We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Babylon Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Babylon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

For Tanzania, this was by far the best experience I had experienced at a lodge / hotel. Management went above and beyond when I missed placed my phone to help me find it. After looking at the cameras for an hour, the owner saw I had brought it to my room. With everyone's help we found it lodged between the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The shower was leaking electricity when I turned on the tap. All the 8 rooms my family was in had no TV nor did I see any sight of wifi in the area. Mobile service in the whole premises is poor. Dinner and room service took three hours of which the hotel service tells you with no care.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayanachacha
Bobby L, Manager at Babylon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dayanachacha, We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations when delivering our services. At Babylon Lodge we take our clients complain very serious and we will follow up on this to ensure all our future clients receive our wonderful services that we are known for. Most of our guests were happy during the Christmas period despite the overwhelming...

Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed December 16, 2016

I was there on 13 of November this year with 11 client on cycling tour around mountain Kilimanjaro. we overnight there ,rooms was very good, food was good, and staff was very familier.it good place to stay when u do cycling tour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haikaexpedition
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

All staff amazingly friendly, especially Bobby who also went out of his way even when we were not in the hotel! Staff could not do enough for us! Rooms are very comfortable, basic and clean. Excellent value for money. A perfect stay for our requirements! Thank you Babylon Lodge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mishyyy
arusha
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Was here one week ago with 2 clients of our company Safari Mabri adventures, we had a great stay, the lodge is very nice and clean and the food is very good.. The staff is very helpfull , we will bring more clients to this lodge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rose147
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

I took an Easter getaway to Babylon Lodge on the recommendation of a friend. The food (foreign, delicious, healthy and well portioned), service (both warm and jolly) and rooms (uniquely designed and cosily impressive) were most relaxing. We also got directed to some very lovely waterfall and a crystal clear, naturally warm spring pool. The latter, though far, if highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony M
Reviewed September 24, 2016

Great place, great location, relaxing. Best thing about it was the staff. Very well looked after and given space to relax. Wonderful place and very well run Sorry it's taken so long to write a review…i stayed in Summery 2013. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wythenshawemick
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Babylon is a wonderful place to stay! While interning on Zanzibar, a friend and I wanted to take a weekend trip to Kilimanjaro. This was squeezing a lot into essentially 2 days. I emailed Bobby from Babylon hotel because they offer a one day climb and stay combo. Sadly my service cut out while on the phone and I lost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cd02016
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

We started our safari from Kenya in early July for the migration towards Tanzania combining all the wonders of the region with a plan to finish up with Kilimanjaro.. With my biblical Old Testament reflections I chose babylon lodge. We checked in Marangu base town at mid morning after Arusha.. The contrast of the Masai plains and the tropical forest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mamalandsafaris
Paris, France
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

As you will probably understand reading the other reviews, what makes this hotel a great place is its owner, Bobby, as well as the rest of the staff. They really try their best to make you feel good. For example, Bobby drove us back to Moshi (over an hour drive) with his personal car for free because it was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aurélie L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilimanjaro National Park
13.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 15 in Moshi
213 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#10 of 15 in Moshi
102 reviews
13.9 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 15 in Moshi
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
20.7 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#3 of 62 in Moshi
147 reviews
11.3 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#1 of 62 in Moshi
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kilimanjaro's Best Budget Hotel! Babylon Lodge is situated in a lush garden setting, just minutes from Kilimanjaro National Park. Locally owned and operated, we provide service and amenities that equal the more expensive hotels at a much lower price. We have recently remodeled with new restaurant, bar and garden areas. Also, since we are from the area and have no need for middlemen, we can help you to find low-priced, quality tours that you might not find at the larger resorts. Babylon Lodge is the perfect place to stay for a weekend away or before/after a climb. Babylon Lodge is the only hotel in Marangu that offers free Wi-Fi to its clients. Welcome to Babylon Lodge for quality and affordable services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Babylon Lodge

Address: P.O Box 227 | Marangu-Kilimanjaro, Kilimanjaro National Park +255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Babylon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Babylon Lodge staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Babylon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms with tarace was good”
 of 5 bubbles haikaexpedition, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
“Walking distance to Marangu”
 of 5 bubbles 885catm, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
“Room 103 is closest to the wifi transmitter, so it does have in-room wifi. And don't forget to meet the in-house tortoise, Kobe, in the upper garden.”
 of 5 bubbles VermontToucan, Feb 26, 2015 | Read review
“Try and see "Kobe" the tortoise living in the garden adjacent to the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles TheDailyDavies, Jan 1, 2015 | Read review
“Our room was a twin share at the back of the lodge, lovely and quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Aletch159, Sep 21, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay