We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Riad Shama

Show Prices
#188 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riad Shama
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riad Shama
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Riad Shama and its sister Riad nearby were both stunning, as the pictures suggest. We stayed as a couple for 3 days at Shama and then 1 night at the other Riad. We stayed in the suite at the end of the pool, the room was 30 foot long (or more) with a double vaulted ceiling. The doors opened on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter R
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We have spent 4 days at this riad with 5 friends. Staff was very nice. The location is a little bit far from the centre, but we could always count on our 'angel' driver Fetah to bring us to the centre and pick us up late at night! What a great service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilia V
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a good room in this beautiful riad not far away from the main ancient medersa of the medina. A special thanks to Youssef for his dedication when he fixed our ac troubles. Good value for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrplox
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 16, 2014

There are some very good things about Riad Shama and some not so good. 1. The Riad itself is charming with a lovely pool in the centre of the hotel (garden / courtyard). This is great for relaxing and some guests seem to just sit here all day, bathing when hot and calling for drinks or food when required. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donsafe
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My daughter and I have just spent four days in this Riad. The staff very friendly and looked after us well, very helpful except when we asked them to book a table at a restaurant outside the Riad! Room was great, clean and spacious. They also have wi-fi which was great for us as we were able to download films...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sicily28
Reviewed April 11, 2014

It has been long and discouraging to work with Riad Shama in Marrekech. We paid for our 3 nights up front, since that was the only option, and then when I suffered an injury and could not walk, there was no question of making the trip to Morocco. 4 other reservations in different cities canceled and refunded any money we...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Michael B
Béatrice T, Responsable commercial at Riad Shama, responded to this review

Hi, You have booked in December a non refundable stay with a central reservation. This non refundable rate was cheaper than the refundable one. It means that the debit is immediately done by the Riad. We have had the kindness to offer you to report your stay for the next three months. You have selected the month of May, at...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in Feb 14. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and can all speak English. You are given Moroccan tea on arrival. Our room was spacious and clean. The location is about 20 - 25 min walk from the main square (Jama El Fna) on the Souks side. This was fine as gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teuy
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the Riad Shama with a group of work friends, and we clearly made a good choice. The hotel arranged for us to be picked up from the airport and to be shuttled back again (yes, there was a charge for the shuttling, but definitely worth the convenience). When we arrived the staff were very friendly, offered us tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Malta, New York
Reviewed September 23, 2013

great riad!! very nice and spacious bedrooms, welcoming / nice atmosphere.. the hammam at the riad was very nice and relaxing.. although the receptionists couldnt speek alot of english they still did their best to help.. they also prepared us breakfast (which was always very good- moroccan food ) before we left in the very early morning.. would definetly recommand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amypace
Marrakech
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am travelling by myself in Marrakech and the hotel is really nice...nice room, nice infraestructure but the staff doesnt speaks english...just arabic or french wich make really difficult to comunicate. But the worst part is tha the Riad is very very far from the touristics places so every day coming back to the Riad is a nightmare because all...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Marcelo1349
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (211)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#200 of 511 in Marrakech
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#159 of 511 in Marrakech
276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#166 of 511 in Marrakech
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#71 of 511 in Marrakech
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#173 of 511 in Marrakech
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
#264 of 511 in Marrakech
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Riad Shama

Address: 22 Taht sour Ikbir | Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Price Range: $56 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Shama 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Shama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shama Marrakech
Riad Shama Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#102 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Riad Shama staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Riad Shama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't stay here. They are horrific.”
 of 5 bubbles 8saran, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“The triple room is great with a segregated "master bedroom" loft.”
 of 5 bubbles CuriousSophia, Apr 22, 2016 | Read review
“Pool side rooms give good access, other rooms on suite. Roof terrace is a nice place to chill out. Excellent staff and, recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles G5693XYnickh, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
“decent hotel AMAZING Spa Services!!”
 of 5 bubbles kristinv388, Jan 17, 2016 | Read review
“One thing I learnt while traveling in Morocco; pack light!, there are not many lifts in most of the Riad,”
 of 5 bubbles archananr83, Jan 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay