We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Ames

#5 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 341: English reviews
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the Hilton Garden Inn in Ames is on the western edge of Ames. It is about 2 miles from the University of Iowa and a bit more than that to downtown. It is in what is currently a fairly quiet spot, but there is some apartment and shopping construction evident nearby. The hotel seems fairly new. Rooms are in great... More 

Helpful?
Thank P0laris600
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed @ the Ames Hilton Garden Inn for just 1 night. Everything from the lobby to the room was excllent. For the price, it would have been nice to have some sort of complimentary breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank hveach
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

was told one price on the phone which was almost 50 dollars higher than their online price. When we called back on the road to confirm the price the night mgr. told the price would now be 278.00 per night. now the price was additional 100.00. i told him i had been quoted a price and this was not it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob S
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very nice quiet rooms with very comfortable beds! The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with advise on directions and help with restaurant choices. The beds are sleep number beds are were fantastic! Loved it.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 516shelleys
Ames, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was wonderful and rooms were very nice. There was a basketball tournament in town and the kids ran up and down the hallways until 2:00 in the morning. Didn't get too much sleep !! They also ate all of the cookies and the staff wouldn't make anymore. 😢😢

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced at our hotel. This is certainly not our standard and we do our best to patrol and curb any noise issues before it disturbs other guests. I also apologize about the cookies. We do only keep cookies out between 5... More 

Denison, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As always, my stay was fabulous. The front desk staff was happy to help and very friendly! The entire hotel is always clean and well cared for. The breakfast staff is super friendly and breakfast was fantastic! Hilton Garden Inn is my go to hotel wherever I go!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Molly R
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Molly, Thank you for the kind words! We're happy we can be your go to hotel in Ames! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Daniel Shepherd Front Office Manager More 

Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing special here. Rooms ok cleanliness. Staff ok. No complimentary breakfast. Good was Not good there! Laundry room had broken washer when so many people needed to use them. Beds were hard! No signs in rooms on how to adjust and eventually figured it out. Mattress sheets always came off mattress...cheap!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I apologize that one of our washers was out of service during your stay. We always try to make repairs immediately, however we had to order a part and it had not arrived yet. I apologize for the inconvenience. I also apologize that there was no sign explaining the... More 

Kansas City, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travel to Ames at least onc a month. We love staying in this Hilton property. The staff is helpful and welcoming, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast is good. It is a safe,comfortable home away from home.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Barbara, Thank you for the wonderful review and kind words. We are happy to be your home away from home in Ames! Thank you, Daniel Shepherd Front Office Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The general manager wanted to charge me almost a full nights late fee for 12.45 checkout when checkout is 12. She was very rude. We will stay next door at Sleep Inn next tournament. Free breakfast. They do not match rates from 3rd party companies like Kayak.

Helpful?
1 Thank Holycow59
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn a couple of times before. It's an attractive, newer property. Rooms are adequate and staff helpful. However, this time the breakfast was not as good as I remembered. Dried-out omelet, crumbly pastries, juice from concentrate. Hope it improves.

Helpful?
Thank MmeMarie
HGIAmes, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. I apologize that our breakfast was not as good as previous experiences. This is certainly not our standard and I'll be discussing this with our Kitchen Manager immediately. I appreciate you letting us know. I do hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you, Daniel Shepherd Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Ames
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
3.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Great American Grill
Cuisines: Italian, American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: $130 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay