We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club
 Click to rate
Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Keyless entry. The room was very spacious; so also the bathroom. Oldish hotel but well appointed. Flat screen TV and WiFi internet. The latter at times moved at the speed of light. Nine TV channels some somewhat snowy. Air conditioning sufficient and not too noisy. Bed was OK but cushions a bit lumpy and would like to see replacements. Lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josie_Bliksem
Sar0105, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Josie Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. I will certainly looking into the issue of pillows Shawn

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Nothing spectacular in the surrounding, so a long stay wouldn't be interesting. But the hotel is good, with the normal cliche rooms that you find everywhere in the world in business hotels, but neat and clean (though the card keys often refused to work). Nice News Cafe downstairs. Wim

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wim_Nairobi_Kenya
Sar0105, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Wim Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am please you had a great stay and apologize with the door issue you had. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Regards Shawn

Reviewed January 6, 2017

Friendly service from the moment I arrived. Everything in the room worked. A/C was cold and comfortable. Bathroom amenities were top quality. Bathrooms and room was super clean. Downstairs the News Cafe was converted to breakfast room each morning. Fantastic Food at News Cafe and cocktails are delicious. Hard to find anything to complain about. Bed was very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malostranak
Sar0105, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Malostranak Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am pleased you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Regards Shawn

Perth, Australia
Reviewed December 26, 2016

If you want access to town or to businesses on airport road this place is ideal. It is not luxury but it has all you need for business and for staying more than a few days as I was, I loved the variety (and value) in the restaurants. I got tired very quickly if the menu at the other hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Sar0105, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am please you enjoyed your stay and the selection of food on our menu. I look forward to seeing you in the near future. Regards Shawn

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 12, 2016

Great place to stay, Rooms are huge and really comfortable, everything in the room worked. Bathrooms were clean and neat. Staff were excellent and the restaurant was great in food quality, pricing and the drinks were cold. Worth a stay. Very vibey hotel and allways busy so got to meet a variety of people

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason P
Sar0105, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Jason Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. I am please you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Regards Shawn

Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Clean, safe, warm hearted and service minded at competitive prices, that's all I can hope for in buisy business metropolis Dar Es Salaam. Gym is to my taste and the pool complements my workout schedule and format. Breakfast for winners and a decent sports bar are good for me and affordable again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pargoman
Sar0105, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Pargoman Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. I am please you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Shawn

Reviewed November 20, 2016

Stayed at this property for one night over the weekend. Firstly, the check in process was quick and efficient however, the person working behind the desk was not enthusiastic or welcoming; they seemed very bored. When we entered our room (202), the first issue was the smell of dampness and humidity. I do understand this is an issue in Dar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harryklona
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

Amazing gym facilities with top of the range equipment,everything was within my reach as the location was so convenient.I enjoyed the variety of cocktails served at the Newscafe restaurant which is all under one roof,spacious rooms coupled by timely room service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atummay2004
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Mr Murray Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Regards Shawn Ritchie

Reviewed November 9, 2016

The hotel has a cold, cool ambiance. Asked for a quiet room and got one on the top floor. However, think the roof is the local zoo since lots of noisy bird and/or monkey activity taking place. The windows don't have proper curtains but Luxaflex blinds so it gets light very early in the morning. Toilet seat was loose, after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herb M
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We (2 adults and 1 child) had a very pleasant 11 night stay, much better than our expectations. Our selection was based on 1) proximity to City Centre 2) reviews on Trip Advisor and 3) room rate including breakfast. We have almost same views and experiences as expressed by game8le Rooms are spacious and serviced regularly. Towels and Toiletteries are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salman A
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Salam Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you at the hotel again Regards Shawn

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
6.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With inspiration drawn from classic Greco - Roman architecture; the hotel offers complete facilities and relaxation whether you arrive after a long day in the office or as a stop of between your safari and Zanzibar beach holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club

Address: 79 Haile Salassie Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $138 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“106 looks onto a roof and 103 onto a courtyard with few trees nothing spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles Josie_Bliksem, 1 week ago | Read review
“second floor is best choice”
 of 5 bubbles Pargoman, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the first floor right above the cafe, so the music could be heard till late mid night. Not much choices in terms of view.”
 of 5 bubbles 176salmana, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Try get a room at the end of the corridor away from the elevators as the tiled floors turn out noisy when baggage is wheeled over them.”
 of 5 bubbles Safariafficionado, May 17, 2016 | Read review
“top floor has great views”
 of 5 bubbles nikkijune2015, Apr 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question