We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Average hotel need Maitenance spa is poor service is week I forgot my hard drive in the room and they didn't find it for me and they didn't call me back the price is fair nothing around the hotel to visit the porters are very kind and helpful to be honest I think they need to renew the decoration in... More 

Helpful?
Thank fadibenni
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very very good Hotel at more than reasonable prices. Even during Ramadan, breakfast stays at 4 star level. Staff is very helpful and polite. Rooms are large and very clean. The big park right next to the hotel is the place to go running or with your children The Medina and city center is a walk away and one can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miguel N
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Miguel, Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend the Golden Tulip el Mechtel, we are so glad that you enjoyed our facilities of the hotel, and thank you for noting our friendly staff andthe convenient location to the Park and Medina... We sincerely hope you will keep good memories of your stay in our beautiful... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have booked this hotel for 7 days stay last October along with a Twin Kids. I liked the hotel room since it was big enough to fit for two beds and in addition to the double bed, there was an additional single bed. The room had all the necessities... tea kattel with sufficient no of tea & coffee bags... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manal1975
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Manal, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor after your stay at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, we are proud that you enjoyed our great location and our friendly staff and we are so happy to read that we were capable of exceeding all your expectations during your stay as our team took care of you... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

worst hotel worst rooms worst service , i have been here for 7 nights and they was terrible, the noise is continues , the reception unresponsive & Drilling Machine make my nights horrible, what ever the cause i will not back here anymore ! the furniture very old and Dissolute !! Of course if forced my self to stay for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naŵal N
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mme Nawal, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apologize for the noise and the inconvenience that you experienced during your recent stay, due to the construction noise. We have taken many precautions in terms of minimizing noise and disruptions; however, it appears that we have failed you in this case but the renovation... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

First of all Special thanks to the executive Chef Sami that really made sure that we get the "3 fourchettes" delighting Feast , and to Abdelaziz Front desk Manager, that is part of the founding team of EL Mechtel, that is keeping the good job for 30 Years now!!! I knew this hotel since its inception, and it is still... More 

Helpful?
Thank americanquality
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments; awesome to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, service, and delighted you rate our restaurants, rooms so highly. Also we will share your comments with all the team that would be most gratifying to read your kind comments and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

Like any other hotel like this it was standard with nothing special about it. Looks like quite a bit of upgrade has happened but it is just on the outside. Look closer and it is still old. I did not find the staff interested in us especially when it came to check out. The company that we visited there made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham W
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Graham, Thank you for taking the time to review on TripAdvisor your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and we are sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations. Rest assured we have taken these comments seriously and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you for a second visit... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Really nice hotel. The staff are helpful and can fetch items for you from stores outside. THere is no in-hotel pharmacy, but you can cross the road to get to one. Not really a continental breakfast offered, but still good enough. Room service is quite efficient. Security measures at the gate are quite stringent, but fluid. Two bars on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mahia M
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mahia M, Sincere thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our services (room service, staff) was satisfied your needs, also be assured that all of your remarks have been noted. Thank you again and... More 

uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Really good hotel Rooms immaculate and also quiet considering the amount of passing traffic. staff really helpful Unusually in Tunisian hotels there was tea and coffee making facilities (no milk) but we bought some and kept in fridge.The Lebanese restaurant was really really good We had a mezze and good selection Price ok too. If you don't know Tunis it... More 

Helpful?
Thank parker_rg
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mme Parker, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you regard our hotel as “Excellent ” and that our staff were really helpful ,The food and beverage team will be overjoyed with your fantastic feedback that “The Lebanese restaurant was really really good” with “ Excellent Mezze... More 

Benghazi, Libya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

good staff, freindly atmosphere, handy people, good service at all time ...good restaurant ; very clean , very good business center , trustable hotel , quite, neat also very secure all 24/7...good views. i wish them bright future.

Helpful?
Thank welisawi
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr W.Elisawi, Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your recent stay, it is always a pleasure to read such great feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed so much our Services and our hotel’s facilities; staff, rooms, restaurants, business center, security and the views. Thank you again and we will... More 

Tunis, Tunisia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Just as pretty as the pics,. Room was beautiful and all in all a very comfortable stay.and the staff were extremely accommodating and efficient. Good wifi, big, modern TV ..We would definately recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Emna28
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mme Emna, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, we really glad and appreciate your comments regarding our property; Service, rooms, which were great for you and delightful to us thus we exceeded your satisfaction. Again thank you for your amazing review and we are looking forward to having you with us again.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Corail Suites Hotel
3.7 mi away
Les Berges du Lac
Les Berges du Lac
#18 of 51 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 51 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 51 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 51 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Address: Avenue Ouled Hafouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay