We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Show Prices
#6 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 354: English reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean room, well decorated, and comfortable. As we left, a member of the housekeeping staff thanked us for our stay - great hospitality! Garden Inn is always a great stay, I do wish they offered a free continental breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank James B
Vernon Hills, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the best hotels near ISU. We stay here when the rates are within reason. The hotel is located about 3 miles from campus. The rooms are clean and bed firmness can be adjusted. The only negative is that the heating / cooling fan is loud when it turns on. We ended up setting the fan to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert J G
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Robert, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that our team was able to make sure you were comfortable during your stay. We appreciate our guests that are coming to visit Iowa State University, and look forward to the next time that you stay with us! Thank you for your time, Daniel Shepherd Front Office Manager More 

Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this hotel in connection with a business trip. Overall the rooms are a good size with standard amenities. The staff are friendly and welcoming and tried to anticipate my needs beforehand. Breakfast was good and had all that was necessary. Overall a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thomas, Thank you for your 4-bubble review. I am glad that our staff were able to accommodate for your needs, and to try and anticipate some of them as well! We strive to give the best possible experience to each of our guests, and hope to give you another good experience the next time you visit Ames! Thank you for... More 

Siren, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was fantastic We were offered the opportunity to upgrade and were able to take advantage of this offer. The additional room was greatly appreciated. We also were able to enjoy the outdoor patio at night, which was very relaxing.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Carol L
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Carol, Thank you very much for the 5/5 review! We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade. The weather over the nights you stayed was very kind to us, and I am glad you were able to enjoy it while seated on our outdoor restaurant patio. Thank you for your time, Daniel Shepherd Front Office Manager More 

Ames, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible smell of cigarette smoke and the shower did not work correctly. The room itself was nice and so was the staff. I was very unhappy to spend the money and smell cigarette smoke the whole time! The bed was very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank celiam895
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I apologize that your room smelled of smoke. We strive to make each and every one of our guests comfortable, and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We should have offered to treat the room while you were out for the evening, or while you enjoyed a meal or drinks... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming front desk staff! Enjoyed the complimentary bottled water at check in. Rooms were very clean and beds were adjustable to preference of firmness. Only complaint with the room is that the towel rack in the shower area was extremely rusted and worn.

Helpful?
Thank vineshakbrown
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the 4-bubble TripAdvisor review! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our front desk and housekeeping staff members! In regards to the towel rack, I apologize that you had to experience that! We try to keep every one of our rooms in perfect condition, and I am sorry that you didn't get... More 

Itzehoe, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pro: Biggest advantage: made to order breakfast! Friendly staff ... Con: Windows don't open, pool only allowed after 9 am - for business travelers a disadvantage No real restaurants in walking distance

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Steph D
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Steph, Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review! We appreciate your stay and your kind words. I am very glad that you enjoyed our breakfast options! I apologize that we have sealed windows, and that the pool is not open until after 9am. For restaurant options if you are wanting to dine at a place other than our Garden Grill, we... More 

Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When traveling with my teen daughter and her boyfriend for a college visit I booked a suite with a bedroom and pullout couch. When I got to our room discovered that jr suite that I reserved did not have a bedroom door which was a little awkward. I called down to the front desk and inquired about suites with an... More 

Helpful?
Thank soccermom1122
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your 5-bubble TripAdvisor review! I am very glad that the room we were able to upgrade you to after learning about the room-type confusion worked well for your needs! I hope everything went well with the college visit to Iowa State. I am glad the weather cooled down a bit to cooperate with your... More 

Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed in several Hilton Garden Inn and have been impressed. Not this one. We stayed in a suite. The door to the room was very sticky and we had to always make sure we pulled it hard before leaving room. The tub in bathroom was very narrow and made standing in there difficult. It was also spongy on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank gtfarms
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Hello gtfarms, I apologize for the experience that you had. We continually strive to be the best hotel in the area. To have one thing wrong with the room, let alone many, is very disappointing. I hope that you get a chance to stay at our hotel again in the future. I would like the opportunity to show you just... More 

carroll, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was enjoyable, good breakfast, very friendly staff, the hot tub was cold, good thing it was summer. Breakfast included a made your way omelet, wonderfully made. Choco milk was great. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy. Price was a bit high, but for the service, well worth it.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Tony, Thank you for your 5-bubble review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, including the service and breakfast. It is not our intention to have our hot tub be on the cool side, so we hope that the next time you come and visit us everything will be at 100% ! Thank you, Daniel Shepherd Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Ames
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Great American Grill
Cuisines: Italian, American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: $132 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay