We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventureland Inn

3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Adventureland Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We took our family here for an adventure together and planned to play at the Park all day. Rain changed our plan and Adventureland Park was actually closed. We were able to get one of our 3 rooms at 10:00 in the morning and we spent the day playing in the pool and enjoying our poolside rooms. The staff suggested... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephanie M
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay, pools were nice, room was clean. Large rooms, fair prices. Lots of fun. Great place to stay if you are going to adventureland or not! I recommend this hotel for families with children who like to swim.

Helpful?
Thank Shane S
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much your family enjoyed the pools and rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This sure was fun as we traveled from Wisconsin for a family vacation with one junior suite and two adjoining rooms. During the first night, an unfortunate occurrence as it rained right into one our adjoining rooms. The staff was fantastic and moved that part of the family into another room. We were the extended family dancing in the pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank vincenzanancy
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on your experience with us. We are happy to hear how much fun you had while staying with us and while visiting Adventureland Park. We apologize for the unfortunate rain occurrence and are happy that we could accommodate you as fast as possible. We hope you had a blast and look forward to seeing you... More 

Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here many times and will stay here again. You are paying extra for the convenience of being located right next door to Adventureland Park. There is a trolley ride that comes every fifteen minutes. We have never had to wait long for the trolley either at the park or at the hotel. The pools and water park... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DisFamilyof4
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy the location of our hotel to Adventureland Park as well as the pools and other amenities. We appreciate the feedback on the maintenance staff with the"things" in the pools and about the referees and will use your review in... More 

Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Average rooms for high price because it's next door to Adventure land. These rooms are your normal hotel/motel rooms with 2 queens size beds. They charge for a rollaway bed if needed. I guess you may be paying for swimming pool in the middle of the hotel. Doesn't come with any amenities that would make the price worth it. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed the location close to Adventureland Park with the free trolley as well as the two courtyard areas and new giant arcade. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

We planned a three family vacation for Adventureland park. This hotel is conveniently close to park with trolley running back and forth all day long. Super nice for families with small children needing naps in the afternoon. Hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable. Two separate pool areas with splash pads and slides for our little ones. We requested... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcarst
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the amusement park, trolley, and courtyard areas. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future. Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

About the only appeal this place has is that it's so child friendly with the pools and arcade. Otherwise rooms are super out dated and the staff hasn't been real great either. Room has a fridge but is turned off on arrival and no microwave...i can get a microwave at a motel 6 ... should be standard in a resort... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christi K
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that your children enjoyed the pools, arcade, and amusement park. As for the front desk clerk, we apologize for his customer service and he should have acknowledged the issues with the keys after having the first issue with them. We will use... More 

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Shenandoah, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We stayed at the hotel Saturday 6/09/16 and we were very disappointed in some aspects of our stay. The room was "clean" but the ceiling had what appeared to be smoke stains on it along with cracks in it. The Wi-Fi did not work at all. When we contacted the front desks for suggestions we were told there was nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had staying with us and for you not receiving a response to your earlier message. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. You are absolutely correct in saying that this is unacceptable and we will use your review as evidence in... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

So I can't say if the stay itself was worth the money since we used a "free night's stay" voucher. But the room was clean. We stayed there with 2 kids (6 and 8). There was a patio that was part of the room. This was nice when it came to loading the car. The pools were great with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ddecker92
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear the kids enjoyed the pool areas and that you enjoyed the clean rooms and the outside patio. We hope to see you and your family again in the future. More 

Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
240 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Because everything in the area we usually stay was booked, we ended up staying here. It was hard to get much detailed information on the pools and other amenities from the website but we booked it anyway. We had our 4 yo granddaughter staying with us and she had a blast. They do have 3 pool areas and the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank jnobz
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that your granddaughter had a blast in the courtyard pool areas. We are in the process of redoing our website and apologize that you could not get the information you desired. We hope that you enjoyed your time with us overall and hope to see... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 7 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#5 of 7 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range: $109 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventureland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay