate the feedback that this gives. I am so pleased that you had such a great time with us when you visited, and delighted you so enjoyed our food offering. It sounds like you had a good time exploring our menu and I'm delighted that...

Reviewed December 8, 2016

Living near to this hotel and I often briefly pop in to use the facilities for a quiet place to escape, good food, service with a smile and beautiful beach. However, a friend treated me to a pamper day and it was heaven! I was warmly greeted by a smiling Oretha and from the start she made me feel relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am so very pleased that we got it just right for you when you visited the Oasis Spa. it really is a little piece of heaven when you get looked after...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Stayed here a few times for a total of around 10-14 nights. The rooms are really nice and you get a lot of privacy. The gym is also nice. There is a swimming pool but it is often very dirty. Great beach! I would classify the food as decent. Okay breakfast and lunch/dinner options but not a lot of variety...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PinballCowboy
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. It is always so important for us to get our visitors feedback. I am happy that in general you enjoyed your stayed with us. However, I will look into the comments you have raised and ensure that we improve in the areas highlighted. I must admit...

Reviewed September 22, 2016

Although we did enjoy our stay at this resort, it was tired and the room we were in only had one cup and one small bottle of water. The kettle couldn't be plugged in as there was no adapter. The bed was comfortable, however the bottom sheet did not fit the mattress. For the price we paid to stay we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charmaine U
RJPeck, General Manager at RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I'm happy hear that in general you had an enjoyable stay with us, but disappointed that we go so many little things wrong and I shall investigate these to ensure these are not an ongoing issue. Through your visit it does appear that we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monrovia hotels
7.8 mi away
Royal Grand Hotel
Royal Grand Hotel
#3 of 14 in Monrovia
158 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palm Spring Resort - Liberia
8.7 mi away
Bella Casa Hotel & Suites
Bella Casa Hotel & Suites
#7 of 14 in Monrovia
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#4 of 14 in Monrovia
18 reviews
10.6 mi away
Embassy Suites Hotel
Embassy Suites Hotel
#2 of 22 in Monrovia
19 reviews
8.1 mi away
Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
Murex Plaza Hotel & Suites
#1 of 22 in Monrovia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas is a 78-room, four-star-plus resort set on 13 acres of West African Atlantic coast near Monrovia, the capital city of Liberia. The resort forms part of building the new Liberia and is the brainchild of Robert L. Johnson, founder of BET (Black Entertainment Television) and the RLJ Companies in the United States of America. Although still owned by RLJ Group of Companies, REDEFINE INTERNATIONAL HOTELS BLD has been managing the resort since April 1, 2013. The resort features an "à-la-carte" Restaurant adjacent to a sunny terrace on the pool deck with a lavish Sunday Brunch Buffet, as well as an in-doors main, fully AC Bar. It also has a Beach Bar & Grill, 24 Hours Room Service, a well appointed Spa, a Gym, a Pool, Laundry Services and a Gift and Souvenir Shop. Other features are 24-hour-power / fully AC / wireless internet / high security and international service standards.The Resort also has 2 luxurious banqueting rooms for up to 30/40 persons, which are suitable for conferences and other events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas

Address: Roberts Field Highway-Kendeja Village | RLJ Boulevard, Monrovia, Liberia
Location: Liberia > Montserrado County > Monrovia
Price Range: $226 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rlj Kendeja Resort And Villas
Rlj Kendeja Resort & Villas Hotel Monrovia
Rlj Kendeja Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from RLJ Kendeja Resort & Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles 94MikeS, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Get an ocean view if possible!”
 of 5 bubbles rylandh2017, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 949maggies, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for Oretha for any spa treatments!”
 of 5 bubbles 327helenl, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“The layout for the villas is very spread out. If you want to get away from it all, try to get a villa near the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Davybert, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question