We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp

Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 4, 2015

We had an exceptional stay at Lemala Mara. When you arrive, what's available under canvas in the far north Serengeti is mind boggling. Interior design, food, service, comfort, all are above and beyond what is expected. We had a truly magnificent memorable stay. I couldn't fault any of it and would highly recommend it to all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenhutch11
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

thank you so much for sharing your review with fellow travellers. We are delighted you enjoyed it and that it was that you had hoped for and hope you have plenty of photos to share with family and friends. Have a great weekend Veronica

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2015

In the public tents, i.e. lounge and dining and bar one would think one was in a plush hotel rather than the Serengeti NP! The Tent is superb, huge, comfortable, and quite luxurious also! Kelvin attended all my requirements with astonishing dignity which I admired. Gregory the Manager an extremely concerned and anxious gentleman who wants to ensure you enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WingedPegasus
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and I am delighted that Greg looked after you as did the rest of his team. The main areas we extended this season to make them larger and I am so pleased that you appreciated it. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. Veronica

Perth, Australia
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Whilst it was right on top of the wilderbeast migration the guide we had was not what we expected and the accomodation was just about on par not what I paid for I would not go to this camp again if I had a choice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolmj147
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to discuss this further with you as I was unable to match your online feedback to your in-house survey. So please do contact me on res@lemalacamp.com and I would appreciate some more details on the guide and the camp that you were not happy with. Have a wonderful weekend. Veronica

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2015

I have just spent 3 days at Lemala Mara tented camp and can only recommend it. The camp is very well managed and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The tent are extremely comfortable and well equipped. I would only say be careful of the slippery floor when taking a shower. The location was amazing, waking up to wildebeests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 19marieclaire49
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback and am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us. I do agree that sometimes the wildlife can make for interesting night noises but what a way to experience nature at its best. Once again, thank you for sharing. Warm regards Veronica

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed September 22, 2015

We spent two nights at Lemala Mara before moving on to another Lemala property. Lemala Mara was wonderful. The location is perfect - we were only a few minutes from the Mara River where we were lucky enough to experience several wildebeest river crossings. The people at Lemala Mara were great - ready to help with anything you wanted. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

I was so excited to see your review as that wild dog sighting you had is exceptional rare and I must be honest when Baraka told me about it I was hard pushed to believe it. I have lived in and around the Serengeti for near on 14 years and have only seen wild dog twice so was very envious...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed September 16, 2015

Had a fantastic 3 night stay. We loved the rustic atmosphere of living in a tent (albeit a luxury one) with water supplied via a canvas bag. Communal dining was a great way to meet other guests and to interact with the staff and share stories. The staff were very friendly and open - the whole camp had a really...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les H
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

So delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed a crossing. We also love the communal dining and the guests throughly enjoy each others stories of the day to share and exchange. Wishing you a wonderful weekend. Veronica

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Extraordinarily welcoming and helpful staff set Lemala apart. When we arrived on a rainy night with a sick child dinner was served in our tent and somehow they found cough medicine in the middle of the Serengeti the next day. We were extremely comfortable, well looked after, and catered to. Terrific stay - highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikekJ6523HV
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and I do hope that your child felt better after the cough mixture. I am delighted you were looked after and hope that you were able to all enjoy the remaining days in Serengeti. Have a wonderful weekend. Veronica

Virgil, Canada
Reviewed September 11, 2015

A top notch facility - our stay was a fitting end to our trip to Tanzania - The staff, the location, the facilities and of course, the food were above and beyond our expectations. Also, two very successful game drives.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 296ronaldb
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and grading us as top notch. We are certainly lucky to be in this fabulous location and appreciate it every day even more so as guests share their experience on trip advisor have a wonderful weekend Veronica

Fairport
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Lemala Mara Be here to see the Great Migration! Lemala Mara is a luxury tented camp set very close to the Mara River, so you can have easy access to crossing points for the Great Migration. What a great experience it was to see two of these amazing wildebeast and zebra crossings during our three night stay there as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TedFairport
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely review. We do try as much as possible subject to vehicle availability to give our guests an exclusive experience so am delighted you were able to enjoy one. Peter is fantastic and I am delighted you had a great stay with us and appreciate you sharing with us all Warm regards and have a wonderful...

Reviewed August 28, 2015 via mobile

Brilliant place to stay, food lovely and staff can't do enough for you. Especially the talking shower!out guide, Baraka brilliant. We saw everything: the great migration on first day, lions, cheetah, ................zebra, elephant, giraffe, hippos and even the Kenyan border. He also took all the photos for us. Thanks everyone especially Baraka.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tiddlewink1
veronicao233, Director of Sales at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this review

thank you so much for the review. Am delighted Baraka looked after you and looks like he is steadfast becoming a great photographer aside from being a great guide. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and enjoy your memories of Tanzania. Regards Veronica

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Other (22)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
11.7 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#25 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
184 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 mi away
Buffalo Luxury Camp
Buffalo Luxury Camp
#60 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
61 reviews
27.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#13 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
288 reviews
63.6 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#14 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LEMALA MARA NDUTU are the ultimate mobile camps that move between Ndutu (December - March) to northern Serengeti from July through to October. In both locations it is within touching distance of the birthing areas of the Wildebeest in the South and in the North it offers views over the Mara River. Set under large Euclea trees in the heart of the best game viewing area of the Serengeti. Here, in this immense remote wilderness, guests can enjoy fabulous landscapes and terrific game viewing with practically no crowds. Resident wildlife numbers are exceptionally high, but nothing compared to when the migration starts arriving when the area then turns into a wildlife paradise par excellence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp

Address: Lemala Mara, Northern Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $1,270 - $2,636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All tents have excellent views of the Mara River. Hippos and lions can be heard in the distance through the night. Incredible!”
msutherland8, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“They are all great... We had #5”
  • Tent 5
  • Fire of Mara River
  • Tent 5 - Solar powered led lanterns
  • Tent 5
  • Fire Pit in-front of lounge tent
  • Sunrise from the room deck
SGWest, Aug 13, 2016 | Read review
“Bring a bath sponge for the shower to save water while you are soaping up!”
lairdsaunderson, Apr 22, 2016 | Read review
“All are good.”
313raymondm, Nov 8, 2015 | Read review
“This is a mobile tent. Not a hotel.”
519shawnt, Oct 19, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates