We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

New Africa Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
New Africa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is my 3rd stay at the hotel and i can see some improvements. Breakfast is great and the ingredients are fresh. Bread is so much better. Staff are super friendly. It was like being at home. Had dinner at the hotel that has 2 restaurants and both are great. Wednesday they have a grill night. Wow. Stunning food and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gert R
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is great when in Dar es salaam for business. Internet signal is strong and free everywhere for residence. The work desk with recline seat in each room offers an office away from office with a view of the ocean to boot (that if you have a sea view room). The staff, true to Tanzanian culture are polite, friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kennedy G
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this wonderful review. You have highlighted all positive aspects of the hotel. I will share this feedback with my entire team. As for the smell in and around the hotel, we use lemon grass oil so keep the cigaretter odour away since we have smoking floors. Also, the hotel renovation work is in progress in... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Stayed here for a full week while working in Dar. Staff very friendly. Wifi excellent. Rooms were quite nice and clean. Showers needed a bit more power but otherwise good. The hotel food was excellent throughout my stay. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank conorbuggy
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you staying with us though we know Dar Es Salaam offers a lot of options for quality accommodation. We have started the renovation work across the hotel. This includes adding 48 new rooms to the hotel in a new wing. We hope to offer you a world class experience by january for which work is on at... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in May 2016. Lovely hotel, very clean, and offers a great breakfast! Staff were helpful too. It's situated close to the ocean, you can walk there and enjoy the cool ocean breeze! Ideal for a business trip to Dar-es-salaam!

Helpful?
Thank Roxychandaria
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at New Africa Hotel and for this wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to write to me at gm@newafricahotel.com for any special requirements regarding your next trip to dar. Kind Regards, Siddharth Chaudhry More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

I stayed in New Africa from 14th-16th June 2016. They gave me a very beautiful sea facing room which had a lovely view of the Indian ocean. Good nice and tidy room with good amenities available. The food was quite good and the continental dishes are like fish and chips or chicken burger are out of this world. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank ankeet_sinha
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting this feedback. I will share this with my entire team and will make sure that check in is smooth and quick. Our check in time is 1pm and on busy days, if a guest arrives earlier than 1am then sometimes, this can lead to a waiting period. As for the incorrect charge, i will... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Were shifted to this hotel New Africa, because of the carelessness of my previous hotel where they gave away my room as they were housefull. So here we arrive at New Africa and we did not expect them to be so kind. Mohammed duty manager welcomed us very well and was happy to have us. We enter the rooms which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dev M
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to note that you liked the hotel services. I will share this feedback with me entire team. Here at New Africa, we look forward to your next visit and will always make sure that all guests are so well looked after that this becomes a second home.... More 

Fermo, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

The hotel located in the center with beautiful view to the sea. Big potential but MUST be renovated ! Also the spa.. The reception is nicer then the rest... With that on my mind , Its a place which ill come again, Hopefully after renovated.

Helpful?
Thank Guy B
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We have already started the renovation proces and hope to complete it all with the next 6 months. We are doing all the work in such a way that there is no disturbance to the guests currently using the hotel services. We hope that you will keep submitting your feedback and help us... More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

If you are in Dar for business or as a tourist in transit for Zanzibar, this is in the ideal position. The service is very good, employees very kind and useful. They all speake English. Rooms clean. Restaurants good and not too expensive. At breakfast there is even a very good pianist (piano bar music by heart). Wifi for free... More 

Helpful?
Thank kobjeglavski
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to receive this feedback and am happy to know that you liked the hotel services. We are undergoing renovation as we speak and will be a brand new hotel by early 2017. We look forward to your next stay and please keep sending in your feedback as... More 

Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

We had 1 night in this hotel on our way to Zanzibar and we didn't disappoint of our choice. It placed just 200 metres from Ferry boat station. Room was clean, breakfast very good. They also have a swimming pool and not bad gym. Nice old church is next from this hotel. Staff was also friendly with some troubles, like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikhail N
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to note that you had a comfortable stay. I will convey your feedback to all staff at the hotel. Thank you very much. Please note that the $1.50 tourism development levy that we collect is paid to the government. This is a government requirement. All hotels in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

The Ambience of the reception area/lobby area is wonferful. They have african friendly selection of foods and the ambiance of the restaurants is also wonderfull. I really like the bar. On things they should improve; 1) they should put bed sheets that fit the mattresses, i used two rooms and all had small bed sheets compares to the mattresses. 2)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karmeli E
Siddharth C, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to note that you had a comfortable stay. I have taken note of your feedback and will look into the bed sheets immediately. Also we are happy to announce that as past of out renovation, we are introducing new air conditioning to the hotel and are replacing all carpets... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 93 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 93 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 93 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 93 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about New Africa Hotel

Address: Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $130 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your New Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay