We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Traveler (332)
Room & Suite (67)
Pool & Beach (56)
Certificate of Excellence


#16 of 111 hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
The real gem of the East Coast of Africa! The White Sands Beach Resort is situated on an idyllic stretch of private beach front, just 25kms North of Dar es Salaam city centre, making it the gateway to a unique East African experience!Immerse yourself in the welcoming culture of Africa whilst you enjoy sincere, heartfelt GUEST service. The seaside accommodation comprises of 118 spacious, well appointed, standard rooms and 28 studio, one or two bedroomed apartments.Satisfy your palate with sumptuous fare from one of our restaurants, quench your thirst with an ice cold drink on the deck of the Pweza Jetty overlooking the warm Indian Ocean, unwind with a relaxing treatment from our White Sands Spa, take a boat trip to one of the nearby uninhabited islands, be adventurous and experience the beauty of the underwater world with a Scuba course from our PADI Dive Centre, have a work-out in our Gym or simply relax at the swimming pool or on the beach. Whether on Holiday, Business or Conferencing, the White Sands Hotel & Beach Resort is proud to provide our GUESTS with everything that they need and more!
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 152
  • 151
  • 55
  • 26
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Room was Ok but too much mosquitoes with only nets provided. A mosquito repellent would be better in view of the Dengue outbreak. Something should be done to address flies invading the outdoor eating areas. I complained about a missing wrist watch and till now, not a simple
Read more
Response from Kumaran P, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for the feedback. we do spray the rooms during the evening downturn service ,if you have any queries please will appreciate if you can contact me directly in eam@hotelwhitesands.com will be happy to assist. looking forward to host you again.
Read more
We have stayed here several times. The rooms are very clean, good size, nice terraces, comfortable beds and nice hot showers. The grounds are lovely, and the swimming pools are very inviting. However since the fire last August the eating facilities are a bit disjointed.
Read more
Response from Kumaran P, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Cheryl , Thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback , just to bring to your notice the property upgrade process is almost finished and the main wing is operational looking forward to welcoming you again . best regards Kumaran Prabhakar
Read more
Very close family friends had the son wedding reception there.And it was beautiful from the decoration,buffet and services. Staff are train well.Our waiter for the night went an extra mile to get tonic water and explain it will take few minutes as had to go to the main bar to
Read more
Response from Kumaran P, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Pazuri Thank you for taking time to rate us and write your feedback , Hotel White Sands management and staff appreciates the recognition you have given and looks forward to host you again in future. Kumaran Prabhakar
Read more
I stayed at White Sands twice in Feb and March 2019. Let me list the positive first: the beachfront is beautiful and most of the time White Sands is a quiet place, letting you forget it your are in busy, loud, dirty Daressalaam. Service is good on average. Most employees are
Read more
Response from Kumaran P, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Responded Mar 28, 2019
Dear BastiPers , Thank you for taking your time to write this feedback , the experience what Hotel White Sands has to offer is not the one you describe ,my apologies for not being up to your expectation but I firmly believe and assure you that it can be changed presently we are in verge of upgrading our product which you must have noticed during your recent stays . Do let me know when you plan to visit us by mailing directly in eam@hotelwhitesands.com so me and my team can change your perception of our experience .Awaiting your next visit and to meet you in person . Regards,
Read more
Stepping into the premise you see the memories of a place that was once destroyed by fire now regaining a new look more interesting as it seems.... that once cannot but wait for the breath of new life. Much has been done to ensure that the natural surroundings are preserved and
Read more
Response from Kumaran P, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Responded Mar 14, 2019
Dear CarlBosser Thanks for describing our property in such a simple few words , upgrade is process of value addition for our esteemed guest and we look forward to achieve that. Mean while will be happy to host you again to avail the services offed . Thanks again Kumaran Prabhakar
Read more
$122 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
white sands hotel and dar es salaam
TanzaniaDar Es Salaam RegionDar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing