We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riad Africa

94 - 95 Derb Sakka Arset Moulay Moussa, Marrakech 40000 Morocco
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (618)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (190)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#196 of 729 hotels in Marrakech
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Facial treatments
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles729 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Riad Africa is often celebrated for its central location, making it a favorite for guests eager to explore the city's offerings. While the rooms may be on the smaller side, the cozy and authentically Moroccan atmosphere of the hotel is frequently acknowledged. Travelers commend the attentive and friendly staff, alongside the hotel's cleanliness, although there are sporadic mentions of maintenance and cleaning issues. The value for money is generally well-regarded, with a satisfying breakfast included, but some guests feel certain options like the half-board could be improved.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Helpful
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
729Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 498
  • 138
  • 42
  • 24
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Meg D wrote a review Apr 8
2 contributions
+1
What a wonderful stay we have had. Me and my sister travelled with our mum for her 60th birthday. Despite booking a suite, it was a room with three beds and the welcome we received when we arrived was a little poor it was absolutely all redeemed with the kindness of staff, fantastic pool (not heated until end of April but wonderfully refreshing) and the delicious breakfast. Brilliant position in the medina, close enough to walk but far enough to exit the mayhem and thank you to Redoun for the real talk when it came to us booking too much in one day regarding cooking course and Hamman and the timings. We would definitely recommend Riad Africa.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Take earplugs. Can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear that you loved your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kammy74 wrote a review Mar 2024
United Kingdom49 contributions49 helpful votes
This riad is lovely, although it needs a bit of tlc. The staff were great. It’s in a great location, within walking distance of the medina and the square. The breakfast was great too. The pool was dirty and I think it could do with a good clean. We didn’t realise that unless you leave your key with reception you room wouldn’t be cleaned. We found this out the day before we left. Overall, a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Very close to the square and medina. Lots of food places to choose from.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed it. We have taken your comments on board to try and improve upon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Clare W wrote a review Mar 2024
Oxford, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is just adorable. Very central so super easy access to everything. It has a beautiful roof garden and stunning plunge pool on the ground level but the best part of this hotel is the staff. They are all just so helpful and lovely. I want to give a particular shout out to redoun (not sure I spelt that right) who was just so lovely and super helpful. I'm so glad we chose this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review Clare, we are all pleased to hear that you loved your stay with us. The nice comments will be passed onto Redouan so he is aware of his good work. We hope to see you again for another stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bev wrote a review Mar 2024
Wales, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
Dropped away from the hotel by a busy roundabout.. our cases were collected by a man with a cart, however not from hotel sadly & abruptly told to pay 5E when at hotel we had none, however he took £5 just be aware! Hotel is away from the hustle of city! So perfect to retire to after a hot day’s sightseeing! Check-in not so great as rooms not ready & even though arriving 1st we were allocated last so frustrating! Khartoum had a sticking door as had been recently glossed so entry not easy …beautiful & authentic although very dark, which was due to poor lighting early evening & morning. Sited under dining room or kitchen meaning daily awoken at 8am by noise from roof terrace. Beautifully cleaned daily fresh towels etc. Breakfast was freshly cooked: cereal cheese hams omelettes pancakes. No complaints! Staff extremely friendly. English Owner introduced himself & receptionist English very good. Plunge pool too close to office & bed rooms to use but truly set the Moroccan mood! Close to some beautiful local evening restaurants .. advise to book these on line first as very busy! Definitely recommend this Hotel as if you are looking to stay within the City Walls you are literally 5 mins away from the main square, souks, plus city wall! We found some fabulous local cafes for lunch don’t be afraid to try!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be very careful with locals selling natural goods to heal all .. they will not listen to No .....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed it. We have taken your comments on board to try and improve upon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo M wrote a review Mar 2024
Harrogate, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Fantastic calm oasis away from the craziness of the souks and main square. Centrally located for and easily walkable to all main sites. Room (junior suite, Khartoum) was great - Moroccan style. Beautiful decor, clean bedding and towels every day, fridge, sofa, hairdryer. There was a tv but we couldn’t get it to work - didn’t need it. Breakfast did the job - cereals, bread, cheese, meats, yoghurt and Moroccan pancakes. I think omelettes can be ordered but we didn’t do this. The pool isn’t really useable - it’s in the middle of the building in front of reception. I didn’t use it as I would have been very self conscious and I didn’t see anyone else in it either (hence 4 out of 5). The roof terrace is great with sunny and shady areas. Be prepared for the general appearance of the local area - there has been earthquake damage and rebuilding is going on, and look out for mopeds driving along the lanes. However I would recommend Riad Africa thoroughly- wonderful character and ambiance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t be alarmed when the ‘porter’ takes your luggage through a dark building site - cabs can’t...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Thank you for your good review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we strive to provide an excellent experience for all guests. We hope to welcome you back one day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SalP133 wrote a review Feb 2024
Worthing, United Kingdom130 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
We were very happy at Riad Africa and found the location perfect for visiting all the sites. Also some great restaurants nearby including Dar Dar and La Pergola Jazz Bar. Mohammed and all the other staff were polite and helpful and couldn’t do enough for us. Our room was smaller than we expected but we soon adapted and it was cleaned with fresh towels etc every day. The breakfast was great with egg tagine or omelette and pancakes as well as fruit, cereals, yoghurt, bread juice etc. We loved our Riad and Marrakesh and will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded Feb 12, 2024
