We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Fenn

Show Prices
#54 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Fenn
El Fenn
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

874 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 741: English reviews
Start your review of El Fenn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Best place to relaxe and enjoy the beautiful city. The riad is amazing and also the staff! Located in the heart of the Medina you can walk to go visit everything. The terrace has beautiful views of the red city and is the best place to relax and have a glass of kir enjoying the breathtaking views.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucia C
EFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

The roof terrace, a kir and the sunset: it sounds like you enjoyed El Fenn at its best. What a great review to have and thanks so much for posting it. We get such good feedback on the staff and it's always a pleasure to read. They work so hard to provide all our guests with a great experience and...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you want an excellent riad with sumptuous food stay at el fern Nice staff and the spa was good but price point is very high for the standard. If this were a product we would demand a refund. There is no justification for this price and the many roads priced at £100 are much better. There are many details...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whatever_b
EFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and indeed there didn't seem to be any problems on the numerous times our reception team spoke with you during your time with us. We would have welcomed being given the chance to address your concerns while you were staying with us but, given that we weren't, we will respond here. In terms...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I spent a few days here for our honey-moon. On our last night we upgraded to the plunge pool suite which I would highly recommend to all. It was pure luxury! Every bit about our stay was amazing - the warm welcome from the staff, the coffee pot left outside our door each morning, the mint tea...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lulacat78
EFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

Every holiday is special but a honeymoon tops the list and we're delighted that yours with us was so successful. We were pleased to spoil you a little with the upgrade and also that all the personal touches - from your morning tea tray to the comfortable corners scattered throughout the building - made your stay. We work hard to...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for four nights and couldn't have asked for more. The food was great, the service was fantastic and the feeling of a homely boutique hotel is there. I would prefer not recommending it just to keep it as a secret, but El Fenn deserves the attention and the acknowledgement of being one of the best. Not possible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henkelanden
EFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

From food to service and a sense of home, we ticked all the boxes for you and we're delighted. Every review is appreciated because we know it takes time and the feedback is always much appreciated. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.... And thanks for resisting the urge to keep us a secret and spreading the word!

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful experience from the communication beforehand to the rooms to the assistance to the food.. only great things to say for this Riad and the staff that operate it. We should all be so lucky to stay here..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 21joanna
EFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

What a great review to read and thank you for taking the time to post it. We know that communication is a key part of the experience here and so we're really pleased to read that you felt looked after before you arrived - as well as during your stay. Wafaa and Hind who are in charge of our reservations...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights. El Fenn is a stunning riad, beautifully styled. The food was excellent and the staff were fantastic. My husband and I were treated like royalty. I can't wait to come back. Thank you all at El Fenn!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marieacox
EFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

What a pleasure it was to have you with us and we're so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you with us again soon! Thank you from us all for the review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was recommended to stay at the El Fenn, while the decor doesnt dissapoint, there are a lot of things that could be improved. The service and staff was amazing. My room had a private terrace, the bed linen was best I have had in the whole of Marrakesh. However I had a beautiful trip, and this was my last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saima K
EFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

We're pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay from the room to the decor but also sorry to read of your upset at being addressed as Mrs throughout your stay. We understand your frustration at the title mix-up which came about because your reservation was mistakenly entered on our booking system for two people. We can only...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing stay in Marrakech and in particular at El Fenn. We stayed at Little Sister annex which was ideal for us. Hamoda was excellent. We will be back. The service and friendliness at El Fenn is fantastic you feel at home from the moment you arrive. It's also so close to parks at one side and the Medina the other.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
Louise20001, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Our little sister annexe is perfect for families and we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so thoroughly. Hamoda and the rest of the team were so happy to see your review and kind mention. It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back soon. All the best, El Fenn Guest Relations

Winkfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the pool suite room 6 for a belated honeymoon and it was every bit as magical and romantic as we hoped. Every little detail was attended to from the moment we arrived to our reluctant departure. The food in the restaurant is outstanding, beautifully presented and so delicious and fresh - it spoiled us for eating anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
Louise20001, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a great pleasure to host you and just like you didn't ant to leave, we didn't want you to leave! It sounds like you managed to pack in a lot on a very short trip. Thank you for all the wonderful compliments and we are delighted that you loved our art collection,...

new york
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

El Fenn upon first glance looks great and may have been when it was first renovated, now it looks tired and for a trendy hotel that is not a good look. Most rooms open onto the courtyards which means that anyone can look into your room while walking by so for privacy you have to keep the shutters closed which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nyer_9
Louise20001, Guest Relations Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and apologize for the technical issue with your aircon, we always do our very best to fix such issues. As you can see from the hundreds of positive reviews on Trip Advisor, from well travelled guests who enjoy...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,096 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (715)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (228)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (281)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (30)
Viewed
Junior Suite (73)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Suite with Private Pool (103)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
1,136 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#60 of 508 in Marrakech
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#63 of 508 in Marrakech
573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#18 of 508 in Marrakech
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Price Range: $232 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from El Fenn staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from El Fenn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had room one. Liked it as it was on the ground floor and away from other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles marieacox, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I had a small room on the top, which was lovely, Room 12”
 of 5 bubbles 476saimak, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Talk to the booking team to get the best room for your needs - each room is individual”
 of 5 bubbles 784laurend, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I am convinced that whichever room you are allocated you will be impressed.”
  • The pink room. I just didnt want to leave
 of 5 bubbles ASinUK, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher levels might be better if you want to hide away and relax in peace.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneySkier, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question