We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victoria Falls Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (3872)
Dining (266)
Room & Suite (129)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 24 hotels in Victoria Falls
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
EDWARDIAN STYLE HOTEL Established in 1904, The Victoria Falls Hotel overlooks the magnificent Batoka Gorge with the Victoria Falls only a 10 minute walk away through the hotel’s path, 22km from Victoria Falls Airport. FACILITIES – This gracious Edwardian – style hotel is set in lush gardens, with three restaurants, a swimming pool, spa, hair salon, gym, mini golf (putt putt), in addition assortment of local art throughout the hotel grounds. The hotel epitomises the romance of grand travel with total relaxation. The highlight is traditional High Tea on the terrace and dinner at Jungle Junction offering a view of the Victoria Falls Bridge and Batoka Gorge, displaying the spectacular African show at night. ACCOMMODATION - The 161 en-suite bedrooms and suites are fully air conditioned, with telephones, complimentary Wi-Fi and satellite television.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,448 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in a picturesque setting near waterfalls, The Victoria Falls Hotel wins the hearts of guests with its colonial elegance and beautifully kept grounds. While the rooms boast a historic charm, some guests have called out issues with maintenance and dated decor. The hotel's cleanliness generally garners praise, though opinions on value and service vary, with some travelers finding the cost high for the experience and noting service can be hit or miss. Despite this, the hotel's atmosphere and amenities are often appreciated, offering a unique blend of nostalgia and comfort.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Pampering
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3448Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,101
  • 905
  • 277
  • 104
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
CruiserDeluxe wrote a review Feb 2024
Fresno, CA, USA92 contributions
Very nice British style hotel but in need of sprucing up. Rooms are well appointed but in need of fresh paint. Grounds are kept up very well. Views from public areas made the stay very enjoyable. The river, the people and the animals made us smile all day!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris D wrote a review Feb 2024
Oxford, United Kingdom168 contributions
The Victoria Falls Hotel (VFH) is part of the history of the British Empire, like Raffles Hotel in Singapore, or the Stanley Hotel in Nairobi, and it plugs its Imperial associations with nostalgic travel posters and sepia photographs, and in pride of place in the main lounge are two full length portraits of King George V and Queen Mary. It occupies a prime site overlooking the hairpin loop over the Zambezi over which runs the Victoria Falls Bridge, built in 1904. It does justice to all these associations. It is also the most expensive hotel at which we have ever stayed, and at those prices, perhaps expectations are impossible to meet. We felt our room was comfortable but dark, with minimal lighting not all of which worked. There was curiously little shelf space into which to unpack our clothes. There are beautiful gardens begging to be used but only 4 loungers in a hotel of 160 rooms. The food was not unreasonably priced but not special. Service was super attentive, almost to the point of being irritating. The mattresses at the loungers at the swimming pool always slid off the chairs. We don't regret having stayed there but didn't feel it quite lived up to its hype.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
SharonVWilson wrote a review Feb 2024
Harare, Zimbabwe69 contributions
From arrival to departure the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was lovely with views over the garden and ponds. Tea and coffee station, good sized TV, mosquito nets with plenty of room to walk around the bed. Compact bathroom. Lots of cocktails to choose from, and the old favourites like gin and tonic. Food and beverage services was a little slow, but worth waiting for. Fresh salads, tasty food. Traditional dancers at Jungle Junction were exciting and professional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear SharonVWilson, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. We always appreciate hearing about our guests` experience as this is most valuable in helping us excel in meeting your personal needs. We look forward to hosting you again soon. warm regards Judith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Safiya N wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions
This hotel is steeped in history but now it is not well maintained as things are just broken. To pay the amount of money we did is just ridiculous. Food is inadequate and cleaning services in the room below par and I can go on...... Needless to say this is very badly managed property with incompetent staff members and management
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Safiyan2024, Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at The Victoria Falls Hotel. We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are disappointed when we do not meet the expectations of our valuable guests, such as yourself. Your feedback is most valuable in helping us do better, as your comments are taken to heart for prompt and accurate resolutions. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bev Y wrote a review Jan 2024
Manchester3 contributions
We stayed 3 nights at the vic Falls Hotel. Fantastic terrace & view. We were lucky and had excellent weather plus a full moon, so could not ask for more. Our room was newly renovated and although not overly spacious was very pleasant and serviced our needs. ( just be careful of a rather slippy shower, should have realised when designing - use the plastic mat!) The hotel is a bit run down in some areas and in particular the pool. It needs some renovation and umbrellas as very little shaded area unless you move beds into the garden. Felt the hotel could have made better use of the terrace with a few more tables and chairs as at times got busy. The fantastic lawned area could have also benefited from a couple of loungers to sit and enjoy the view underneath the trees with a drink. Breakfast was okay, fresh fruit, cooked items, egg station, but I did not like the burning paraffin lamps spreading fumes all over the food as insect deterrents. Food in general was a reasonable standard. Couple of points on Zimbabwe - On entering Zimbabwe be aware that a visa charge is imposed $50 + depending if you also wish to cross to Zambia and back. They only take cash and preferably USD. Other currencies at a push but no cards. There is also a charge to get into the National Park (Victoria Falls). Each entry incurs between $30-$50 dollars - there is no multiple entry, so each activity incurs a separate charge and this mounts up quickly. USD seems to be the main currency and be prepared to take small notes for tipping. There is a reluctance to give change and it is difficult to exchange notes in hotels and banks as they claim to have a shortage of smaller notes! Goodness knows where they go as enough appear to be given out in tips! Cash and tipping is king in this country so go forewarned and forearmed with small notes and be prepared to tip. Some hawkers are a real pest and can be quite aggressive but they are just trying to make a living. There are some decent stalls where you are adding to the economy but do barter.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take small USD notes. Be prepared to tip
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Man1422, Thank you for sharing your feedback both positive and constructive. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide and your comments have been taken to heart for team engagement. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you at The Victoria Falls Hotel again soon. Kind regards, Judith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PortolaValleyLMS wrote a review Jan 2024
Portola Valley, California322 contributions
This hotel is the classic grand dame of the Victoria Falls area. The location can’t be beat. The view of the bridge connecting Zimbabwe to Zambia is stunning and it can be seen upon entering the hotel. The public rooms are tired. The newly remodeled rooms are somewhat vanilla. The classic rooms deserve classic updating, hopefully maintaining the “colonial “African charm. The food was fine. The service in the Livingston room was terrific. The breakfast, and the presentation of the breakfast, needs a thoughtful update.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear PortolaValleyLMS, Thank you for sharing your feedback both positive and constructive. We take our guest comments seriously because your feedback is most valuable in helping us do better, as we continuously seek to improve our product offering. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Grand Dame`s stunning garden bridge views and experienced terrific fine dining service in our Livingstone Room restaurant. We hope to host you again soon at The Victoria Falls Hotel. warm regards Judith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen D wrote a review Jan 2024
Las Vegas, Nevada2 contributions
Elegance on the terrace and dress up for dinner in the Livingstone Room. This old world hotel has all the modern amenities and the charm of the bygone eras. The staff is professional and personable, and always ready to make your stay a once in a lifetime experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Karen D, Thank you for such a fantastic review! We appreciate hearing you had a once-in-a-lifetime experience stay with us. It was an honor to host you, and we look forward to seeing you again at The Victoria Falls hotel. Warm regards, Judith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maglo wrote a review Jan 2024
Copenhagen, Denmark30 contributions
We stayed 2 nights at The Victoria falls hotel. The location, the room and the interior of the hotel is beautyful. However people make places and you also expect a certain level of service at this type of hotel. The daily room service did not show up as promissed, no coffee refill, dirty tables, the drink from the bar never showed up with the excuse of not beeing able to see us and so I could go on. It is the sum of the smaller details that just is not good enough. The breakfast was very good, but be prepared to drink filter Coffee. We had dinner in the the livingstone room and on the teresse in front of the hotel. We were only 2 couples eating in the beautyful livingstone room and the meny you get for USD 45 is not very tasty and worth the money. The food on the terrace in front of the hotel is a little better but not a restaurant you would choose if you had other options. Walking around in town is not recommended after it gets dark.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mage_cph, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Victoria Falls Hotel. Your comments have been taken to heart and our relevant departments engaged on the issues raised. It is the feedback of our valuable guests, such as yourself, that enable us to accurately address matters to continuously improve our overall experience delivery. Again thank you for your support and we hope to host you again soon. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John P wrote a review Jan 2024
United Kingdom36 contributions
We were disappointed with this hotel and stayed two our of our four nights - rearranging plans and left early. Our first room we were shown into a newish room but it was small and facing the garden wall. Window latches had holes for insects to enter or levers could open the latch - it did not look safe and was not the 'room with a view' we had expected . We moved rooms to a much larger but older room - before bedtime we had three spiders in the room and in the morning our washbags were covered in insects. A maintenance person tried to kill the spiders with mosquito spray - which clearly didn't work and stomped on one but let the other two escape behind the curtain somewhere! Food was not impressive. Staff friendly (service slow chips came with desert!) and Pool lovely area to relax (the buzzing touring helicopters aside) but be wary of monkeys and baboons - huge and inquisitive! Hotel is historic and Walking tour to Victoria falls was good (although its a short drive to the entrance to the National falls park) definitely worth seeing regardless of hotel experience. It is Africa but this hotel feels below our rating of what a 5 star hotel should deliver. I know they are doing up rooms and some of the pictures show this clearly but ..........there is considerable room for improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: make sure you get a new room with a view - preferably not on ground floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear G7560AGjohnp, We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are disappointed when we do not meet the expectations of our valuable guests, such as yourself. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comments have been taken seriously for team engagement to tackle the issues raised. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the history of the hotel, relaxing by our lovely Edwardian Garden pool area, and found our staff friendly. Thank you for your support. We hope to get another opportunity to host you again. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kir wrote a review Jan 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa330 contributions
We were day visitors that only had high tea so cannot comment on the rooms etc. However, the service and friendliness we received from entering the hotel until leaving was incredible. The High Tea was great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone that visits Victoria Falls!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Zinyoro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Victoria Falls Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear xoxo_kir, Thank you for leaving us such a great review! We look forward to hosting you again here at The Victoria Falls Hotel. warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Victoria Falls area.
PRICE RANGE
$506 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
victoria falls hotel
LOCATION
ZimbabweMatabeleland North ProvinceVictoria Falls
NUMBER OF ROOMS
161
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE VICTORIA FALLS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Zimbabwe)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Victoria Falls Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tami Walker Gallery (0.3 miles), The Big Tree (0.2 miles), and The Honeyguide Victoria Falls (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Livingstone Room at Victoria Falls Hotel, Wild Horizons Lookout Cafe, and Stanley's Terrace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Victoria Falls Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Victoria Falls Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Victoria Falls Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Victoria Falls.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Victoria Falls Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.