We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
 Click to rate
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location to downtown Athens, shopping and night life. Staff could be more helpful. Housekeeping did not come until 4:30 Saturday afternoon and that was just too late. Left some bottled drinks in fridge when we checked out. Called back to retrieve them and was told the room was cleaned and the bottles were thrown out. Find it hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peepye
Macon, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took 5 young ladies to Fccla state conference. Hotel very clean. Ice didn't work on 4 but did on 2. Staff - everyone was so nice and helpful!!!!! The parking lot is awkward for a bus to get in and out. Small lobby and no breakfast included, but great location to Classic Center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baybug2012
Duncan S, Front Desk Representative at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn of Athens! We're so glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to help make your experience while in town for FCCLA more enjoyable. Our team is so glad to hear that you found us friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at 2 for check in and the front desk help was very short as we inquired about our rooms. "You have a guaranteed check in of 3 o'clock," was about all we could get out of them. When we returned at 3:20...our rooms weren't ready. We waited until 5:20. And, the hotel was pretty banged up. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
Duncan S, Front Desk Representative at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. I am so sorry to see that your experience did not go as you expected, and that we were not able to get you checked in by our guaranteed check-in time. We have been making sure to have better communication between the front desk and housekeeping to make sure that...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here while I was in town for a concert at the Georgia Theatre. This is a great location! It is less than 2 blocks from the theatre. The front desk staff was so helpful. It was an extremely busy weekend for the hotel due to baseball and orchestra, but they handled it well. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brandi s
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear brandi s, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel! I am delighted that you enjoyed our awesome downtown location while attending a concert at the Georgia Theatre and our friendly front desk team. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely Amber K Guest Services Manager

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed in the Holiday Inn in Athens for a shopping trip with my daughter who is a student at UGA. The hotel is smack dab in the middle of downtown which is both good and bad. Everything, including restaurants, shopping, and the university is well within easy walking distance. On the other hand, the hotel is on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanCully
Duncan S, Guest Service Rep at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very thoughtful and detailed review of the Holiday Inn of Athens! We greatly appreciate it when our guests are committed to giving accurate and precise information and feedback. Your perspective on our location is very interesting, as you pointed out both the negatives and the positives of being right in the middle of downtown,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff here was really friendly. The rooms are nice and the restaurant serves good food. The workout room was in good shape. The layout of the rooms is odd. It seems this place was definitely build in multiple phases. But it's a good location right in the highway through town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamesmedlock
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Jamesmedlock, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Holiday Inn Athens! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our awesome downtown location, friendly team, and delicious food from the Redfearn Grille. We hope to see you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest...

Gastonia, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was in town for a convention and couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Close to food and the convention center. The rooms were clean, comfortable and large! The check-in/check-out staff we super friendly and helpful, since this was our first time in Athens. I found out later that a corporate friend of mine stays here exclusively when he visits....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear David M, Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn during your recent visit to Athens! We appreciate your positive feedback and are happy to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came to visit UGA. When making reservations, Anna was amazing. She was incredibly helpful when I was booking for a busy weekend. She gave me great insight and I took all her good advice. She was there to help me every step of the way. When we checked in John was there ready to help us in any way....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Julie D, Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn during your recent visit to Athens! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our friendly team was there to assist you in every way! We hope you will stay with us again in the future if your travels bring you back...

Phenix City
Reviewed February 14, 2017

In town for a conference. Great location, I never moved my car in the 4 days I was there. I was able to walk to all locations that interested me. Most were within 10 minutes. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The front desk was very helpful and efficient. This will be my first choice when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Billy M, Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Athens during your recent visit to the Classic City! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our awesome downtown location and friendly team members. We hope you see you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager

Ashland, Virginia
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn while attending an educational seminar. Check-in was slow, but the staff was friendly. I wasn't able to get in my room until after 4 PM. The room was clean, but the traffic noise outside was so noisy I couldn't get to sleep until after midnight. I could hear every car passing by. The mattress...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackfred
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Jackfred, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations. This certainly is not the level of service that we aim to provide our guests and appreciate your candid feedback. We will use your feedback to improve the service that we offer to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.5 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $98 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Athens-University Area staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Buford, Georgia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Athens-University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If in the executive tower, park in the overflow parking lot and go in the back door with room key.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanCully, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room in a part of the building directly above the front desk!”
 of 5 bubbles Jamesmedlock, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for the executive tower”
 of 5 bubbles Y5860JHdavidm, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We liked the extra quiet and security in the Executive Tower.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanda71, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“I had a corner king, which may have been a bit more spacious, and overlooked the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles KCTiger, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question