We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The African Regent Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The African Regent Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 260: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is clean, beautifully appointed with African art, the staff are helpful, the restaurant is quite good and there is a currency exchange right on the premises. For my first trip to Ghana, it was terrific!

Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
AfricanRegentHotel, Director of Sales at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jodi R, Thank you for sharing a glowing review of our property on Trip Advisor . We are excited to learn that we made your stay with us memorable.Our doors are always open to welcome you back again to The African Regent Hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

African Regent hotel is a very family friendly hotel its kind of located in a busy part of Accra but it really does not affect the general appeal of the Hotel. It's staff is very friendly and you don't always find that in some of the Hotels these days. The decor when you enter the Hotel is appealing.Also I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank angelakumi11
AfricanRegentHotel, Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angelakumi11, We are grateful for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your friendly trip here and found our decor to be most appealing. Your comments regarding the staff are also most appreciated. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit... More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not to bad I suppose, but could be so much better. Staff was not very helpful, took them a couple of try's to sort out my aircon - which you WILL need in Accra. Their food was a let down in a big way - and of course like everything in Accra - not value for money. Just a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank G_I_B_8
AfricanRegentHotel, Director of Sales at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear G_I_B_8, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the valuable comments you have shared with us.Please be rest assured that your feedback will be used as a tool to improve the total guest experience. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity on your next trip. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent three of my honeymoon nights at the African Regent Hotel and was impressed with the service i received. What attracted me to the hotel from all other hotels is the choice of MODERN AFRICAN ART & DECOR right from the lobby to the bathrooms. I spent one night in one of the SUITES with a balcony having a... More 

Helpful?
Thank drakoni
AfricanRegentHotel, Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Drakoni, Thank you for your excellent review and the time taken to share your experience with us and the other Trip Advisor travellers worldwide. We are pleased to know you had an amazing experience while staying with us.We find it rewarding when our efforts are recognized and appreciated. We look forward to having you with us again. Warm regards. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Courteous staff; neat rooms; nice ambience. Strategically located in the Airport Residential Area of Accra,Ghana's capital, what I love about this hotel is its closeness to the Kotoka International Airport, Accra, the Shoprite at the Tettequarshie interchange and proximity to major Ghanaian government establishments, including the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration. Even though I will prefer a swivel,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin-Luther K
AfricanRegentHotel, Director of Sales at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin-Luther K, We appreciate you taking time off to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are excited to read about your wonderful remarks about The African Regent Hotel. Please do recognize us as your home away from home and we look forward to welcoming you again Martin-Luther K. Best regards. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

The Africa Regent is comfortable, the decor is African inspired and welcoming, although both the rooms and public areas are are bit tired and could do with a refresh. The downstairs bar is well located and serves great snack meals. The breakfast spread is good although be sure to order your eggs, bacon and sausages when you get there as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank huckfinn77
AfricanRegentHotel, Director of Sales at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Huckfinn77, Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your recent stay at our hotel. The African Regent Hotel strives to provide highly personalized and excellent customer service to every guest. Your kind words have been relayed to our entire team and is a great source of motivation for us all. Looking forward to welcoming... More 

France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Hotel makes a good first impression. Room was fine; comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, service was mixed - struggling to place order when restaurant wasn't busy ( almost begrudgingly accepted th order) - breakfast however had bar meal the following evening and service was polite and very efficient. Food quality was good and prices were ok for Accra standards.

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
AfricanRegentHotel, Director of Sales at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, Thank you for your excellent review and the time taken to share your experience with us and the other Trip Advisor travellers worldwide. We are pleased to know you had an amazing experience while staying with us. We find it rewarding when our efforts are recognised and appreciated. Warm regards. More 

Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

I am writing this review as I sit in the lobby with my 3 year old. We have been here for 3 days. Every day, we had a problem accessing our room. Today instead of getting it fixed, we were first shifted to one room with all our luggage while my husband is at work and then shifted to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Palwascha J
AfricanRegentHotel, Director of Sales at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Palwascha J, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at The African Regent hotel. Please accept our sincerest appologies for the bad experience you had at our property. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make things right with you. We look forward to your next visit. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

I came to the African Regent Hotel for a meeting in February this year. I apparently lost my wallet containing money and vital documents, I realised this after i had left the hotel.I came back the following day and i was told by the Guest Relations Officer that nothing was found ,she took my details and made a follow up.After... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brightshine
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brightshine, We thoroughly enjoyed reading about your recent experience at our property and are indeed grateful for your candid feedback. Your recollection of your experience with our guest relations officer is truly appreciated and we are so glad to learn our team was able to go above and beyond to assist you with your wallet. Your review has been... More 

Tamale, Ghana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Overall, the experience was a heart warming one. The room was clean and the services apt. It had this welcoming African presence as you walk into the hotel with smiling faces to welcome you. We had a one week training there and I must say food was good - rich varieties. My observation was that I stayed in one room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bkemakolam
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bkemakolam, It was our pleasure hosting you and taking care of you during your stay in Accra. We appreciate you sharing the experience you had at The African Regent hotel with us and travellers across the world. We are excited to learn that you found the experience a heart warming one as it is always our priority to ensure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#3 of 93 in Accra
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#9 of 93 in Accra
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.8 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed décor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Address: 237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT 6143, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Price Range: $208 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Accra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay