We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Adventureland Inn

3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Adventureland Park
    0.3 mi
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 1 week ago
Get together
This is the 2nd year in a row that we approximately 20 of us... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the 2nd year in a row that we approximately 20 of us have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are very clean, the staff very pleasant and helpful. The kids enjoy the water park. We will definitely have our family get together every January at this hotel. Couldn't have asked for a better place to share and make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nurseowens
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We love having you and your family stay at our hotel and are happy that you all enjoyed the amenities. We look forward to having you back next January. Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

North Liberty, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't be discouraged by poor reviews -- we almost were, but are very happy to report that we've had a delightful stay at a clean, comfortable hotel that compares favorably to Wisconsin Dells resorts. I'd suggest bringing a small microwave for snacks/light meals as they don't supply them in the standard rooms. The waterpark is full-featured, kept clean and maintained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YogiBeariseverywhere
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a stellar choice for my five year-old's birthday party. We had a beautiful and clean poolside room and bought the "Birthday Party" package for $100 on top. The $100 package comes with 3 large pizzas, 3 2-liters, and six additional wristbands (five wristbands come with the room). All of the children had a BLAST. We were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hecasi
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us for your child's birthday party. We are delighted to hear how much everyone enjoyed the hotel, amenities, and pizza! We hope to see you and your family again soon! Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed December 9, 2016

I went to Adventure Land Inn and had a great experience with only one major problem. The hotel was great, but the indoor water park had some problems. It was a great water park in general. All of the slides were super fun and it was a very colorful. I got up to the top of the highest water slide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerV7434FE
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities. We sincerely apologize for the issue with the paint chipping on the slide and our maintenance team will take care of this right away. We hope to see you and your family again in the future....

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

My kids had so much fun and my husband and I enjoyed spending time together too. Clean, friendly comfortable. There is a nice sports bar / restaurant in the hotel. Also a gift/ snack shop. Two pool areas both with hot tubs and swim up bar; all while remaining kid friendly. Plan on spending $$$.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the pools, sports bar/restaurant, and the other amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Kemp, Texas
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

It was clean. Staff was friendly. Comfortable beds. Large rooms. Small snack bar but was able to get what we wanted late at night. No children with us but appeared family friendly. Pools were large and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the staff, beds/rooms, and the trolley stop. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you, Bri Fors

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the ADVENTURELAND inn hotel for one night while my family was enjoying one of the last weekends of ADVENTURELAND. We got to the hotel at 10am and they had a room available for us to get checked right in at no extra charge. We got to our room which was clean however the large spider on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey A
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We apologize about the spider in your room but are happy to hear that you enjoyed the trolley to Adventureland and the arcade. I will pass this feedback to the corresponding managers to improve on the areas you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you...

Reviewed August 23, 2016

Pools are open from 8 am til 10:30. Kids loved it, but they had a tough time sleeping at night. Adults couldn't sleep either because of the noise of the pools. Great game room with electronic tickets and money on a card. Great pools and water slides. Nice refrigerator and coffee maker in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear how much your kids enjoyed the pools and the new giant arcade. We love hearing from our guests and hope to see you and your family again soon! Thank you, Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Pella
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Had a fun time with not to long wait time for rides. The food is good. Park is clean. Good family fun.games are fun to play.the trees have grown up so there is shade on hot days. The shows have high energy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Adventureland Park. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the short lines for rides, food, and cleanliness of our park. We hope to see you again next season! Thank you, Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

I recently had a four night stay at the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. Room was clean & always maintained when I returned at the end of the day. The rooms are a bit dated, but I knew that going in. They are clean though & that's most important to me. I loved that they use Bath &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BSecrest
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed all of the details at the hotel including the clean rooms and the Bath and Body Works soap/lotion. We are happy to hear how much you love the new sports bar, Spectators. We look forward to you visiting...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
10.6 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 8 in Altoona
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#5 of 8 in Altoona
99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
12.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range: $107 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventureland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Adventureland Inn staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Kansas City, Missouri
11 months ago
over a year ago
Dellroy, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Adventureland Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“pool-side rooms are loud, as would be expected”
 of 5 bubbles YogiBeariseverywhere, 1 week ago | Read review
“All of the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles travelerV7434FE, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the pool if you want a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles mattsC6371HM, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“I would not choose a courtyard room unless you are okay with lots of noise until the pools close at 10:30.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifere642, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“The room we got was in a quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles psychbing, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question