We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Aknac Hotel

Trasacco Valley, Accra, Ghana
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Aknac Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice hotel to simply relax. I enjoyed it here very much and spent 4 days lazing around the pool. Had an airport pick up, very useful as hotel was slightly off beaten track. It was a nice first impression, I was greeted with a warm welcome, a cold freshly squeezed drink and friendly staff. Stayed in a nice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Josef F
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is horrible. There are bugs in the rooms, the food, etc. No internet that works, extremely poor service, manipulation of prices and inconsistencies in charges. Horrifying experience. RUN AWAY. Don't allow the look of the hotel to deceive you about the service you will receive. The service is horiffic.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nia M
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/madam, We do not have a reservation under your name in any of our records, therefore we cannot respond to the allegations made. We urge the trip advisor community to read the reviews below in order to gain a factual view of the hotel from guests that have actually stayed. Regards RESERVATIONS More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i'm used to travelling around the world and staying in luxury hotels. I had never visited Ghana before and was keen to see what the country had to offer. I choose this hotel based on reviews that I had got from the internet and also a recommendation from my friend who had visited Ghana and had gone for a drink... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank kwab a
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

I’m not usually one to post reviews but after reading some of the others on Tripadvisor, felt inclined to also add my opinion. I had a very good experience staying at this hotel. First time staying here as I’m usually a fan of the larger city chains such as holiday inn, but it was well worth the change. I have... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Michel B
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

I would like to revert to an earlier review put up on this forum without my consent. This was done by an over enthusiastic colleague. I think it was wrong to have put that up when constant comms was still ongoing between myself and the hotel management. I did have issues with some of the services provided by the hotel,... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Hardegun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

This hotel is advertised as a four star (first class) hotel which is true but only in theory and very misleading to say the least The realities on the ground from our experiences as a family was nothing to write home about but if one chooses this hotel it is better to keep expectations as low as possible so as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank David N
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Very Good Place, the staff is helpful and friendly, the quality of food decent, though health club was not as great, and pool not so clean, but rest of place is clean and the good and friendly staff makes is very good experience overall

Helpful?
3 Thank Rajeev A
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rajeev A, Thankyou for posting your review. We are most appreciative of the positive feedback. With regards to the swimming pool comments, we have it cleaned several times per week and we sincerely apologise if it was in the cleaning process/out of action during your stay. We understand that this poses an inconvenience for guests, but it is of... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Was recommmended this hotel from a friend who had stayed before and it certainly met my expectations. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and happy to help. There was construction at thee back of the hotel but did not disturb me and was quite interesting to watch. Type of place where you feel relaxed and at home. Food sometimes... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Goodfaith A
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goodfaith A, Thankyou so much for posting your review. We are always appreciative of guest feedback and are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. It was a pleasure meeting you and we wish you the best of luck with your wonderful business venture. Best wishes Mary More 

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Place is run down, rooms are clean but leaves lot to desire, no toiletries, just shampoo is what you get as they don't have stock for body wash and body cream, the lights were not working when checked in, took 2 days and 4 reminders to get it fixed. the swimming pool in 10 days stay couldn't use even one... More 

Helpful?
Thank atarrun
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thankyou for your feedback. We were incredibly disappointed to read the comments and have investigated the points raised. The hotel is not "run down", however, regretfully, there were obviously issues with your designated room. Management have discussed all concerns with our housekeeping supervisor. All rooms are provided with complimentary toiletries including shampoo, shower gel, soaps, in addition to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

Aknac had very lovely pictures and looked quite cosmopolitan so we decided to give it a try for our one night stay in Accra... First the good part, lovely structure but location ?...also room Service was a quite slow ( we practically fell asleep waiting for the food!) room was ok ...all would have been forgiven but they charged our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dubem N
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dubem N, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. In response, we have checked our system and any refunds processed during March 2014 were processed without any issues. Please kindly email me directly with the specific details of the refund and I will gladly look into this for you Enquiries@theaknachotel.com I look forward to hearing from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
6.1 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#2 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
3.2 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#25 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
10.6 mi away
Osdahouse Home Lodge
Osdahouse Home Lodge
#3 of 183 in Accra
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#