We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue, Adel, IA
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adel
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Des Moines West KOA
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Nice KOA. Gravel roads & sites with good size grass area between neighbors. Almost all sites are pull throughs. Quiet and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. We were delayed 3 days due to a breakdown and Wendy was very helpful in moving our reservation Dailey, we ended up here only one night. Pool closed for season but lots of family... More 

Helpful?
Thank texasnana3
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We're glad we were able to assist with moving your reservation and that it still worked out! We're glad you enjoyed our grounds, and the activities that we did have going on in the weekend! Even in the off-season, we try to still come up with fun things to do! Thank you so much for your kind review, and we... More 

Hemet, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

I am sure this is a very nice campground but the owner, Chris, needs to learn a bit about human decency & compassion. We were traveling west to Des Moines on Friday, September 25, 2015 when we were involved in a massive traffic accident. Our truck & trailer were both totaled but luckily my husband & I were only scratched... More 

Helpful?
Thank flameinc
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were involved in an accident on your way to see us. It is our hope that every single guest arrives safely and although you did sustain damage to your vehicle, we are glad you were both ok. We do take refund requests... More 

SW Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We've had very, very good experiences with KOA properties across the country and thought this would be the same for a trip to the Iowa State Fair. We were right. We chose a camping cabin that had a half-bath. The cabin was in excellent condition including the bath. The air conditioner was a bit noisy at night, but those window... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnSWIowa
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind, detailed review! We're thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your cabin, as well as all of our amenities and activities! We love making our guests feel right at home as much as possible. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Good checkin with friendly folks on desk. We were assisted to our site and he helped us drive in so we didn't touch the slide of the next RV. We set up and when our slide was extended we were about 18 inches from the next door 's slide! On the opposite side the neighbours had company and they were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our apologies that you were not completely satisfied during your recent stay with us. We have passed along your comments in the hopes that we can work toward improving. We do have quite a number of different campsites that fit a variety of rigs and most people... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Surprising quiet for being full. Ok sites. Only issue was really no wifi, but we enjoyed the cable channels. Very nice and helpful staff. Good location. Store well stocked and reasonably priced. I liked the trash pick up at the campsite.

Helpful?
Thank Tratra57
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We're glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our camp store! We do our best to make sure our guests are having a nice, relaxing time. Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it! More 

ozarks
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We arrived just before closing. They helped us get to our spot and it was perfect. We had one of the shared spots (I think that is what it is called) but we did not share it with anyone. They had everything we needed and looks like a great place for families to come who wanted to vacation in this... More 

Helpful?
Thank ozarks_7
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We're glad we could be the perfect place to stop during your trip! Thanks for the kind review! More 

Freeland, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on the way home from Sturgis. Clean and quiet with no issues. Staff was friendly. Stray cat got into trash. We chased him off twice. Deluxe pad was nice as neighbors invited us over to use theirs. Pizza delivery is a nice touch. We may consider sometime when we don't want to cook. Easy in and out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank renarr
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a great stay with us! Our goal is making sure our guests are having a wonderful time. Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime! More 

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

While most KOA's seem to be going downhill this one is a gem. We always stay here when passing through this area. Sites are a nice size and all are level. This year the only one available was a patio site. It was absolutely beautiful, sorry that it rained and we didn't get to enjoy the beautiful furniture. Our granddaughter... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2854retiree
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We really appreciate that! We always do our best to make sure our guests are happy and having fun! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! More 

Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We've tent camped a couple times now at this KOA and we really enjoy the location. It's close to home for us, but still a nice getaway with all the things to do and the fabulous staff! We love the hospitality, but also all the things that there are for the kids, including activities and the pool.

Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We're glad we can be your nearby home-away-from-home, Melanie! We absolutely love having you, and are so glad you enjoy all of our activities with your family! Thanks for the kind review! More 

Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

This is a review for people who tent camp: I have tented at KOA campgrounds all over the country and have experienced my share of great ones and not-so-great ones. The KOA in West Des Moines is at the top of the list for these reasons: 1. Courteous and helpful staff 2. Clean and renovated bathrooms 3. Multiple activities for... More 

Helpful?
Thank MontereyMama83
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOA, responded to this review

We really appreciate your kind, detailed review! We're so glad you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all of our activities and facilities. We strive to do the best for our guests! We hope to see you again sometime! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adel
13.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Stuart
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#5 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities