We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Washington Hotel

Save
Share
Bole Sub City Wereda 3 House #054 Mickyliland Street across the street from The European Union, Addis Ababa 10000 Ethiopia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/11/21
Booking.com
$49
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$53
$44
View deal
SAVE $9
Expedia.com$53
Priceline$49
Travelocity$53
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (55)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Washington Hotel
Updated 02/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#65 of 204 hotels in Addis Ababa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the luxurious 4-star Washington Hotel in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia Conveniently located in the epicenter of the downtown Bole area, directly across the street from the European Union. As a cultural fusion hotel, we are committed to serving the international business and leisure traveler, providing guests with the ultimate experience that blends the lifestyle traditions of Washington, DC and Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The stylish and sophisticated Washington Hotel surpasses all expectations offering 70 luxurious guest rooms & suites, 2 on-site restaurants, 3 bars, a spacious conference room/wedding hall, Gym & Spa, business centre, travel agency, gift shops, and plenty of underground parking. Last but not least, we provide the only 2 levelled penthouse suite in Ethiopia that encompasses 5 guest rooms, a state of the art contemporary kitchen, a living room, a family room, multiple bathrooms, a bar, personal jacuzzi/steam/sauna and a roomy balcony with 360 views of downtown Addis Ababa.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic
63Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 12
  • 14
  • 12
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christine F wrote a review Jan 2021
Canada7 contributions
Hotel was booked by Ethiopian airlines for transit layover and was very disappointing. Dinner was stale buffet food with limited options. Wifi wasn’t working until I physically went down to reception and stood there until she fixed it. Room was unsatisfactory; found used chewing gum on the bedside table and there was an open drain in the middle of the bathroom floor. The worst was the numerous interruptions in the morning. My flight was not until 230pm therefore I was to take the noon shuttle back to the airport. I was called at 730am for a wake up call! Then housekeeping came at 815am! Then I was called again at 1030am and directed to go take the shuttle to the airport, which I refused. Staff need to be more organized and allow transit travellers time to rest! This was very frustrating
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Manaye Tesfaye, General Manager at Washington Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2021
Dear Christine F Warm greetings from Washington Hotel Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short.   know our front office and housekeeping team will do everything in their power to not disturb you, however, on the occasion, we failed to do that, it may require special attention to our housekeeping team to clean the room properly. Regarding the internet, it is sometimes beyond our capacity. The issue is related to the main provider, but if it is from our side, I assure you we will do everything to make it better. It is totally unacceptable, we understand that all the raised issues are very important to you and we failed to give what you truly deserve. Once again we are truly sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you. With Ethiopian hospitality regards,
Read more
Abdinasir O wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
Hellow friends I stayed this hotel nice hotel but the food specially non Ethiopian are terrible they need improve their cooking.This is not to put down anyone just to make it better for the future thanks
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Manaye Tesfaye, General Manager at Washington Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Dear Palestin P Warm greetings from Washington Hotel Thank you for letting us knows about our non-Ethiopian dish. Your feedback helps us get better. We are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. With Ethiopian Hospitality regards,
Read more
Christoph S wrote a review Jun 2020
New Delhi, India5 contributions
Warning! Don‘t go here! I had to spent two weeks quarantine inside this so called hotel. It is noisy, dirty, I found many tiny insects in the bathroom and in the bed. I‘m still suffering under bedbucks. Next door there are several construction sites, even in the night It was terrible. The worst is, that they don‘t know anything about service. In the end I had to fight to get back my passport. Overall it was only frustrating.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Sorry, but any room in an other hotel would be better
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ManayeT1, General Manager at Washington Hotel
Responded Jun 15, 2020
We would like to apologize for your recent experience. We're sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with our service. Regarding the insects, after you told us during your arrival, we’ve called our pest control and you told us the insects are gone. The other thing is noise, as you know Addis Ababa is under construction, there are noises everywhere, and our hotel is a little bit advantageous less noise. Regarding your passport, it is a government policy, we are not allowed to hand over customers’ passport before we receive a certificate from the Ministry of Health. We value our customers' opinions and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Yours sincerely, Manaye Tesfaye General Manager
Read more
Farai wrote a review Nov 2019
Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo11 contributions
+1
I was booked in this hotel courtesy of Ethiopian Airlines. Since I have acquired Sheba Gold status, I assumed this would also be reflected in the standards of the standard hotels. So I was pleased to note that I was booked in a "4-star hotel". Check in: The check in was conveyor belt style, with the usual courtesies like greetings and smiles being suspended. Information (dinner, breakfast, shuttle times) was only provided on request. Room: the room old and is in a state of disintegration, with various attempts to patch up the numerous defects. In particular, the following were noted: - the cable for the bedside lamp (the only light) was broken and looked potentially dangerous. Switching on the light required some manipulation of the defective cable. - the bathroom needs rearranging, the sink is not easily accessible because of the toiled seat. The shower was not draining at all, and THERE WAS NO COLD WATER! - Dinner was very very basic nutrition I guess. Maybe it was because it was late in the evening. - The carpet looked dirty, with what looked like flakes from the wall paint littering the floor. Final verdict: the hotel is in need of major renovation, service can also be improved.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from ManayeT1, Manager at Washington Hotel
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Dear Farai M I apologize on behalf of everyone at the Washington Hotel and Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you found our hotel service and facility below your expectation. We have addressed this straight away to our staff and escalated it to the management for immediate action; to ensure that some of the problems are not repeated again. At present we’re taking steps to upgrade our room facilities, implementing utmost care in our appliance maintenance, and also we are giving an intense training to our staffs. Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you! With Ethiopian Hospitality regards, Manaye Tesfaye General Manager
Read more
Catherine G wrote a review Nov 2019
19 contributions7 helpful votes
The staff weren't really able to do any of the things we asked for which meant this was a really frustrating stay. They had no change so couldn't exchange any money for us. We ordered two sandwiches from the bar which took over 40 minutes to make, we were also told the small sandwich was 'unavailable' which is nonsense, just use 6 pieces of bread instead of 12! We then didn't have time to finish the food before we had to go out so asked them to take the rest up to our room along with the bill. We never saw the food again and someone knocked on our door late at night, waking us up to ask us to pay the bill rather than leaving it in the room as we'd asked. When we got back from our day out the power was out (which seems to be a frequent occurrence here) so they couldn't make us any food or take payment for our drinks. They also didn't bring us a candle to see by despite taking them to other groups. While we were sleeping we had a knock on the door from two men who had got the wrong room, one of the cleaners let herself in, the man turned up with the bill we'd asked for hours before and we had a phonecall from someone who hung up when we answered. We had to leave early in the morning and our guide asked them to have ready for us at 5.30am, they did not. At about 6am they brought out some fruit which we grabbed some of before we had to leave for our flight. So all in all not a relaxing stay at all!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from ManayeT1, General Manager at Washington Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear Ms Catherine G Thank you very much for your honest review of your November stays at our hotel. We would like to express our apologies that you had a negative experience in our hotel. We have addressed all the raised issue straight away to our staff and escalated it to the management for immediate action; to ensure that this incident is not repeated again. At present we’re taking steps to upgrade our services and power breakdown etc. Once again please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this has caused. Apologies for the time taken to respond With much appreciation, Manaye Tesfaye
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EthiopiaAddis Ababa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Washington Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Washington Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sabegn (0.3 miles), New Ethiopia Tours (0.6 miles), and Bob & Bongo's (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Washington Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Washington Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Washington Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Washington Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Washington Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bait Al Mandi, La Mandoline, and Makush Art Gallery & Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Washington Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Washington Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Washington Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Washington Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Washington Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Washington Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Arabic.