Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Cite Founty P4, Agadir 80007 Morocco
Traveler (2681)
360
Panoramas (11)
Dining (218)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, Mar 8
No booking fees
Only 1 left at
$170
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#11 of 91 hotels in Agadir
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic

Location

Cite Founty P4, Agadir 80007 Morocco
4066Reviews204Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,389
  • 908
  • 396
  • 206
  • 167
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
leila m wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
We were in this hotel for 7 nights and I should mentioned that staffs are absolutely friendly, kind and always say hello and helpful. They tried their best to please you. The only problem is they all speak arabic and french but they are very poor at english and when i wanted to order a dinner first night we arrived they brought the wrong one after 2 hours waiting and We got so angry because we were so shattered after a long flight. There are some workers that helped us a lot but I only remember Najat. She was very kind and her english was very good. About our room Every day they cleaned very well but the only problem was toilet was a bit smelly sometimes. Overall If I wanted to come to agadir again I will choose the new branch next to Sofitel. I will be there for Spa for hammam and massage and the building was so modern and amazing Najva was working there and wash my whole body she couldn’t speak English but she tried her best to please me. This hotel is super busy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H5707, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear 61leilam, We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your appreciation for your recent stay at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort. We thank you for your constructive criticism and will certainly pass it on to the relevant departments as we are constantly seeking to improve our services and your feedback is essential in this regard. Furthermore, thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we will not fail to pass on your compliments to the whole team knowing that it will mean a lot to them. Thank you again for choosing our establishment for your vacation and we hope to welcome you again and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future occasion. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Qing L wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
+ The staff were so friendly especially to children. My young daughter looked forward to going to reception and getting some sweets from the staff. They seem genuinely happy in their jobs too and consistently have smiles on their faces.

+ House keeping was quick most of the time when we phoned to ask for water, kettle, etc

+ Very comfy bed and bedding. So comfy that we even wanted to buy a set to bring home.

- Room was very dated. Mould in sealant around sink and bath.

- Big bottles of water supplied on check in. But had to ask house keeping for more in later days. And the waters given were in very small bottles which weren’t enough for us a family of 4 including a baby needing formula milk made.

- No tea coffee facility and we had to ask house keeping for a kettle. My in laws staying next door couldn’t get a kettle as apparently our one was the last one they had.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H5707, General Manager at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear valued guests, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay among us in the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort. We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal appreciations of the rooms and the staff. Please be informed dear guests that you can request those amenities and will gladly be placed in your room during your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you among us. Best Regards , Mohammed Aqqa General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda S wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
I stayed for a week in SOFITEL, first experience in Agadir, Morocco. It was initially suggested by my partner as we were trying to have a sunny breakaway from stormy London.
The weather is terrific, very warm and sunny.
The hotel was a great discovery for us, we were very well taken care of from the start by the reception staff who was admirable trying to settle us down and upgrading our room.
Our room was very clean and luminous, we had a view facing the ocean and a welcome note on our bed.
Thé buffet for breakfast is perfect, everything you could possibly ask for in a breakfast buffet.
We liked the local pancakes and detox juices, they were a great plus.
The pool area is very lovely, we had a wonderful time lounging on sun beds and drinking cocktails.
By the end of the stay we have made plenty of friends around the hotel and we were so sad to leave.
We’ll be returning on April.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestExperience_Mg, Responsable relations publiques at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear amandasO5863XH, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Regards, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa B wrote a review Feb 2020
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
We stated we wanted a twin bed and after the 3 attempt and one of us going to the house keeping staff to help separate the beds this was finally done (with our help) however reception had been asked several times. The plumbing was terrible, once you pushed the flush the water kept running unless you hit the flush again after the 3rd time. It had a class panel from the bathroom to the bedroom so if you went to the loo in the middle of the night you woke the other person with the light. On my arrival there was no welcome or help as I arrived a few days after due to my flight being cancelled. No explanation of breakfast, wifi or simple welcome drink or help with luggage (previously received this in other sofitels- would expect this in a 5*) Food was a huge problem as one was vegan and we had emailed in advanced and reminded reception and the mornings there was no help or no one knew anything about it, when finally we were able to speak to someone they had said this was ok to eat (cereal and bread) to later find out that there was milk which is obviously against ethical believes. Finally on the last day something was done (4 previous days of nothing!) I had my flight cancelled and therefore had no breakfast and was still charged. When we spoke to reception again very dismissive. We had paid taxes etc and we were then told we had to pay extra and they over charged. By using booking.com we had booked a free cancellation room (with garden view- this was an alley) however, the money was taken out of my account a month too early with no warning or receipt. we asked for the gym/yoga timetable and they had emailed the wrong one which meant we were not able to do the classes. General cleanliness was not acceptable for a 5* hotel We have been very disappointed with our stay and when we tried to explain to the reception it was too little too late if anything. We have been to sofitels before and booking.com and this has been a stressful and terrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you are clear and expect little - the hotel next door (also a Sofitel was much better)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager, Service clients/Réception at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort. We are very disappointed to read that we have been unable to exceed your expectations. On behalf of the management team we offer our apologies for the issues you have faced and invite you to contact us directly (H5707@sofitel.com) to discuss in detail your experiences at our property. Feedback from our guests is highly valued as it helps us to see our property, in detail, through our guest’s eyes; we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly and hope to demonstrate Sofitel’s well-known dedication to the satisfaction of our guests. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya M wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom4 contributions
This hotel is very tired looking, it’s not as clean as it should be for 5* rating, there was often hair clumped with dust/dirt left on the floor after the maid had been in, the beds were comfy but had a dip in the mattress so quite worn, the food was lovely but on a couple of occasions I had sausages & fish that were pink/red in the middle, and some items were cold. The thing that stands out about this hotel is that the service is poor. The reception area is extremely slow we waiting almost half an hour to check in! And 20 mins to check out! The reception staff appeared grumpy and unhelpful at one point the girl left the desk and disappeared out the back after another long wait we left with our question unanswered!! We never got refreshments on arrival, but saw them doing this the following day.
The service in the restaurants is also very slow, they’d forget that you had ordered another drink, or completely ignore you!
The pool area also had poor service, they’d frequently run out of towels and we had an hour wait for fresh ones. If you leave the pool area for a short period of time your towel will be taken.
Khalid excursion rep was great - we booked 3 fab trips fishing trip, horse ride and Paradise Valley and he threw in a free city tour!
Beach has strong waves, often black flag up meaning unsafe to swim and there’s big jelly fish in there they have warning signs up about this.
But would not return to this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H5707, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear TanyaM302, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort and we of course deeply regret that this one did not meet your expectations. Be assured that all your comments were shared with the different Managers so as to consider all possible improvements on the issues you raised. We do hope that despite your disappointment, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so as to give you a completely different overview of our property. Very best regards, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
salhaire wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Overpriced old property need major renovation, staff is nice & friendly but overworked, poor top management saving on staff that cost 300$/month, new year hotel fully booked 475 rooms, 1 person at reception only, few waiters at breakfast, wait long time for free seats, to sit outside early morning no option. No one answer telephone reception room service housekeeping. Price f+b super expensive for a poor country. If you gave money spend little more & stay at new Sofitel next door.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H5707, Responsable relations publiques at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin P wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I was meant to stay in the hotel end of March 2020 but this got cancelled because of Covid-19, FCO banned all flights to Morocco. I have never received a refund from the hotel, I have sent numerous emails and tried multiple times to call the hotel but there has been no answer no response to any of my emails. I have also tried Accor who advised the hotel is not part of their group anymore and they would not help, very useless. I am extremely disappointed with this service, having stayed in other Sofitel before I thought this was a trusted/well know hotel but I was shocked this time how impossible it was to get my money back. I have been trying till December 2020 to get my money back but now gave up. Absolutely terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tee wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
When we arrived, they took really long to check in people not as welcoming but after 15 minutes someone brought Moroccan Tea. 
we had three rooms the two of the rooms had flood issues, the food we went to shisha lounge and the chips was cold next day my tuna pinani had food in it brought it back for days we was there some of the staff really rude but on our last day Fatima-Zara the manager made us do a late check out compensated us. then another staff got rude short hair little blonde kept knocking to kick us out when we told her it was until 5PM and she kept into knocking at 4:20pm the services was long we wasnt sure if it was the colour of our skin or they are just not nice staff there but the pool and room nice the staff just needs training but the club so lounge was amazing
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H5707, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. We regret to learn about the experiences you encounter. This unpleasant situation is not matching the level of service that our guests are so rightfully expecting from Sofitel and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Be assured that all your comments were shared with the different Managers so as to consider all possible improvements on the issues you raised. Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sha070507 wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
Not the standard from Sofitel which I normally expect. A lower standard in my view. Check in took an hour, Air conditioning was temperamental, breakfast service was slow and waiter service were dismissal. To use the facilities such as gym etc was extra payment, not normally the case in hotels. Overall the hotel looked tired. Would I stay at this venue again? No. Would I recommend it? No.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H5707, Responsable relations clients at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear guest, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort and we of course deeply regret that this one did not meet your expectations. Be assured that all your comments were shared with the different Managers so as to consider all possible improvements on the issues you raised. We do hope that despite your disappointment, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so as to give you a completely different overview of our property. Very best regards, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
_p_rooney8 wrote a review Feb 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
This hotel sits on a fabulous stretch of Agadirs beach and provides a fabulous location. The weather was warm and sunny during the day. Our room in the hotel was clean but very tired. Not 5 star by any stretch of imagination, more 3.5 star. However the pool area and grounds are very nice. The main buffet restaurant served an excellent range of options for both breakfast and dinner. Service by our waiter Simon was first first class. He is a valuable asset to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager, Autre at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Dear guest, We thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to thank you for highlighting the quality of the service you received. Be sure that your remark was transmitted to the service concerned. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
taher16 asked a question Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
Is there a microwave to use to sterilise my babys bottles please?
Answer from aakhanna
Singapore, Singapore294 contributions87 helpful votes
Not in the rooms I am afraid You may need to ask your concierge or duty manager for the facility if available
Show all answers
Answer from Clizzy92
Pulborough, United Kingdom57 contributions6 helpful votes
I saw the gym from the pool. Have to say I didn’t ask or bother to find out. Nowhere said you had to pay to use it though. I will just say if you like your fitness I did surf lessons and they were fab! Worked out about £25 for an hour
Show all answers
EYESWIDEOPEN212 wrote a tip Mar 2020
New York City, New York274 contributions91 helpful votes
"They have some amazing suites with private pools if you're looking for some privacy"
Read full review
Melissa B wrote a tip Feb 2020
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
"Make sure you are clear and expect little - the hotel next door (also a Sofitel was much better)"
Read full review
Kevin wrote a tip Nov 2019
1 contribution
"Expect the rooms do need reservation , it’s in Morroccon style but clean each day"
Read full review
Sonia B wrote a tip Nov 2019
10 contributions
"Expect top service throughout , aware this is a morrocon style hotel . Be patient when there busy ,, the whole of service work hard"
Read full review
Alan W wrote a tip Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom76 contributions30 helpful votes
"You pay more for best views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Agadir area.
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel agadir royal bay hotel agadir, agadir sofitel
LOCATION
MoroccoSouss-MassaAgadir
NUMBER OF ROOMS
273
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HÔTEL SOFITEL AGADIR ROYAL BAY RESORT $155 ($̶1̶7̶2̶) - Prices & Hotel Reviews - Morocco

Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Nearby attractions include Thalassa Sea & Spa (0.1 miles) and Bar Aquatique (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Nasse, Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay, and Le Palais du Jardin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Arabic.