We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Show Prices
#6 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 378: English reviews
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were tired after traveling all day and it was so nice to sleep in a hotel that was clean, beds so comfortable with extra pillows and in a quiet area of town. Not super close to the downtown area or to Iowa State, but not that far of a drive either.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marybeth R
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Still a good hotel. However the rooms need an update. They are dark and gloomy unless you open shades and it's daytime. Televisions are not very big, maybe 36 inches. Plug ins are not convenient bedside. Yes there is one in the lamp, but if plug is not a standard size, it won't fit. Many devices have folding plugs or... More 

Helpful?
Thank GolfingBearcat
Cedar Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family & I decided to get away for a few days at the last minute - I had stayed at this location before and it was wonderful stay. So I hopped online and booked a room for 2 nights. We arrived at the hotel and had a quick and very nice check-in; the young man was polite, offered an... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanetCat73
HGIAmes, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

First, we appreciate the service that our Military provides us and have the highest respect for all they do to keep us safe. Our GM worked with the National League of Families during the Vietnam War and was recognized with the American Legion Award. She also worked with the VA at another hotel employing veterans to assimilate back into the... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second time at this hotel, and the standard is still high. I will not hessitate to come back. Pool area not new but in fine conditions. Breakfast is my favorite. Check-in and out is swiftly done with a smile

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank henrikskovt
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff and location! Well maintained and comfortable room! Have stayed here before and will continue to stay here. The only drawback this time was there was a "home" football game so had to prepay and price was higher than normal.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank robinn508
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms with plenty of space. Small fridge & coffee maker included in my room. Comfortable bed and quiet location made sleep in easy. Quick access to highway 30 made getting anywhere else quick and easy. Good breakfast saved time in the morning.

Helpful?
Thank Todd P
Nevada, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I reserved a whirlpool room for my brother and his wife for his birthday. They were put in a room that wasn't supposed to be rented and they decided to only stay 1 out of the 2 nights that were reserved for this reason. The room was supposed to be marked OUT OF SERVICE because the whirlpool was out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lola83ia
Mandan, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had great service, a nice, clean room - albeit a little dated. It was close to the University. The front desk person wished my son good luck as he was leaving for his veterinary school interview, which was very much appreciated!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank G6742BIjohnl
HGIAmes, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear G6742BIjohnl, Thank you for your review! We hope the interview for your son went well, and we hope that you continue to use our hotel for your ISU visits or any visits to Ames. Sincerely, Sheila J More 

Madison, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

no complaints, clean, dependable responsive staff, and safe area in Ames Iowa... I don't know what else to write so I using these characters meet the minimum of 200 and until I reach 200 i will continue to write words

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Bradley W
HGIAmes, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Bradley W., Thank you for your 5 bubble review! We don't have a minimum number of characters that we have to use for a response, so we could type thank you a hundred times!! (we won't) We look forward to your next stay with us. Best Regards, Sheila J. More 

Redwood Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My company had a meeting in Ames and we had our meeting at the Hilton Garden Inn. What a great hotel! The entire staff was outstanding. Each and every one of them said hello. Food at the restaurant was great. Room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank pwiechmann
HGIAmes, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear pwiechmann, Thank you for your 5 bubble review! We are pleased to hear that you had such a great stay! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Best Regards, Sheila J. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Ames
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Great American Grill
Cuisines: Italian, American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: $112 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Ames staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Ames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't get room over or near pool!”
 of 5 bubbles Disneyadic, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Look for a room away from highway and not across from HVAC plant.”
 of 5 bubbles MmeMarie, Jul 7, 2016 | Read review
“Stay at this hotel if you have a student at ISU, especially if they live in the Towers or on the West side.”
 of 5 bubbles 835karenc, Apr 29, 2015 | Read review
“They might say it caters for 5, but unfortunately they can't put a rollaway bed in a four person room due to it being a fire hazard. They gave us lots of extra pillows and blankets to make up a little bed on the floor.”
 of 5 bubbles hannahs804, Jan 5, 2015 | Read review
“If you want to use the gym or pool, ask for a room between 101 and 115.”
 of 5 bubbles 157geraldp, Nov 21, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay