We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Ankeny

Show Prices
#10 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Ankeny
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Ankeny
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The entire staff made my stay very enjoyable. John,GM, was always on top of anything that I asked for. Very professional and courteous. I appreciate that. The property is newer and the breakfast is awesome. Rooms are very well taken care of and very clean thanks to the hard work of the housekeeping staff. Restaurant's in walking distance. Great location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Arlington Heights, IL
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here a couple weeks in August for business. It was a nice clean hotel, with good amenities. I will stay there again if I'm ever in town for business. They are booked up a lot, so try to reserve a room way in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AAASparky
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Front desk was organized. Rooms were very big and clean. The breakfast area was well stocked, and staff were friendly. The towels are the fluffy white towels. There is a pool area, with a hot tub- but no one was using it. The cashier at checkout was a little grumpy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ttphotography
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Was asked to stay here for business even though I was working down town. Would prefer to stay downtown but if I had to stay in Ankeny, this was a good hotel. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and there are a few places to eat within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hunter P
Omaha, USA
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We stayed here one night during a tandem bike rally in Ankeny. It is a typical HI Express, but fairly new and therefore a bit nicer than average. The best feature was the large breakfast room. You actually had room to eat without being jostled, which was a nice change from most hotels. The food was typical. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brewbaker
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel for our team home-away-from-home during state baseball. They even accommodated our team dinner on Friday night in the breakfast area! Breakfast was an added bonus! The cinnamon rolls were a big hit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jryan14188
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Reviewed June 20, 2016

This is a newer property, well maintained with all the amenities for which this brand is noted. It requires three turns off the Interstate so is a bit hard to find--they need more signs. Desk clerk AWOL for check-in and not all that friendly. But the facilities have all the HIE bells and whistles and there is no reason to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waldentenn
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

I came with a group of 14 people, 5 rooms for Odyssey of the Mind competition and this hotel, staff and management went above and beyond to ensure that we were taken care of from the moment we arrived. We had several children with us and the staff was always friendly and respectful. Breakfast was delicious and they always had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alaina_evans
Bethalto, Illinois
Reviewed April 13, 2016

While traveling to the area for business, I made reservations for thee rooms, one night each. The travel plans changed immediately so I called the same young lady who I made the reservations with to cancel. Was told that the cancellation was no problem and I would receive my cancellation notification shortly. Unfortunately, I forgot about the cancellation number until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William W
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ankeny, responded to this review

Dear William W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We regret the issues you had with your reservation and the charge. Your feedback is troubling and will surely be looked into. Rest assured it will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments to ensure similar situations can...

Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

It was a nice, clean hotel and the price was reasonable. The only thing we didn't like is that we got there too late to get anything to eat, so we had to go to another hotel to get something to eat. We will definitely stay here again on our way down to Texas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ankeny, responded to this review

Dear Grace B, We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. Sincerely, Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Interstate 35 the 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ankeny/Des Moines is your home away from home offering the best service in the Des Moines area. Our hotel is in close proximity to several businesses including Tones Spices, John Deere, Praxair, Monsanto, Caseys, Embria, Syngenta, DMACC, Iowa State University & the Ankeny Airport. The following attractions are close to our hotel: Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, State Capitol, Science Center, Principal Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Adventureland, Prairie Meadows, downtown Des Moines, Civic Center & Blank Park Zoo. Our hotel staff will make you feel at home whether you re traveling for business or pleasure. You will agree that when travelling to Ankeny/Des Moines, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the smart place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ankeny

Address: 2402 Southeast Tones Dr, Exit 90 - Route 160, Ankeny, IA 50021-8879
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Price Range: $130 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ankeny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ankeny Hotel Ankeny
Holiday Inn Ankeny
Ankeny Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Ankeny staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There is nothing much to see in Ankeny, so view doesn't matter.”
 of 5 bubbles Brewbaker, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“Room 216 had a lot of doors shutting noise - directly over entrance”
 of 5 bubbles TMarek, Feb 19, 2016 | Read review
“A room on the North side might be better due to lighting in the parking lot seeping through the curtains at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 824CathyH, Dec 28, 2015 | Read review
“They're all good.”
 of 5 bubbles neill621, May 26, 2015 | Read review
“Avoid Room 106 all others were great”
 of 5 bubbles karen12365, May 23, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question