We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Victoria Falls Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Victoria Falls Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Miranda de Ebro
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is nice and food is good. We didn't sleep really well because the mosquito's net is not properly installed and it is extremely annoying while sleeping. You can't pay with credit card. First day we were told by the workers that it would be great to pay in € the last day. When we went to pay, they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrisrian R
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quick one night stop before booking into other accommodation - cool,trendy backpackers,totally unexpected ! Double room is basic,but all you need in a room,creative outdoor living space - with a fish spa which was an added bonus ! Hospitable staff Value for money !

Helpful?
Thank thrillseekerzimbabwe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for three nights at Vic Falls Backpackers. I enjoyed the simplicity and the character of the place, the staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped me to participate in variety of activities, and to make the best of my time in Vic Falls in a very smooth way. The room was fine but be prepared for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ritadayoub
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is what the word 'funky' was coined for! The garden is littered with sulptures, water features & mobiles & there's colourful artwork everywhere. Practically, the dorm I stayed in was basic & very small but clean & did the job. Prices are a lot higher for all accommodation in Vic Falls than Livingstone on the Zambian side of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do not whatever you do stay in Giraffe room. It shares a wall with the main communal bathroom and you can literally hear everything. It should not be rented out because the bathroom is used all night (and day) long by many people. And some people have traveling belly. It's not pretty. Not only the wall is a problem, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
Level Contributor
193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a nice stay at the backpackers but for what it is it's over priced and the ownership is not kind. slept in a tent with beds for $40 a night. the owner won't let the locals come in to hang for a drink which is rude and wrong since they are friends and nothing but kind people. really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
J P, Manager at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emily We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) In comparison with other accommodation in Vic Falls $40 a night for a Twin Safari tent is cheap. Our Wifi is $3 per person per day but this is for the best available Wifi package in Zimbabwe at the moment. Also It's mainly For safety and security reasons that... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was here for a night after a hard amount of travelling . Even though there was no electricity not so the time the place was comfortable. The is a communal kitchen which is great. Transport is readily available with taxis at the gate most of the time . The town is safe and beautiful. The Falls are a short walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phila D
Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there for 3 nights recently, only because everything else locally was booked. This place was filthy. Very old and run down. Cots in the tents were uncomfortable and smelled of mildew. The bathrooms and showers were very dirty and unsanitary. Don't look like they were cleaned for weeks. American travelers should take note that this place is nowhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank kdw61
B M, Manager at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Please note that we take extreme pride in keeping our property up to the highest of backpackers standards Our cleaning staff clean the bathrooms every day, although we might have had a... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

The place is beautifully artistically designed. Lots of quirk artwork to notice. It's the quieter of the two backpackers of the two in town. The beds are cheap and the food is really good. They have a traditional dinner you can buy as well. I'm writing this review for Jay, the front desk worker. I'm a world traveler. Never in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Serena P
J P, Manager at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Many thanks Serena! for your awesome review:)...I'll pay you later :) ...thanks for staying with us!....kind regards, J. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We stayed at this place a total of 4 nights in a private room with shower. The place is great! We really enjoyed the company of so many budget travelers from all over the world. The employees, Blessings and J are great people. The internet connection was good and the food at the bush kitchen is also good. As far... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jet1011
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#13 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#8 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 15 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#5 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#3 of 15 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Victoria Falls. En-suite,Twin,Dorms and camping available, we are a short walk from town. Facilities include:- Car Parking Available- Unlimited Wi-Fi- Laundry Service- Linen provided- Towels provided on request- Mossie Nets- Adventure centre - Best advise and activity packages !!- Platform with view of the Mosi-Oa-Tunya (Smoke that thunders)- Beautiful Garden- Swimming Pool- Video / Lounge Area- Nightly Boma Fire- Swings- Home cooked meals- Safety boxes- Self catering kitchen- Capture the exotic flair of Zimbabwean culture and indigenous art with affordable comfort and friendly service. Our eye catching accommodation is scattered across our luscious garden of which our swimming pool and fire place forms the center piece providing a delightful setting for interacting with other travelers or to simply relax. Let management arrange your adventure activities for you, from bungee jumping to riding on an elephant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Backpackers

Address: 357 Gibson Rd | P.O. Box 151, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Price Range: $17 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Backpackers Hotel Victoria Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay