We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Djibouti Palace Kempinski

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Djibouti Palace Kempinski
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I thiks is the best Hotel in Djbouti town .. The service and amenities was great.. Obviously its not a cheap hotel but its well worth it .. There are 2 different Pools .. the one open to the public and the one thats private to hotel guests only .. the gym was great so was the spa.. i really... More 

Helpful?
Thank fromAfrica75
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm greetings from Djibouti Palace Kempinski Thank you for patronizing our hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. It is gratifying to receive feedback from you. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit to the hotel. Thank you for your appreciation of the facilities and services of the hotel. We have... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My second stay at this 4 star hotel. It has all of the amenities and is clean and the staff speak English and are accommodating. The food is expensive but everything in Djibouti is. Most of the rooms have an ocean view. It has no self-laundry facilities. It is safe and is well guarded. This area is not a vacation... More 

Helpful?
Thank curt h
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Curt H, Warm greetings from Djibouti Palace Kempinski. Thank very much for your interest in our Hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are very glad to know that you have nice experience during your stay our Hotel. All your great words will be shared with our team. Your positive feedback is always a source of motivation for... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 5 days, staff is kind and helpful. All is clean. Most of all!! do not miss the Italian restaurant! Antipasti pizza and risotto were a treat! Delicious food. And the spa! Hammam and facial! Thank you Nilhu.

Helpful?
Thank Lamia B
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Lamia B, Thank you for patronizing our hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is gratifying to receive feedback from you. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit to the hotel. Thank you for your appreciation of the facilities and services of the hotel. We have shared your feedback with the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Be advised that, although confirmed the order twice, they may completely forget and serve a dish of pasta 1 hour later you place an order, then if you claim to cancel it because the party is over, they would still charge you the full amount and even feed you with that in a lunch box so to enjoy it in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Koji N
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Koji, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience at Djibouti Palace Kempinski It is with regrets that I read your comments about Tentazioni restaurant where your experience has not been as expected. I trust you had a pleasant time with your invitees aside of a mishap related to the food order which... More 

Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The worst idea to organize your wedding. Some of the flaws include dysfunctional AC, audio, light and deceptive food, all not even close to what a 5 stars should be. Definitely the worst experience I had in a Palace and the worst Kempinski I have visited so far. I strongly recommend you do not take any risk organizing an event... More 

Helpful?
Thank shalamarstyle
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Assunção, It is with regret to read once again your comments even though you have already met senior management of the hotel and discussed the issues you report. As you outsourced certain services during your event, our hotel is not responsible for the issues that may have occurred in relation to these services. We acknowledge however that power... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Compare to the other hotels in Djibouti, this is considered very good. Atmosphere is very nice, pool is very good, and you can have evening coffee on the swimming pool with a nice sunset view. Staff were welcoming but I think it needs some more enhancements

Helpful?
Thank Faris A
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Faris A, Warm greetings from Djibouti Palace Kempinski. Thank very much for your interest in our Hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are very glad to know that you have nice experience during your stay in our Hotel. All your great words will be shared with our team. Your feedback and comments are always a source... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is not much in the way of luxury in Djibouti. The Kempinski is the exception to that rule. The hotel has security in place and everything inside is luxurious to standards outside of Djibouti. The restaurants in the hotel and on the grounds are nice and offer safe food, however that comes with a price. The hotel staff will... More 

Helpful?
Thank 902joshuaf
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank very much for your interest in our Hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are very glad to know that you have nice experience during your stay in Djibouti Palace Kempinski. Thank you for your appreciation of the facilities and services of the hotel. We take note of your comments in regards to prices but we... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Kempinski hotel is the best hotel and luxury in Djibouti, location is very good , i loved eat on it, the restaurant out side is very good idea and the dish was very testy. My recommendation not to stay in another hotel if you dictated to visit Djibouti .

Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed G
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mohamed G. Warm greetings from Djibouti Palace Kempinski. Thank very much for your interest in our Hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are very glad to know that you have nice experience during your stay in our Hotel. All your great words will be shared with our team. Your positive feedback is always a source of... More 

Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Best option in DJ that I know of. Depending on where you're coming from it'll be great or a struggle. The rooms are comfortable, there is a variety of food, pools, music, cocktails, AC. But, the power goes out. Often in the middle of the night leading to hot, sweaty sleep w/o the fun that might imply. Water pressure goes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FeetWet55
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Mr. FeetWet55, Thank you for sharing with us your experience and impression of your most recent stay at Djibouti Palace Kempinski. We always value feedback from our guests as it can help us improve and train our team members better. This is with disappointment that we learn we could not meet your expectations in some areas. We apologize for... More 

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

The Kempinski is the only luxury option in the country. It has two restaurants, spa, casino, pools with swim up bars, lounges and is a nice option in Djibouti. Expect to pay amounts such as $7 for a cappuccino, $12 for a glass of house red, $55 for the dinner buffet etc. Additionally, they often say they do not have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLoverOfSun
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this review

Dear Amy A, Warm greetings from Djibouti Palace Kempinski. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, we appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor.com because comments like this allow us to move from good to best. I have personally passed your message to the concerned employees and heads of departments to avoid such situation in future. We take note of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

466 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (392)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (153)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djibouti hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Djibouti Hotel
Sheraton Djibouti Hotel
#6 of 8 in Djibouti
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Acacias Hotel Djibouti
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#2 of 8 in Djibouti
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence de l'Europe
0.6 mi away
Auberge le Heron
Auberge le Heron
#1 of 8 in Djibouti
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal D Plaza
Royal D Plaza
#1 of 5 in Djibouti
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Away from the busy districts, yet only few minutes from the airport, Djibouti Palace Kempinski is ideally located at a prime beachfront between the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, in a secluded and peaceful setting of palms and bougainvillea. Djibouti Palace Kempinski features a plethora of entertainment amenities, including a fully equipped fitness center, mountain bikes, outdoor swimming pool, mini club, restaurants and bars. Djibouti Palace Kempinski redefines luxury service in the Land of Gods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Djibouti Palace Kempinski

Address: Ilot du Heron | P.O. Box 1960, Djibouti, Djibouti
Location: Djibouti > Djibouti
Price Range: $353 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Djibouti Palace Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Djibouti Palace Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djibouti Palace Kempinski Hotel Djibouti
Palace Kempinski Hotel Djibouti
Palace Kempinski Djibouti
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay