We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pink Hostel

Expedia.com$34*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Pink Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
Start your review of Pink Hostel
 Click to rate
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed April 13, 2017

I find it really easy to begin an extended stay in Ghana by using the Pink Hostel in Accra. Over the last 3 years their ability to serve me respectfully has been so valuable amidst the chaos of Africa. The staff knows how it feels for Westerners acclimating to this country of great people. And there's a great shop a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahenkroamma
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

thank you for giving us a good rating and for recommending our hostel to other travelers. I'm happy that our staff made your stay very pleasant. I will be looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hostel. take care.

Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

Africa! Your first visit starts here. Arriving in Accra, a good choice for acclimating to the surroundings is the Pink Hostel. Whether a dorm room or a single or double room, you'll sleep well and be off to a good start. In Africa, Ghana is probably the safest country to visit. Not perfect - and pedestrians aren't respected like most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouFoxweartravels
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Lou, thanks for the feedback, I am glad to hear that we are your first choice whenever you visit Accra. we are always looking for ways to improve our performance so all your comments about the breakfast, Air condition are noted and steps will be made to improve it. As for Accra being expensive those are economic factors which...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

I only stayed here as it was part of the program I'd signed up for to volunteer with in Ghana. As it's hot in Ghana, you probably won't mind that there is no hot water with the showers, and only by dousing yourself with the provided small buckets will you have enough water pressure for a shower. The dorm rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback as it helps us identify the areas to improve upon. we appreciate your comments about aspect of our single room being small, i want to ensure you management are currently taking steps to put up a new facility but for now we can't do anything about it. we apologize...

Reviewed January 29, 2017

Service was more than you could expect of a hostel. Luggage was lost at a transit, and did not arrive with the next flight, like the flight company had promised. I had appointments at other locations, so could not stay any longer than one night in Accra. When I told this to the staff, they offered to collect the luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieter-233
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Dear pieter-233 please accept a big thank you from all of us here at pink. we were happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience. thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip. take care.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Located was ok. Close enough to the main spots. But found the place pretty disappointing. Showers had almost no water so had to use a bucket. I'm ok with that normally but $20 for a dorm room you expect more. Breakfast was bread and fried potatoes. Did the job but nothing exciting. The staff weren't very friendly at all. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett N
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hostel and for taking the time to write a review. i would like to apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused you, management is sorry to hear we weren't up to the standard you expect from us. All the issues raised is well noted and am assuring you management is putting appropriate measure in...

USA
Reviewed April 25, 2016

SO I booked this hostel online because my couch surfer had somewhere to go and I couldn't stay longer than a couple of days. I love the ambiance here at night, very serene. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was basic and the shower had almost no water pressure and the hot water lasted all of 20 seconds....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bucketlist2013
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and bringing to our attention the issues you have encountered during your visit. Apologies for the ares that did not meet your expectations. The issues raised will be addressed and be assured of a much more comfortable stay on your next visit to Pink Hostel

Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

Very average hostel.. but i think it is too expensive for what yoy are getting.. i stayed in 6 bed dorm which is very cramped. The rooms bathrooms are quite old. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were clean. The restaurant is good. The staff are lovely and friendly. The food is pretty good. I asked at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chip748
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Pink Hostel and for praising our staff for keeping the hostel clean and being friendly, which they will be pleased to hear. It is in management plan to improve the bathrooms. I am sure if the lady had known your need she would have been able to recommend a place nearby. We apologize if you were...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 13, 2016

In some ways- this place did have some pros: - super friendly and helpful staff - good AC - good breakfast selection - fairly decent location in Accra - good internet However, when I made the booking - I said I needed hot water (as I had been rural for many weeks) - I was guaranteed hot water and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dher5
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at Pink Hostel and posting this review. We appreciate the positive comments about staff and breakfast selection. Thank you for raising this issue about hot water. It will be addressed by management. Be assured of a more comfortable stay on your next visit.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 3, 2016

I really wish I could rave about our overnight stay at Pink Hostel but it pales compared to Access Inn in Osu were we stayed for two nights. To start, the entrance smells like fish (IMO) or my husband said petrol. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom breakfast included (more expensive than Access Inn). The room itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank genibre69
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and review. The drainage had been cleared the day you checked in; hence the smell in the room. it is clear now and air fresheners have been put in the rooms to ensure a more pleasant smell upon entry. I am sorry to hear you had difficulties logging onto the WiFi. We have a different...

Drammen, Norway
Reviewed March 28, 2016

A friendly, safe and secure hotel with a good, central location in Accra. Clean AC rooms; welcoming staff; fresh, varied breakfast- a good base that covers your needs. We stayed here 10 years ago and were happy to see that it's still an ideal place to stay for a first time visitor to Accra.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkSaundersGB
Pink H, General Manager at Pink Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at Pink Hostel again and taking time to post this review. We appreciate the positive review. The staff is motivated and will always strive to offer our guests the best of services. Kindly visit us on your next visit to Accra.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#35 of 92 in Accra
17 reviews
1.9 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#64 of 92 in Accra
56 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#33 of 92 in Accra
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
575 reviews
2.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.0 mi away
Agoo Hostel
Agoo Hostel
#2 of 190 in Accra
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Akwabaa! Welcome to Ghana, welcome to Pink Hostel International. Pink Hostel is an International Student Hostel, the first of its kind in Ghana. The unique Pink Hostel is a member of the International Youth Hostel Association and is an ideal first stop for anyone visiting Ghana. Located in a peaceful, residential area within the heart of Accra, with a variety of accommodation options to suit students and volunteers, individuals and groups, those working in Ghana or families on vacation, Pink Hostel provides a safe and relaxing environment and a perfect introduction to the country. Student groups, NGO workers, travelers and tourists, particularly those visiting Africa for the first time, enjoy our secure and welcoming atmosphere. The vision of the hostel is to create a hallmark of quality service, offering a variety of accommodation options and providing good quality, fresh food at affordable prices. We hope you enjoy your stay at Pink Hostel.ABOUT PINK HOSTELOur LocationSituated in the tranquil, residential neighbourhood of Asylum Down, Pink Hostel is set in a prime location in Accra. We are ideally located in a relaxing and peaceful area, away from the continuous activity and hubbub of the capital, but central enough that we are within walking distance of many attractions in Accra and only a short drive from the vibrant, buzzing centre with all its sights and amenities. Guests at Pink Hostel can safely walk around the neighbourhood, and may visit attractions such as the National Museum, Kwame Nkrumah Circle and Adabraka Market on foot. From immediately outside the hostel it easy to pick up a taxi, from where it is only a short drive to sights such as Independence Square and the Makola Market and amenities in the lively Oxford Street in Osu. Pink Hostel is a mere 15 minute drive from Kotoka International airport and is within easy reach of bus stations and transport hubs for travel around the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pink Hostel

Address: 5th Crescent, Asylum Down, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Price Range: $20 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pink Hostel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pink Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not accept a room on the ground floor next to reception , it is in very bad shape and noisy and you dont get hot water.”
MNOR19, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
LeanneDedunu, Jul 10, 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in 3 different rooms while I was there. The 2nd floor didn't get water when the power was off so no chance to cool down. The 1st floor above reception had a good Wi-Fi signal. I had a single room for 2 nights but it was a bit too small for me. I moved the next night to a double.”
BajanDreamer, May 12, 2015 | Read review
“If you are booking through a third party, such as Expedia, please ensure that you contact the hotel directly to confirm the type of room you have paid for.”
982lennid, Mar 4, 2015 | Read review
“Though it is a hassle carrying your bags up, try and stay above the first floor which is highly trafficked.”
EmLou1221, Jan 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$34* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$62
Hotwire.com$37
Booking.com$40
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates