We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Athens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 288: English reviews
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Chose to stay because of the price and was not let down; the rooms where clean and wonderful condition as was everything else with the room. Highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H7304PAjonathanl
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear H7304PAjonathanl, Thank you very much for the compliments you give to our hotel! We value our customer's experience that is why we always make sure that our facilities are in good shape to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review,...

Charlotte
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Changed rooms when I realized sliding glass door would not latch and wire security bracket could be lifted easily from outside. Low battery warning from smoke detector? could be heard in hall, source unknown.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hdbahn
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear hdbahn, I am terribly sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping and maintenance issues. The fact that we've failed in this regard is very disheartening. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope...

Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 796brets
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Newington, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great price, clean, but very small room with 2 full beds instead of queens and air unit outdated.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank faithfulttt
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear faithfulttt, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our air conditioner a. We appreciate your rating...

Reviewed November 17, 2016 via mobile

Customer service was excellent. Our rooms were quite comfortable, and I slept good. My students and I reserved rooms 105, 106, 111 & 112. We all enjoyed the stay. I look forward to coming back to the Howard Johnson Inn next school year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear Charles S Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a comfortable, and hospitable experience. It means a...

uriah
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed November 12, 2016

We needed a place to stay one night close to downtown Athens, this was perfect! Room was so cute and clean, slept like a log!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S5263VNchristines
Management response:

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with Howard Johnson in Athens Georgia. We hope you will return to stay with us again. We appreciate our guests. Judy Wilson

Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

Room decent. Breakfast -only cereal boxes, white bread, and juice. Loud Mexican neighbors. Wifi weak. Got what I paid for. The AC was good, but the room and hotel in general could have used some more amenities, and they don't necessarily have to be expensive ones.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear Richard T, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise level of the hotel. We strive hard to maintain a quiet and family friendly environment, but we can not control the actions of our guests. In the future, please speak with our front desk staff if there is too much noise,...

Braintree, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Went To Georgia Three Times From Boston,MA. And I Stayed At Howard Johnsons Hotel And it was great! Loved The rooms for both smokers and non smokers, huge beds, pool, flat sceen television, room services, mini refidgriderator and coffee maker,microwave in rooms Desk services also excellent. very affordable rates also. I stayed for a week or two each trip there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lildebsnk68x
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Dear lildebsnk68x, Thank you very much for the compliments you give to our hotel! We value our customer's experience that is why we always make sure that our facilities are in good shape to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review,...

Beaufort, South Carolina
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Stayed at the Howard Johnson's in Athens to attend a concert at the Foundry which is fairly close by. Had reservations about this as HOJO properties are not what they were in the 1960s-80s. In a nutshell, I found the hotel to be adequate. I got a discounted room rate of $58 + tax ($71. total) and it was certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
MikePatel_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review

Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition. It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 22 in Athens
78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#16 of 22 in Athens
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Address: 2465 W Broad St, Athens, GA 30606-3419
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Athens
Athens Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn Athens staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn Athens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on the first floor are the best ones!”
 of 5 bubbles lildebsnk68x, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“At least ask for a room without communicating door.”
 of 5 bubbles simonc230, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“My room faced the pool and was on the ground floor in the non smoking building. King size bed was super comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles neforrester, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
  • Ceiling leak from Room upstairs after only a few hours, falling ceiling
 of 5 bubbles JoannH906, Jun 16, 2016 | Read review
“Have non-smoking and smoking rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles presley001, May 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay