We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale

25 Ridge Rd Avondale, Harare Zimbabwe
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 hostels in Harare
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
3.6
Service
3.6
Value
3.8
Born in South Africa and taken to the world, Nando's specialises in Portuguese-style, flamed-grilled chicken dishes with various PERi-PERI marinades Experience a truly South African dining experience at Nando's in Avondale The Nando's experience is like no other, perfect for the me-times as well as the family and friends time Add spice to your life with a meal from our Portuguese style menu We've set the eating experience on fire and we can't wait for you to join our table because if there's one thing we love as much as PERi-PERi, it's lots of people to enjoy it with...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

25 Ridge Rd Avondale, Harare Zimbabwe
It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale
121Reviews8Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 56
  • 24
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rugare M. wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions
2nd time staying here and the standards have definitely deteriorated. Staff needs training especially Tinashe, very rude indeed. Shower didn't always work. Our bedroom door didn't lock from the inside.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Angeline M wrote a review Aug 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates5 contributions
Second visit at SWL with the same friend and I was rather disappointed. that standards have decreased . In Mombasa the curtains were dirty there was no dustbin (is that a thing now?) showers sometimes not functioning well. Check out was a dud
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: There are bicycles available if you want to go cycling around. Overall for a no-frills...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
martina f wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
We got to know it's a small world lodge because our trip around Zimbabwe was organized from Italy togheter with them. The two people travelling with us (Jackson and Melisa) were simply great: they took care of everything and managed all situations in an excellent way; we also had a great time together! During the trip we also stayed two nights at the hostel in Avondale Harare which is clean, confortable and cozy. Same goes for the hostel in Vumba. We absolutely reccomend the hostels and the company. Maita basa to you all!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Scott B wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
I rally enjoyed staying here. The staff are lovely and very helpful. I enjoyed cooking it by the pool and had a nice restful time here. The food was good and the accommodation clean. I would recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mazstaff wrote a review Jun 2019
63 contributions
I stayed for one night before flying to Johannesburg. I had a single room that was perfect for what I needed. All the staff are so friendly, when cooking my meals they were kind enough to let me have some of their veges and rice. The home cooked meals were lovely too. They took me to the bus station the next day and waited with me whilst I got my tickets which was really thoughtful. Thankyou guys I will be back when I next visit Harare! :) :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Millie L wrote a review May 2019
Oxford, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a lovely stay. Hostel dorm has lots of beds but not too packed, located in a quiet area so peaceful at night, however pillows not that great! Brilliant location in a relaxed suburb area, 50min walk/10min bus ride into city centre (the walk is beautiful). Staff are not only helpful but really kind, assisting with money changing, transportation and recommendations. Would definitely stay again, only downside is breakfast not included in price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Salman P wrote a review Oct 2018
2 contributions
Very nice place but all the goodies get overpowered by the negatives for me. Booked the caravan (20$/night) 2 days before I came, but still came to super dirty sheets and the WHOLE caravan dirty. CLEARLY prior booking was useless, to top it up I noticed a solid (definitely been there for a long time) blood stain on the sheet I was supposed to be covering myself... (I write this review as I lay in the same bed during my first night here) hope this does not happen to anyone not about then 20$ but I’m sure everyone enjoys some cleanliness in their lives.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Seremwe, General Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale
Responded Oct 30, 2018
Dear mr Salman I am sorry about the status you have found the Caravan in . Promise this would not happen again. Management will do everything we can to address your concern. We appreciate and value your review. Thank you George
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BrendaMoyo wrote a review Jun 2018
Harare, Zimbabwe1 contribution
Great tranquil place, back packers lodgings so not to expect 5* facilities,Hot water, secure area, mattresses in the dorms a bit thin, could use replacement, affordable, and recommended for the globetrotter,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chieka C wrote a review Dec 2017
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan187 contributions25 helpful votes
I stayed in the dorm for 4 nights. The bunk bed was extremely squeaky - had trouble sleeping the first night. There are two showers to share between the entire dorm room (10+ beds) and multiple private rooms. One morning, I waited 20 minutes to use the toilet because both showers were occupied. Beers are sold for $2. The staff was relatively helpful. The lodge is in a safe neighborhood but it is a little out of the way from shops and restaurants. Overall, the dorm here is the cheapest lodging in Harare and that outweighed a lot of the cons for me.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
EleanorBall wrote a review Dec 2017
285 contributions59 helpful votes
Dorm rooms had too many beds in so no room for people and belongings, no key lock the door, bunk beds very creeky and so was the door! Overall didn't sleep well. Kitchen facilities need an update as even though the lady was cleaning it well it looks dingy. Actual building and location is good though! Bathrooms were clean but again could do with a freshen up and more toilet paper!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tariro01, MARKETING EXECUTIVE at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale
Responded Dec 28, 2017
Thank you Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We would like to apologize for the poor The issue was attended to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harare area.
PRICE RANGE
$28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
small world backpackers hotel harare
LOCATION
ZimbabweHarare ProvinceHarare
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IT'S A SMALL WORLD BACKPACKERS LODGE AVONDALE - Prices & Hostel Reviews (Harare, Zimbabwe)

Frequently Asked Questions about It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale
What are some of the property amenities at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale?
Conveniently located restaurants include 40 Cork Road, Cafe Nush Avondale, and Spice Lounge Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.