Thank you for your review of Riad Africa, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The positive comments will be passed onto the team and we hope to see you again for another stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Coco wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
+1
Pro: The Riad is closed to Place des Ferblantiers where is day trip pick up point of many companies and you can catch a taxi easily. Walking distance to Main square, Jemaa el-Fnaa and some sightseeing spots. There is aircon, hair dryer, bathrobe, fridge, security-safe, kettle. Coffee/ tea, box tissue, body wash and hand soap, shampoo, but no conditioner had been provided. Breakfast was adequate even it wasn’t ready by 8am. Cons: It may be the luck of bed room allocation?? Dark room even lights are on. Mouldy smells and actual mould in bathroom both shower booth and ceiling. Awful draining system in shower booth. Water raised to ankle every time showered and remaining at least 10mins after shower. Even complained to reception, nothing changed. Towels must be shared with their spa. It smelled of oxidised oil. No bed linen changed for 4days. Inconvenient spots of electric outlets and you have to take one of lights off, so staying in dark while charging. Unable to use wifi in the room, which is many people commented.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded Jan 23, 2024
Thanks for your feedback and for listing the room facilities we provide, we will consider providing hair conditioner for future guests. For the problems you mention, our shower drains are pop-ups so if you don't pop it up the water will not drain, our spa towels are beige not white, we do not know why they smelled of oil. The Wi-Fi in Riad Africa is high speed fibre optic and is usually very reliable but occasionally the network provider, Maroc Telecom, takes the system down for maintenance. We will investigate the issue of mould - we will have to check all our rooms as we do not know who you are or which room you stayed in.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MickH2o wrote a review Dec 2023
Brackley, United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
The staff are all very friendly and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble to arrange. Someone is available 24/7 if there are any problems or need help. The riad is close to the centre with numerous market streets, restaurants and cafes nearby. No street or traffic noise inside the road. The receptionist, Rafika, went above and beyond arranging trips and activities for us. Thank you for all your help and advice. We took the Moroccan cooking course here. It was good fun and the food we cooked was delicious. We learnt a lot that we will take back to spice up the cooking at home. I had an hour long massage here which was a relaxing time and worth doing. The riad is over a number of floors with breakfast on the top floor. Sun loungers are located on the roof top along with a couple of tented shelters to hide from the sun in. Overall a very pleasant place to stay for us, a family of 4 with 2 adult daughters.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Airport drop off is about 200M from the riad, helpful porters will transport your luggage for a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded Jan 3, 2024
Thank you for taking the time out to write a good review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will pass on your positive comments to Rafik to let him know about his good work.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TegsD wrote a review Dec 2023
Reading, United Kingdom13 contributions
Wow, what a beautiful hotel. The staff were wonderful and the rooms were comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. We did the cooking course whilst we were there which was definitely worth the money. The hotel is really quiet despite being right in the heart of the town. If I could suggest anything to improve the stay, it would be to replace the sun loungers as they’d seen their day a bit. But honestly, it’s a wonderful place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Due to the location, tour guides can’t pick you up from the door, you do need to walk a short...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded Dec 27, 2023
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Riad Africa and the activities which we offer, the positive comments will be passed onto the team. Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay and pass your suggestions on.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SimonL66 wrote a review Nov 2023
Haslemere, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We visited as part of a three centre holiday. The location, accommodation and facilities were superb. We loved the authenticity of the place and that we really felt on holiday in Africa with amazingly friendly local staff looking after us. Beautiful breakfasts on the roof terrace with breads made by the chefs and a great selection of choices. Riad Africa is only just over 5 minutes walk from the famous town square and within the city walls. Close by we found a great live jazz restaurant, henna cafe and lots of small shops. We used a guide recommended by the Riad who was fantastic guiding us through the souk to see the real workers making products in the back streets and for a great lunch. We would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Africa if you want a comfortable, great value authentic stay in Marrakesh.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Let the Riad arrange your airport transfer, then their porter will meet you to carry your luggage.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naomi Anstead, Guest Services / Front Office at Riad Africa
Responded Dec 12, 2023
Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marrakech area.
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MoroccoMarrakech-SafiMarrakech
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIAD AFRICA $92 ($̶1̶5̶1̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Marrakech, Morocco

Frequently Asked Questions about Riad Africa
Which popular attractions are close to Riad Africa?
Nearby attractions include Bahia Palace (0.1 miles), Marrakech WITH Locals (0.1 miles), and Tissir Jewellery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Riad Africa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Riad Africa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Riad Africa?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riad Africa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fluffy Restaurant Café, Medina Burger, and Casa Lalla Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Riad Africa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Riad Africa have airport transportation?
Yes, Riad Africa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Riad Africa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Riad Africa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bahia Palace (0.1 miles), Medina of Marrakesh (0.9 miles), and Medina of Essaouira (0.7 miles).
Is Riad Africa accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.